We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackwell Tea Room

Is this your business?
Blackwell Newby Bridge Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JT, England
+44 15394 46139
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good34%
  • Average2%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (23 reviews)
“scones” (10 reviews)
“gravlax” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Blackwell Newby Bridge Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We went in for coffee and cake after visiting the centre. The staff were friendly and helpful and the coffee and cakes were good. What more do you want in the Lakes.

Thank 938fjg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I started my visit with a luxury hot chocolate, viewed the house and grounds and then returned for lunch. The tea room is open to the public so you can just visit the Tea Room without paying to go into the house.More

Thank kas2312
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Our hot chocolate is made from our special home-ground mix of Swiss chocolate, which is what makes is so sumptuous and just the thing for a cool spring day. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Blackwell and hopefully you can pay us...More

Reviewed 2 March 2018

A light and airy, bustling cafe in the house. The service was slow and the staff member had a surly expression, but the portion of soup was delicious and made up for the wait! The scone was lovely, too. The cakes looked yummy, but pricey.More

Thank DizDiz2013
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Oops, sorry you didn't get the cheerful service we are renowned for, however we are really pleased that you did enjoy the food, which is freshly prepared and baked every day by our brilliant chefs. I will pass on your comments to our tea room...More

Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

i felt that there was not much choice of food on the menu and i did not like the soup much but i won't come for lunch again i will just come for coffee and cake.More

1  Thank gromit2108
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit. Our chefs come in bright and early to create and bake all of our delicious food. The menu is constantly changing with the season and we always have a selection of daily specials on offer; stews...More

Reviewed 30 December 2017

A good adjunct to the main attraction, the cafe serves coffees and light lunches. We simply had coffee and would have probably stayed for lunch but the boiler was broken and it was too cold to sit around.More

Thank Ewingston
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your review - we were experiencing some issues with our boiler after Christmas, but we have a nice shiny new one and the house and Tea Room are much more ambient and conducive to lingering a while. Hopefully you will be able to...More

Reviewed 21 December 2017

You have to book and say what you want for Christmas Lunch as it's made to order. As usual the food quality was high in a great setting and the staff very courteous. We visit here quite often and enjoy its peacful air, mainly older...More

Thank PeterQ008
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your lovey review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Blackwell at Christmas. Our chefs work extremely hard to create and bake some seriously delicious food, so it is always good to know it is appreciated. I will pass on your...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017

Three of us had lunch here recently. We all had something different, we all enjoyed our choices, excellent.More

Thank yrbancroft
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Our chefs come in bright and early to create and bake some very delicious food, so it is always good to know it is appreciated. I will pass on your comments...More

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Waitress service serving locally sauced products. The cakes looked fantastic. this is quite a large tearoom which offers indoor and outdoor seating. Reasonably priced/More

Thank David S
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your lovey review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. Our chefs come in bright and early to create and bake some very delicious food, so it is always good to know it is appreciated. I will pass on your comments and...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We visited for coffee and scones before viewing the very pretty house. The house is slightly out of the town centre and has its own free parking, which is a bonus. The tearoom decor is attractive and service was cheerful and efficient. Cakes on display...More

1  Thank Kittie01
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your lovey review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. Our chefs come in bright and early to create and bake some very delicious food, so it is always good to know it is appreciated. I will pass on your comments and...More

Reviewed 13 October 2017

A trip to the tearoom makes a visit to this wonderful house complete. Simple fare, tasty and delicious and served promptly and politely although as everyone points out it can get very busy very quickly. A delicious scone, Teabread and cheese, good coffee and gorgeous...More

Thank Petherbridge19
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your review. You are right, the Tea Room is very popular and can get very busy at lunchtime. It is always worth arriving a bit earlier, or later in the day to enjoy a relaxing meal or snack. We serve hot food between...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
The Ryebeck
1,091 reviews
.45 miles away
Lindeth Howe
1,030 reviews
.50 miles away
Storrs Hall
791 reviews
.56 miles away
Linthwaite House
1,474 reviews
.75 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Linthwaite House
165 reviews
.75 miles away
The Boathouse Bar & Restaurant
293 reviews
.79 miles away
The Dining Room at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
101 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Claife Viewing Station
97 reviews
.94 miles away
Brant Fell Above the Bustle
113 reviews
1.13 miles away
Blackwell, The Arts & Crafts House
640 reviews
.06 miles away
Lake Windermere
3,273 reviews
1.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Blackwell Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$11
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 16:30
Monday
10:30 - 16:30
Tuesday
10:30 - 16:30
Wednesday
10:30 - 16:30
Thursday
10:30 - 16:30
Friday
10:30 - 16:30
Saturday
10:30 - 16:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Blackwell Newby Bridge Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Bowness-on-Windermere
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 46139
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing