We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mount

££ - £££, British,
160 Orrell Road, Wigan WN5 8HQ, England
+44 1942 219740
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good29%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“rump steak” (9 reviews)
“pudding” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
160 Orrell Road, Wigan WN5 8HQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything was Ok. No bad negatives but nothing to shout out about either. Barman was quite funny but everybody else was just doing their job.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank tonydorigo
TheMountOrrell, General Manager at The Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for taking the time to review and for mentioning the bar team member. Please feel free to email or FB pm to let us know how we can improve on your experience. thanks 4891@greeneking.co.uk

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I hosted a coffee morning here recently for my host community. Very friendly, very accommodating. Will be planning for future events here, looking forward to coming back soon.

Thank MsMollieMoo
TheMountOrrell, General Manager at The Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thanks so much for the great review, very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. thanks David

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We visited and had the Burger combo the service was very good and the Staff friendly and the food was excellentMore

Thank Kieran D
TheMountOrrell, General Manager at The Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for taking the time to review, I am so pleased you had a great experience and even more so that you have shared. I do hope you pop in again soon and if there is anything we can do to enhance your visit...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Quite Possibly the worst place I have ever eaten ... Food was cold , I ordered a chicken dish , which came with Chip shop curry you could paper a wall with and it was cold , Corn on the cob was possibly 1.5 inches...More

Thank pat m
TheMountOrrell, General Manager at The Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for taking the time to review, I am terribly sorry that you had such a poor experience. I would be happy to speak further with you regarding this and in fact would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience....More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Not the place for a relaxing time. The food was very edible and cheap, and we left satisfied. It is what it is.More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank T6158WGjohnw
TheMountOrrell, General Manager at The Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for taking the time to review, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your meals and that we offer good value. I do hope you visit us again soon, please feel free to speak to us about anything that would enhance your experience...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017

Sometimes really good,but not consistantly,used to have specials on and not enough staff,,wish they would cook there onion rings a bit more instead of sending them out soggy instead of crispyMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank louise w
TheMountOrrell, General Manager at The Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for taking the time to review it is much appreciated. We do still occasionally have specials, sometimes seasonal and sometimes linked to events. We do have an extensive menu but do still add specials when we can. I am sorry about your onion...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Bloooming lovely food. Enjoyed by the whole family... 7 year 10 year and the parents...yum. steal for my partner and 10 year old was spot on, my halloumi was lip smacking delicious and highly unexpected... 7 year old loved the juicy chicken bites and the...More

Thank mariemarie8686
TheMountOrrell, General Manager at The Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Wow! Just made my day! Thank you thank you thank you. I am so happy you had such a great experience and even happier that you shared it! Hope to see you again soon and if there is anything further we can do please let...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Visited for a meal on Sunday was generally very good. We was shown to a table immediately. No booking or waiting was required. The car park was full so we parked behind on the Premier Inn section. Food choice was good with every thing we...More

Thank mysterydiner17
TheMountOrrell, General Manager at The Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Thank you so much for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your experience. If there is anything we can do for you please do not hesitate to ask as we will try our best. I hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Everyone was satisfied with the surroundings and the meal. Only downside is when there is a function upstairs, the bar area tends to get crowded when trying to order food.More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank H461TXjefft
TheMountOrrell, General Manager at The Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Thanks for your review I am very happy that you had such a positive experience with us. It is very much appreciated, I would like you to know that we are putting in place new measures to try alleviate the crowds. We do have...More

Reviewed 25 October 2017

This is a great place for all the family to eat, great food and fast service . Nothing is a problem for the staffMore

Thank Karl G
TheMountOrrell, General Manager at The Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi That is fantastic to hear! It is why we are here, to deliver a great experience, I am so happy you have shared your experience and cannot thank you enough. Your feedback is very much appreciated and as you have stated, 'nothing is a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Divino Italian Restaurant
111 reviews
.54 miles away
Sorrento Orrell
192 reviews
.24 miles away
The Delph Tavern
136 reviews
.90 miles away
The Robin Hood
124 reviews
.92 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The White Lion
15 reviews
.98 miles away
Pemberton wigan
8 reviews
.72 miles away
Robin Hood Inn
21 reviews
.92 miles away
Bizee Kidz
10 reviews
.80 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sgreen19
31 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AndrewSimpson62 | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Sorry i am unable to answer your question. You would be better contacting The Mount directly. Kind regards Andrew
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 160 Orrell Road, Wigan WN5 8HQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Wigan
  • Phone Number: +44 1942 219740
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing