We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Situated right on Shanklin Esplanade, the Steamer Inn overlooks the beach and is the perfect spot to enjoy some fresh pub classics and some of the Isle of Wight’s best, fresh seafood. With five en-suite rooms, four of which have balconies, and a small self contained flat, it is also the perfect place to stay for a holiday or business trip on the beautiful Isle of Wight. Enjoy a drink from our hand-picked wine list or sample a pint from our fine selection of real ales and beers, including some local brews, or our extensive collection of spirits and soft drinks. The Steamer is extremely family friendly and also has a dedicated kids menu. Nautical memorabilia adorns the walls of the entire pub,
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
British
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Live Music, Waterfront, Dog Friendly, Family style, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (2,450)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
2,440 results
Traveller rating
1,226
737
260
106
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,226
737
260
106
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steamers seafood chowder burger chilli salad bread prawns pudding sea front huge portions specials board lovely view overlooking the sea lovely food isle of wight extensive menu pub grub
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Friendly staff , great atmosphere & outdoor seating opposite the beach , great food and reasonable prices . I’m sure we will be back !

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Good value for money. Visited twice. Advise to book a table as very busy and the second evening we visited we had to sit outside on the terrace. It was a cool evening and even sitting underneath an electric heater were still closed.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visits!

Reviewed 6 days ago

Great location and great food and service. Had veg lasagna was tasty hot and the right price . Two of our party had fish really good size . Busy bustling pub with great location. We will be back

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you will be back soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Steamer Inn promote locally sourced and fresh food- the meal I had was inedible and tasteless. Sourced from a large local freezer I have never known cauliflower bites to have had all flavour extracted from them so successfully. There was simply no welcome, no...eye contact or human contact from the staff. I will not return. What a disappointing experience for such a lovely setting.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I am surprised and dismayed to read your review. We refunded your meal despite the fact there was nothing wrong with it, your complaint was just that you did not like it. This is not something we would usually do, however on this occasion a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely position overlooking the sea. Nice obliging staff. The food was good, mussels in white wine and meatballs. Reasonable prices and no rip-off service charges.I'm looking forward to returning and trying the fish chowder. Well done Steamer Inn! An all round pleasurable experience.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, it is great to hear you enjoyed our chef's specials!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely place, fantastic Staff and gorgeous food. I had scampi and it was superb. Wife had mussels and really enjoyed them. We sat outside on the terrace. Beautiful views. Staff very attentive. Very enjoyable.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your very generous review which we have all been delighted to read!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spotted this place as we were walking along the beach on a rainy Sunday. It was busy but they were able to give us a table for 5 and the dog inside. Staff were friendly and food was great. Lots of people were eating...the Sunday roasts, which looked delicious but we couldn’t resist some of the specials like mussels and frites. The seafood chowder was also delicious and such a generous portion. Would visit again if in the area. Lots of veggie options and had gluten free available too.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for you great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you can visit again soon, and when the sun is shining!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bland and disappointing. Fish had no flavour. Staff looked bored to tears. Ambience was poor. Very overpriced. Prices clearly based on the seaview rather than the food itself.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Sorry that you did not enjoy any aspects of your visit. We are very proud to serve a board menu of home cooked dishes along with our chef's specials, and our team are usually very welcoming, polite and helpful so it is hard to understand...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clearly the smartest restaurant in this area, very good food, friendly and welcoming service. I'd definitely come back.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your very kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I first visited this restaurant in 2004 with friends, took my husband back two years later & have been back many times since. This time though, it was disappointing. My meal (curry) was average & the staff were very unfriendly.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your feedback and sorry to hear you did not enjoy your curry, and found the staff to be unfriendly. Our homemade curry is one of our really popular dishes so it is concerning to read there was a problem with the one...More

Reviewed 15 April 2024

Great atmosphere. Had a roast veg lasagne and it was amazing. Really good menu. Great service. Sat outside and watched the world go by. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for you lovely review, we hope you can visit the Steamer Inn again soon!

Reviewed 13 April 2024 via mobile

I went for a birthday meal and drink with friends. Poor selection of real ales and only one option for non alcoholic drinks. The bar staff that took our beverage and food order clearly didn’t want to be there and offered us nothing but sarcastic...comments with added attitude. The food however, was of a very high standard, and arrived promptly. The waitress serving the food to us was very pleasant and attentive. Overall what would have been a pleasant visit was ruined by the male member of staff taking the food and beverage orders. I wouldn’t recommend The Steamer for that reason, but will try the bar next door next time I visit in July.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, and found the waitress who served you to be pleasant and helpful. However, sorry to hear you found the attitude of the member of staff who served you at the bar to be unhelpful and sarcastic....More

Reviewed 8 April 2024

Just popped in at 19 50 tonight for food and drinks..website says kitchen open till 9 bar till 10 ..was told kitchen closing at 8 ..bar whenever!!..quickly ordered food.and was just about finished food. And was on second drink when asked if we wanted any...other drinks as closing soon it was 850!!!felt rushed out as we were holding up the staff 🙃. Needless to say you've lost our custom and a few others also.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Sorry to hear you felt rushed to finish your drinks. In the quietest months, occasionally if it is very quiet we close a little earlier. On this particular occasion the managers on duty thought you were just finishing your drinks and would be leaving soon...More

Reviewed 29 March 2024 via mobile

Are out here on evening, good food and friendly atmosphere. Lovely outdoor seating area for when the nice weather arrives. Would return here in the future.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal and the jolly atmosphere!

Reviewed 28 March 2024 via mobile

Fabulous venue for drinks or food, really lovely location and great atmosphere. We visit most times we are on the Island and visited twice for meals this time. The food is always delicious and good value. The ambiance is lovely inside and if you are...lucky enough to get the weather, there is ample outside seating. It’s definitely worth a visit.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
georgina gibbs, General Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. We hope to see you again when you are next on the Island!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Steamer Inn B&B
286 reviews
.00 miles away
The Brunswick
430 reviews
.07 miles away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
358 reviews
.08 miles away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
224 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cinders
135 reviews
.27 miles away
Cinnamon
98 reviews
.25 miles away
Waterfront Inn
1,964 reviews
.01 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Shanklin Theatre
731 reviews
.28 miles away
Shanklin Beach
447 reviews
.01 miles away
Rylstone Gardens
355 reviews
.35 miles away
Shanklin Chine
3,080 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
673lissah
8 August 2021|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Georgia C | Reviewed this property |
I don’t know if we’ve just been lucky but we were seated immediately on our first visit and only had a couple of minutes wait on our second visit.
0
Votes
helene270763
10 September 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from TheSteamerInn | Property representative |
Yes dogs are welcome as long as they are well behaved and on a lead!
1
Vote
susanbU2423JP
24 June 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BigSteve85 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry to hear about your most recent experience but not sure why "the system" has directed your question to me as a reviewer - presume needs to be answered by tripadvisor.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE STEAMER INN RESTAURANT, Shanklin - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Steamer Inn Restaurant

Yes, The Steamer Inn Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Steamer Inn Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4