We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£5 - £15
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (492)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
367
90
16
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
367
90
16
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones cake crab sandwiches baguette salad ice cream pizza knickerbocker glory isle of wight afternoon tea old village tea room nice garden lovely lunch bite to eat shanklin chine lovely food
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

They have table and chairs inside and outside , staff are nice and friendly and their service was good , recommend the crab sandwich their latte’s are good too

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always great to hear that we have another happy customer and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely little tea room in the pretty village of Shanklin. We decided to treat ourselves to the high tea, it was absolutely delicious! Great choice of sandwiches and cakes to choose from. The scones were warm and huge, with plenty of clotted cream and...jam. We were lucky with the weather so could sit outside in the quaint tea garden to enjoy. We would definitely come back should we visit IOW again.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our high tea and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Such kind service and delicious food. We had knickerbocker glories and cream teas. One of the kids is dairy free, and was made a special knickerbocker glory just for him. I had a gluten free cream tea, and the warm scones were to die for....Please come and support this lovely little place!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 20 October 2023

Had a lovely afternoon tea at Pencil cottage the scones were cooked to perfection with loads of clotted cream and pots of jam to accompany them. it was fairly crowded as the weather was not too good but we managed to get a table.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the scones and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 14 October 2023 via mobile

Visited Pencil cottage recently for a quick coffee. Sat outside in the lovely garden in the sun which was just beautiful. Was so relaxing sat in the garden listening to birds while enjoying our coffee. Did not eat on this visit but the menu had...a lot of choice on it and whatever was being cooked at the time smelt lovely. Toilets were spotless. Will definitely be visiting again when back on the Island. A lovely place to just sit back and relax.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you had a relaxing and enjoyable visit and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 1 October 2023 via mobile

I am so pleased that I took my friends who were visiting the island here. We had delicious scones and cream with a wide choice of jams. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed the scones and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 21 September 2023 via mobile

Wonderful sunny garden spot for a break. Started with delicious ice cream cornets, followed by excellent cups of tea. Very welcoming couple run the tearoom. Sandwiches on the menu included crab.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 18 September 2023

Had a nice cream tea at the Pencil Cafe in Shanklin. Quick and friendly service. Could have been more jam and cream but otherwise very good.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 31 August 2023 via mobile

Pencil Cottage is usually one of our favourite lunches on our holiday however this year it was a bit disappointing. There was a 45 minute wait for our food and when it did arrive one of the orders was wrong. Cheese Jacket Potato instead of...Beans. As it took so long we didn’t say anything as we were too hungry by this time. We sat indoors as we could see there were lots of wasps around we ended up having to remove numerous wasps and shut the door to avoid being plagued by them. The food was ok but nothing special this year unfortunately. The cheese used in the dinosaur children’s sandwich is also mature cheddar which most children find too strong. It may be better to change this to mild cheddar or state tat it is mature cheddar. We will come back as it is one of the better places to eat on the island, but maybe for cake next time.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2023

I am sorry that we did not live up to the level of your previous experiences. If your visit was over the Bank Holiday weekend, we are always extremely busy as all of the orders are freshly prepared ….so we do make everyone aware of...More

Reviewed 19 August 2023 via mobile

Sadly, not a good experience. It took ages for our order to be taken and a further long wait for the scones to arrive for the tea we had long since drank. Food, when it eventually arrived, was ok but nothing to write home about....We won’t be making a return visit.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Sorry to hear that your experience was not excellent. A delay between the arrival of your scones and the tea when ordering a cream tea is very unusual and we would, of course, have replaced the tea if you had brought it to our attention.

Reviewed 8 August 2023

Cafe of the year 2021 & 2022. I can see why they got this accolade, lovely place. Visited twice while on holiday. Great food and drinks, delicious Ice cream & friendly staff.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you visited us during the week and we are also hoping to make the hat-trick of awards as we have been shortlisted again.

Reviewed 17 July 2023

My Mum and I ate at Pencil Cottage several times whilst we were on holiday in Shanklin and had some lovely meals from sandwiches to burgers with onions and jacket potatoes. The jacket potato was a bit disappointing but the rest of the food was...lovely. The staff were very friendly and polite all except one who wasn't in uniform and was snappy on one occassion which was uncalled for. It was a shame she wasn't as polite as the rest of the staff who couldn't have been nicer. The food is of a high standard at Pencil Cottage and the salted caramel ice cream was delicious. We went into the Pencil Cottage shop and the shop assistant was lovely and a real asset to the business, a real people person.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visits. A snappy response from any of our team is uncharacteristic and I apologise for any misunderstanding.

Reviewed 6 July 2023

Pencil cottage is always a must when we visit the island. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the place is clean and welcoming. We like to sit in the garden and enjoy the peace while we eat. We had the ploughman's lunch....very generous...portion and excellent value for money. We have also had cream teas previously and can recommend them too. A definite visit to all our family and friends we have recommend to. Thank you and see you next year!!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2023

Thank for taking the time to write a review. We love welcoming back ‘old friends’ and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 28 June 2023

Would recommend this place. Great value, simple food in good quantity. Scrambled egg on toast and sausage roll great value.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 28 June 2023

On a hot day this is a lovely spot to stop for a cold drink or cup of tea. Light meals are available as are cakes. Cream tea was very tasty. Staff are friendly. The chairs outside are not that comfortable for those of us...with amble rear ends, but inside the furniture is ideal. Ideal location if you have just climbed out of the Chime. There is a gift shop attached and a charity section [have to admit did spent on the CDs but the owner was exceedingly grateful, apparently I paid for a teacher for a week in Gambia]More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
derick hill, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and thank you once again for your support of our school in The Gambia.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holliers Hotel
628 reviews
.03 miles away
Rylstone Manor
225 reviews
.11 miles away
Daish's Hotel
1,715 reviews
.11 miles away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1,374 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pendletons
1,165 reviews
.07 miles away
Thai Mukda
310 reviews
.18 miles away
Pavarotti's
764 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Shanklin Theatre
729 reviews
.16 miles away
Shanklin Beach
446 reviews
.33 miles away
Rylstone Gardens
355 reviews
.08 miles away
Shanklin Chine
3,072 reviews
.20 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pencil Cottage staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PENCIL COTTAGE, Shanklin - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pencil Cottage

Yes, Pencil Cottage offers takeaway services.

Yes, Pencil Cottage is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Pencil Cottage is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5