We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Aqua

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
233
113
29
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
233
113
29
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish pie creme brulee prawns mash pork potatoes salad crab steamers sea view evening meal isle of wight next year shanklin beach lovely evening excellent food and service sunday lunch
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

I’m glad we booked dinner at The Aqua for one of our nights in Shanklin, it was a faultless evening, we started with a drink on the terrace and then went inside for dinner, both our starters and main courses were lovely, I had the...More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago

This was definitely the best curry I've ever eaten outside of an Indian restaurant. My partner said his fish & chips were excellent too. Friendly service, tables well spaced out, reasonable prices. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you Great review... our Chef will be extremely happy about his curry !

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We knew that the food would be good as we were only able to book once in 5 days of staying on the island. So it didn't disappoint, food was fresh and served by very helpful and pleasant staff.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank You .We are so pleased you were able to dine with us and we didn't disappoint

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the Goan cod curry. Cod was very tasty as was the rice and chutney. All complimented each other. Banofee pie was a huge slice, glad we shared. It was one of the best I've tasted. Staff were lovely. Very welcoming. All masked. Such...More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank You for your review. Hopefully you are able to visit us again

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First of all.. the staff were amazing. So friendly and attentive and they made us feel welcome. Why the lower score, simply the food was ok rather than great or outstanding. This may be our fault for ordering the wrong meal for us that night....More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the feedback and lovely to hear you had great customer service. We are sorry you were disappointed with your meal choice .

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have visited a couple of times during our holiday, The staff were friendly and professional, Pimms was so refreshing and the food was well worth the price! Freshly cooked. Lots of shade under a parasol and sun if needed. I highly recommend. May need...More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, unfortunately along with most of the Island we are short staffed so waiting maybe an issue at times, hopefully the service made up for it.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have been to Aqua many many times and always received good service! We dropped in this morning for coffee’s on the patio; it was absolutely lovely sitting in the sun looking out across the sea. The service was friendly as always and the prices are...More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were very grateful to the wonderful staff of this amazing restaurant for fitting us in when we were having problems finding somewhere to eat during our recent stay in Shanklin. The food was amazing and made using fresh produce. The staff are very professional...More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your super review and are really pleased we were able to find a table for you at short notice.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife phoned the Aqua 2 weeks ago.to book a table for the 5th Sept and was told she could only book one week in advance. Phoned again yesterday (31/8) to be told to phone on the 1st Sept which she duly did. The call...More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry to receive your poor review . We take our bookings very seriously and are not shambolic as you suggest. You may not realize that the Aqua has upwards of 30 guests staying in our Hotel, especially at this time of the year...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited on 21 August. Turned up without a booking but they managed to fit us in despite clearly having fairly full reservation book. The staff who served us were genuinely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our food which was excellent. We also noticed excellent service...More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you we really appreciate the feedback.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Steamer Inn B&B
279 reviews
.01 miles away
Aqua Hotel
266 reviews
.04 miles away
Brunswick Hotel
297 reviews
.06 miles away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
225 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Vernon Cottage
1,001 reviews
.28 miles away
Cinders
117 reviews
.27 miles away
The Steamer Inn Restaurant
2,201 reviews
.01 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Shanklin Theatre
679 reviews
.28 miles away
Shanklin Beach
375 reviews
.02 miles away
Rylstone Gardens
331 reviews
.33 miles away
Shanklin Chine
2,869 reviews
.15 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Theresa T
29 July 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from James B | Property representative |
Yes an Iron and small ironing board will be available from reception.
0
Votes
Maria P
16 June 2021|
Answer
Response from SandyMNE | Reviewed this property |
The Aqua is located in the town of Shanklin. If you wish to stay or eat at The Aqua then yes, book as it is very popular.
0
Votes
Martin and Jose... W
23 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from James B | Property representative |
Parking on the seafront is not chargeable from 6.00 pm through to 10.00 am the next morning every day, and therefore should not affect diners at The Brasserie at The Aqua where you dined. Visitors staying at The Aqua do not... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Aqua

Yes, The Aqua is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Aqua is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5