We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Bar/Restaurant with amazing sea views above Shanklin Beach and over to Culver Down. Great food, lovely garden and friendly staff.
PRICE RANGE
£4 - £15
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British
FEATURES
Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (763)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveller rating
542
122
44
27
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
542
122
44
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork belly pie sunday roast salmon pudding steak fish and chips salad the cliff coastal path quirky place stunning views overlooking the sea isle of wight sunny day fabulous food an evening meal
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cute , out of the way cafe,restaurant, bar. Great views of the coast line. Very windy and wet on our visit but still enjoyed it. The 2 waitresses were very pleasant, one of the ladies is doing a sponsored wing walk which I sponsored her...for, ( good luck in April for that) The food was homemade, ( beef chilli) and homemade cake and custard ( apple and apricot) Very much 100% appreciated. Will try and come back in April to see sponsored wing walk, if we can't make it we will definitely be back in the future xxxMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We hope to see you both again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located on a Coastal Path accessible on foot, this is truly a hideaway and a local gem. Quaint decor, comfortable seating, delightful service and out of this world delicious food. There is seating outside as well, on the February night we visited, it was too...cold, but it must be lovely on a warm evening. Reservations are definitely recommended and we can not wait to be back again.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your super review! See you again soon!

Reviewed 5 November 2023 via mobile

Very cute and cosy cafe/ restaurant with amazing views of the sea. Simple lunchtime menu. Lovely welcoming staff. Would love to visit in the evening as the sun sets. Will be back the next time we’re on the island.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Thank you so much! See you again when next on the Island!

Reviewed 29 October 2023

It’s a lovely place to visit ,the food is amazing service brilliant, I would recommend anyone visiting the island to eat here.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Thank you for your lovely review!

Reviewed 26 October 2023 via mobile

Lovely place tucked away above the coast. Cosy interior and probably lovely outside in the summer but too cold for us. Very welcoming staff and even has a special menu for dogs! Would definitely go back.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Thank you so much for your super review!! See you again soon!

Reviewed 13 October 2023

We saw the sign and thought that this would be a great spot to watch the water and headland, while drinking a drink - it was certainly that, but also so much more! A fabulous place, the smells from the food being served were wonderful...plus everyone (staff and guests) was relaxed and friendly, service exemplary. Blankets are provided to enable guests to sit outside even as the chilly evenings start. We are already planning a return visit to the Isle of Wight, just so that we can visit The Hideaway for longer and enjoy their food. Dodie was so helpful with absolutely everything. It's a very short walk along the (very safe!) cliff path, from roadside parking. Cheers Dodie and the rest of the team... Annie and Michael, GosportMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2023

Thank you for your lovely review Annie and Michael! We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Reviewed 6 October 2023

Excellent food great service as always great location really enjoyed the evening and the view cannot be rivalled

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Thank you! What a super review!

Reviewed 5 October 2023

We were a large group of adults and dogs. The location is fabulous, the views beautiful, the setting quirky, the service is great and with a friendly smile. Food and drinks excellent. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Thank you for your lovely review! We all hope to see you and the doggies again soon!

Reviewed 1 October 2023

Superb food and atmosphere. The owner Sharon makes you so welcome and you feel like you are old friends. You can tell there are regulars eating there. Food is tasty and fresh. Lovely place with superb views. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 18 September 2023

Fantastic location, great service, amazing food. It wasn't our first visit and certainly won't be our last!

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Thank you so much for your lovely review! See you again soon!

Reviewed 15 September 2023

Fabulous down home food (I had a very tasty minted lamb pie with asparagus, and chips, then a light lemon roulade) plus views across the sea and friendly service. Quirky décor. What's not to like?

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2023

Thank you for your lovely review! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 15 September 2023

Once you have found this place you are set up for a great time. (Park in St Boniface Cliff Rd and walk - it's the only way!) Don't be fooled by the menu on line - the food here is unusual and absolutely great. Try...the garlic mushrooms. The staff are lovely and service is great. I highly recommend this place but you really do need to book.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2023

Thank you! Lovely review! See you again soon we hope!

Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

Beautiful setting overlooking the bay with a lovely rustic setting. Food is home cooked, fresh, hot and the cod delicious. Good children’s menu too. Staff are friendly and welcoming and so Im struggling with reading 1/2 star reviews!! Thank you for a lovely lunch just...before you had a wedding reception..More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2023

Thank you so much for your super review! It means a lot to us! See you again soon!

Reviewed 7 September 2023 via mobile

The location and views are superb, perched on the cliff top, access by walking along cliff top path or park just behind. Rustic and family run, inside and outside seating. Varied menu, fresh home cooked food , served by friendly attentive staff. The best place...we found during our week on the Island , started and ended with a family meal. Just perfect.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2023

Thank you so much! Our morale now improved after the last one star!!!! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 7 September 2023

Considering there are signposts directing you to this place on the coastal path & it is recommended in the welcome booklet of local accommodation, they don’t seem to like customers very much! We walked in and were ignored so found a table of our own,...waited a few minutes before a server came & just asked “what can I get you?” no hello, welcome nothing. I ordered a pimms which was disgusting- no fruit in it at all, how they can charge £7.50 is beyond me. My sandwich was horrible, made on the cheapest white bread & the cucumber was a strange colour, the coleslaw it came with was warm- not just not cold but like it had been in the mircowave and the salad was limp & slimy. The absolute worst bit about it all is that they charged £9.50 for a cheese & ham panini!! Total rip off and could have made better myself at home.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Villiers, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2023

What a charming review Maurice, thank you so much. Pimms is served, always with fruit, in a huge glass. Salad, bread etc delivered from our local suppliers every day. £9.50 includes salad, slaw and crisps with the sandwich. If you had mentioned your issues at...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Channel View Hotel
665 reviews
.11 miles away
Curraghmore Hotel
79 reviews
.13 miles away
Haven Hall Hotel
513 reviews
.15 miles away
Mayfair Hotel
266 reviews
.16 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Blueberrys Cafe
417 reviews
.34 miles away
The Salix Beach Cafe
214 reviews
.10 miles away
The Steamer Inn Restaurant
2,434 reviews
.42 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Shanklin Theatre
727 reviews
.61 miles away
Shanklin Beach
445 reviews
.43 miles away
Shanklin Chine
3,064 reviews
.58 miles away
Pirates Cove - Shanklin
329 reviews
.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
GenenneT
8 September 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sharon V | Property representative |
Parking is available on St Boniface Cliff Road - we are a short walk from there.
0
Votes
louisegC797JT
24 February 2022|
Answer
Response from Lisa R |
We take our dog there all the time. It’s the most dog friendly place on the island! They even take photos of new dogs and put them up. My Jasper adores everyone there (as do we), everyone spoils him with attention and... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE HIDEAWAY, Shanklin - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hideaway

Yes, The Hideaway is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Hideaway is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5