We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (163)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
109
29
12
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
109
29
12
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 31 August 2023 via mobile

Pub quiz is the highlight of all of our week, the pints are always on point and the atmosphere Is perfect and chill. Love this place for family and friends.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2022 via mobile

This pub is a terrible pub wouldn’t advise anyone to go there. There was a member of the bar staff with blond hair who was swearing at a customer at the top of her voice. She only looked about 16. The manager just stood and...watched it and did nothing about itMore

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2022

The owner of this pub not only intimidated me and my wife but was jumping from man to man making me and my fiancée very uncomfortable. When I found a bug looking substance in my meal she ignored my complaint and moaned at the bar...about me. Wouldn't come here again the owner disgusted me.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2022

Thought I would try it out as I'm local to the area. Not a good idea. I waited for a while for drinks to ordered despite seeing a worker of higher authority (a manager) outside smoking. When the food eventually arrived was getting late and...had to watch this manager get tossed between a few gentlemen in front of my son. Food wasn't as awful but have never experience such behavior from a manager.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2020

From start to finish a very friendly professional service. Drinks and food served by Amy and Dan was delicious,not been for a long time but will definitely be back.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulhobson117, Franchisor at The Robin Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Hi, Thanks for your review, we’re glad you enjoyed your food and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thanks Dan

Reviewed 26 February 2020

I have made frequent visits to the Robin Hood over a few years and I can only describe as getting better and better. The service is second to none with a vast selection at the bar and food menu, with a good range of chef...specials available too. I had myself a Sunday Roast but my partner ordered off the full menu 'cock and Bull'. I would agree with previous reviews that the food is freshly prepared and plentiful and my partner is constantly mithering for a return visit. The pub itself has a Country feel but stylish and has a separate restaurant area for diners as well as a cosy bar are for drinks afterwards. I would overall say that a visit to this Hidden Gem is definitely worth it and I would expect you not to be disappointed. Venue 4/5 Service 4/5 Car parking 5/5 Toilets 5/5 Food 5/5 Drinks 5/5 Other facilities 4/5 Overall I rate the Robin Hood a 5/5! I will definitely be visiting again ☺More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulhobson117, Franchisor at The Robin Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Thanks for your review. We are so glad you’ve had a positive experience and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon! Thanks, Dan

Reviewed 20 February 2020

The food offer is typical pub fare but it is well cooked, nicely presented and served with a smile. There is a decent choice and also a special lunch offer. The restaurant area is quite small and engenders a cosy, quite intimate, atmosphere. This was...not a first visit and I can certainly foresee returning in the near future.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulhobson117, Franchisor at The Robin Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Hi, thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and can’t wait to welcome you back soon! Thanks, Dan (Restaurant Supervisor)

Reviewed 13 February 2020

Good atmosphere, gets a little cramped during the evenings. Food smells superb, must try it soon being a local !

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulhobson117, Franchisor at The Robin Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Thanks for your review! You should definitely come and dine with us some time, we look forward to welcoming you to the restaurant.

Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

We went here yesterday for dinner the food was delicious and the waitress that served us was really nice and accommodating. But then it all went down hill..... the manageress decided to hold a staff meeting on the next table whilst we were still eating..., to say it was uncomfortable was an understatement. Not only due to the nature of the conversation and how it was relayed to the young staff members but also really should there be a staff meeting in a room were paying customs are coming out to have a dining experience and to relax? We couldn't wait to get out of there which was such a shame. The meal cost £50 which is absolutely fine as no complaints about the food but felt a bit robbed of a nice relaxed dinner. I really feel that this meeting or more of a "do as I say or you know were the door is meeting " should not of been held in the main restaurant. Really unprofessional. Such a shame as lovely foodMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulhobson117, Franchisor at The Robin Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Hi Lyndsey, Thanks for your review, I have privately messaged you as I was awaiting to get logged into the business account, I don’t think you’ve picked up the message yet. I apologise for your concerns, unfortunately this meeting was necessary as we are going...More

Reviewed 10 January 2020 via mobile

It's over 2 years since we had an issue here. We reported on this site and the reply was that the chef no longer worked at the establishment. Fair enough but out friends would not return so we went alone. Busy time just before Christmas...but there was an empty table (we hadn't booked - naughty) so all good. No issues at all as service, quality of food and pricing was excellent. We were approached before ordering to say the food would be served in 30 mins due to the large numbers of people, but food turned up after 20 mins so Well Done..!! Lots of locals come here as it is a bit harder to find for the casual diner (down a side road with no signposts). That's a good sign that the beer is good because they still have an old fashioned bar side where drinking, chatting and stroking your neighbours dog is the norm. Would advise booking as space is limited - yes it's back on our visit list.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulhobson117, Franchisor at The Robin Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Thanks for your review, we are glad that your experience was positive and we can’t wait to welcome you back to The Robin Hood.

Reviewed 30 November 2019 via mobile

We ate here last night for a change and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by a young gentleman called Andrew, he showed us to our table and took our drinks order. After some deliberation over what to eat, and after saying I wasn’t...going to have a starter I soon changed my mind. I had the prawns to start and my husband had the bruschetta, for my main I had the gammon and my other half had the rump steak. The food was amazing it tasted lovely and was very well presented. Can’t wait to go back for my birthday meal 😊More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulhobson117, Franchisor at The Robin Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Reviewed 10 November 2019

This pub has really started to go downhill fast. Last few times we have been chips just frozen but accepted this as most places gone same way. Today had garlic bread with cheese which used to be delicious, we were presented with a piece of...baguette with a melted tasteless cheese slice on, not a trace of garlic. The wraps we ordered were all wrap and the salad bag on the side had been in the fridge a few days too long. the prices remain the same if not higher though. Disappointed.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulhobson117, Franchisor at The Robin Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Thanks for your review and I’m sorry for the delay in response. We are currently going through some changes now to get the restaurant back up to a high standard. I apologise that you didn’t have the best experience on your last visit and I...More

Reviewed 16 July 2019

We were visiting my sister in law in Orrell. I have been here quite often in the past and the food was always good. This time it was amazing so we returned for a second night. Besides the bog standard pub food there was a...good choice a la carts menu. The food was delicious, the service friendly and mostly efficient.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulhobson117, Franchisor at The Robin Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Thanks for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon! Thanks, Dan (Restaurant Supervisor)

Reviewed 6 July 2019

Came here recently for an event. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Food was ok to good. A nice place overall with a good atmosphere. Would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulhobson117, Franchisor at The Robin Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Thanks for your review! Thanks, Dan (Restaurant Supervisor)

Reviewed 28 June 2019 via mobile

We ate here on Friday evening. The weather was brilliant. We sat outside. It was really busy but we managed to get a table. The food wasn’t too long in coming. Excellent value for money. We ordered the chicken curry and the southern fried chicken...burger. Both really good sized portions. Can’t wait for our next visit.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mount Hotel
499 reviews
.96 miles away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
728 reviews
1.33 miles away
Holland Hall
74 reviews
1.37 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Wigan, an IHG Hotel
196 reviews
2.54 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Raj Gate
253 reviews
.93 miles away
St James Social Club
6 reviews
.26 miles away
The Mount
1,770 reviews
.92 miles away
Babar Elephant
405 reviews
.43 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Orrell Water Park
9 reviews
.13 miles away
Greenslate Community Farm
41 reviews
.38 miles away
The White Lion
19 reviews
1.05 miles away
Upholland Labour Club
8 reviews
1.97 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Caseyja
31 May 2015|
Answer
Response from emarnold |
In the bar yes, but not I the restaurant
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE ROBIN HOOD, Wigan - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Robin Hood

The Robin Hood is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5