We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Aqua

17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
+44 1983 863024
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good33%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

The Aqua is in a stunning location right opposite Shanklin beach and as we had a sea view room, to wake up to this each morning was fantastic. Rooms are clean, not overly big and have TV, WiFi and tea and coffee. Breakfasts are a...More

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank AnnieM452
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and it was a lovely place to be. The staff are so friendly and the rooms are beautiful, clean and modern. There isn’t any parking for the hotel that you don’t have to pay for, which we weren’t unaware...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank jorichell
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Friendly staff and clean restaurant but disappointing meal..raw jacket potato! They also allow dogs into the restaurant.More

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Maureen O
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. It is always a good idea to mention your disappointment to our staff who will readily endeavor to make amends. However if we don't know we cant help you to overcome any problem. Incidentally we...More

Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

What a change to be served food on hot plates! So many places let themselves down. Staff are friendly and welcoming.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Lynne C
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

I have just eaten the best fish in YEARS! Beautifully cooked ‘Roasted Sea Bass’ - it was mouth-wateringly good. The vegetables accompanying the fish were just right. So impressed - the chef is a star!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SueTeacher
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Though we live in UK since few years we are not still used to the early dinners and the fact that kitchens here close very early 8:45pm for example. They accepted us nonetheless and we appreciated it, just as much we appreciated the food and...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank OrsoBubu77
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Duvets suit hotels very well as they are easy to launder and easy for staff to make up, however, some of us don't like them. Sheets and blankets are much easier to use in changeable weather. Regretfully, the Aqua said that regretfully, they only used...More

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank lindypindydbwoods
Reviewed 11 October 2017

A great hotel, great food, wonderful staff, super location right on the sea front. Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Jocosity
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Popped in for some lunch as it was a nice day and we had our dog with us. Thee are three places all together there, this had a table free. Lunch was very tasty and quick, service very polite and it was lovely sitting here...More

Date of visit: September 2017
2  Thank Doug T
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We have just returned back to the Mainland after another very enjoyable week’s holiday in Shanklin. We absolutely love Shanklin seafront and this time we tried out the Aqua and we were very impressed with the quality and price of their meals, the staff were...More

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank sarah662016
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Isle of Wight
The Steamer Inn
263 reviews
.01 miles away
Aqua Hotel
232 reviews
.04 miles away
Brunswick Hotel
227 reviews
.07 miles away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
175 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Vernon Cottage
749 reviews
.28 miles away
Cinderellas Tea Room and Dress Shop
89 reviews
.27 miles away
The Steamer Inn Restaurant
1,663 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Shanklin Theatre
625 reviews
.28 miles away
Shanklin Beach
205 reviews
.02 miles away
Rylstone Gardens
280 reviews
.33 miles away
Shanklin Chine
2,370 reviews
.15 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Martin and Jose... W
23 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from James B | Property representative |
Parking on the seafront is not chargeable from 6.00 pm through to 10.00 am the next morning every day, and therefore should not affect diners at The Brasserie at The Aqua where you dined. Visitors staying at The Aqua do not... More
0
Votes
Margaret W
14 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from James B | Property representative |
No sorry we can't take a table of 23.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shanklin
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 863024
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing