We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe on the Green

Is this your business?
Palace Green, Durham DH1 3RL, England
+44 191 334 3688
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good39%
  • Average21%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (19 reviews)
“quinoa” (2 reviews)
“crisps” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Palace Green, Durham DH1 3RL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

Having called there twice in two days it has to have something going for it. The service is good, the food also and the bottled beers make it a full story.

Thank pauln690
DurhamUniCatering, Catering Administrator at Cafe on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your review; we're very pleased that you enjoyed your visits to the café so much, and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Be prepared to make a difficult choice from a comprehensive menu. The staff are superb and the service is efficient. Thank you the Team, we enjoyed our lunch.

Thank Dick G
DurhamUniCatering, Catering Administrator at Cafe on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your review; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and the service that you received and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Having read other reviews, I'm a little surprised at the negativity & it astounds me why people don't deal with issues there & then to get a resolution rather than use sites such as this as a forum. We walked up to the cathedral &...More

Thank SharonJT67
DurhamUniCatering, Catering Administrator at Cafe on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review; we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your coffee, scone and the service that you received and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We popped in for coffee after exploring the Cathedral & first impressions were good. As this facility operate full waitress service we were shown to our seats in the main hall, which was generally a nice room. However, the room seemed to amplify sound, which...More

Thank P3439USandrewr
DurhamUniCatering, Catering Administrator at Cafe on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your review; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and the service that you received and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

This cafe should be so much better. The location is excellent but unfortunately the service is not. The coffee is ok and there is a good cake selection. Unfortunately many of my first choices on the menu were unavailable which is difficult if you are...More

Thank Plawsworth_DH2
DurhamUniCatering, Catering and Events Administrator at Cafe on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the café as much as before. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on and will be addressed.

Reviewed 25 August 2017

Gave £20, got change for ten pounds. No response from management. Coffee is average. Grass outside is fake.More

Thank pomroep
DurhamUniCatering, Catering and Events Administrator at Cafe on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We have no record of your complaint and we have a very clear process with regard to cash control and queries about change. We have checked the data on...More

Reviewed 23 August 2017

Popped in very quiet didn't fancy food offerings so had a coffee, service and surroundings were ok but better places within walking distance in my opinion

1  Thank Keith J
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Visited for a mid afternoon meal on a week day with the family. We were shown to a table by a server who explained there would be a wait. It didn't seem that busy but the wait wasn't too long. We didn't get our first...More

Thank Fiddly
DurhamUniCatering, Catering and Events Administrator at Cafe on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the café and its historic location and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 22 August 2017

After visiting the cathedral, we saw this nice cafe across the square. It was a warm day, so we opted to sit outside and have a nice cold glass of rose wine. It is a clean and well maintained place, but let down by the...More

Thank jillmccarthy2017
DurhamUniCatering, Catering and Events Administrator at Cafe on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the café and its historic location; your comments regarding the toilets have been passed on to the team to ensure the situation is improved. We hope to see you...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Outside and inside seating. Outside you get a view of the Cathedral, inside is rather plain but this is a historic building. Greeting could be better as it is not obvious that this is table service and you go through to the seating area. Well...More

Thank traveller1926
DurhamUniCatering, Catering Administrator at Cafe on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the café, its location and the food and service that you received and we hope to see you back again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafedral Durham
253 reviews
.08 miles away
Lebaneat
812 reviews
.05 miles away
Flat White Durham Cafe
568 reviews
.11 miles away
Vennel's Cafe
598 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Durham Cathedral
5,346 reviews
.05 miles away
Durham Riverside Walk
404 reviews
.28 miles away
Durham Castle
956 reviews
.09 miles away
Gala Theatre Durham
262 reviews
.26 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cafe on the Green staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Palace Green, Durham DH1 3RL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Durham
  • Phone Number: +44 191 334 3688
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing