We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Aqua

17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
+44 1983 863024
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good33%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
British, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

31 - 40 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2018

We were down for the glorious We were down for the bank holiday and everywhere was so busy because of glorious weather.. so was lucky to get a seat in here, it’s a lovely place, really friendly staff and good food, but I don’t think...More

Thank Elaine E
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Correct, it was a very busy weekend but the rest of your review is quite incorrect.The fact is the printer in the kitchen malfunctioned so several orders had not gone through. We then stopped taking further food orders until we could fulfill the orders already...More

Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

The Aqua is in a stunning location right opposite Shanklin beach and as we had a sea view room, to wake up to this each morning was fantastic. Rooms are clean, not overly big and have TV, WiFi and tea and coffee. Breakfasts are a...More

1  Thank AnnieM452
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and it was a lovely place to be. The staff are so friendly and the rooms are beautiful, clean and modern. There isn’t any parking for the hotel that you don’t have to pay for, which we weren’t unaware...More

Thank Jo R
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Friendly staff and clean restaurant but disappointing meal..raw jacket potato! They also allow dogs into the restaurant.More

1  Thank Maureen O
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. It is always a good idea to mention your disappointment to our staff who will readily endeavor to make amends. However if we don't know we cant help you to overcome any problem. Incidentally we...More

Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

What a change to be served food on hot plates! So many places let themselves down. Staff are friendly and welcoming.

Thank Lynne C
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

I have just eaten the best fish in YEARS! Beautifully cooked ‘Roasted Sea Bass’ - it was mouth-wateringly good. The vegetables accompanying the fish were just right. So impressed - the chef is a star!

Thank SueTeacher
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Though we live in UK since few years we are not still used to the early dinners and the fact that kitchens here close very early 8:45pm for example. They accepted us nonetheless and we appreciated it, just as much we appreciated the food and...More

Thank OrsoBubu77
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Duvets suit hotels very well as they are easy to launder and easy for staff to make up, however, some of us don't like them. Sheets and blankets are much easier to use in changeable weather. Regretfully, the Aqua said that regretfully, they only used...More

Thank lindypindydbwoods
Reviewed 11 October 2017

A great hotel, great food, wonderful staff, super location right on the sea front. Highly recommended

Thank Jocosity
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Popped in for some lunch as it was a nice day and we had our dog with us. Thee are three places all together there, this had a table free. Lunch was very tasty and quick, service very polite and it was lovely sitting here...More

2  Thank Doug T
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Isle of Wight
The Steamer Inn
259 reviews
.01 miles away
Aqua Hotel
226 reviews
.04 miles away
Brunswick Hotel
216 reviews
.07 miles away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
171 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Vernon Cottage
721 reviews
.28 miles away
Cinderellas Tea Room and Dress Shop
83 reviews
.27 miles away
The Steamer Inn Restaurant
1,601 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Shanklin Theatre
607 reviews
.28 miles away
Shanklin Beach
183 reviews
.02 miles away
Rylstone Gardens
273 reviews
.33 miles away
Shanklin Chine
2,333 reviews
.15 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Margaret W
14 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from James B | Property representative |
No sorry we can't take a table of 23.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shanklin
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 863024
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing