We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Buddle Inn

££ - £££, British,
St. Catherines Road | Niton, Ventnor PO38 2NE, England
+44 1983 730243
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (39 reviews)
“burger” (45 reviews)
“fish and chips” (30 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:30 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St. Catherines Road | Niton, Ventnor PO38 2NE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Great quality food, very friendly staff, very nice homemade scones and the best macaroons! Worth a visit!

Thank Bev S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great evening at The Buddle Inn whilst on holiday on the Isle of Wight. Fifteen of us had dinner and all the food looked amazing and tasted delicious. Staff were really friendly and service was good. Would highly recommend.

Thank rachellewistaylor
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped for early afternoon drinks and snacks halfway on our walk round St Catherine's Head lighthouse and Oratory. Good range of real ales and well prepared snacks eaten and drunk in the front beer garden on a lovely May afternoon, most enjoyable.

Thank duntoglos
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a hotel very close to the Buddle, so we ate there every night. Bad news for my waistline - the food was SO good. The staff were also very friendly, and I felt like they knew us very well by the end...More

Thank Shelley P
Vicky H, Manager at The Buddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi ShelleyP, Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your trip-and more importantly us! I Hope you enjoy the next leg of your holiday! Maybe we will see you again if you visit the Island again. Kind regards Vicky

Reviewed 1 week ago

*Please note, new to trip adviser, but I feel this needs to be aired* After moving to the local area a few months back, I was recommended this pub. Finally today I decided to visit with my wife and daughter. At first I thought it...More

1  Thank johngulliver1988
Vicky H, Manager at The Buddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi johngulliver1988, Thank you for your review. All comments noted regarding the food options. Unfortunately our main walk in fridge has broken so we have been restricted on space. The chef situation has been dealt with appropriately and will not happen again. I Can only...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us visited for lunch and sat in the garden on a beautiful summers day. The service wasn't super fast, but that didn't worry us as we were not in any hurry, we just wanted to enjoy the experience and we are not disappointed....More

Thank Karen A
Vicky H, Manager at The Buddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Karen A, Thank you for your review. Apologies for the lack of pork belly during your visit. We have had a few issues in the kitchen recently but I can safely say it is now back on! We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were told when we ordered that there would be a 45 minute wait for food and we did wait about 45 minutes for the starters. We then waited over 45 minutes for the main courses and when they didn't appear (and our starter plates...More

Thank HighWycombeJules
Vicky H, Manager at The Buddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Highwycombejules, Thank you for your review of the buddle inn. Apologies for the delays on food during your recent visit. We have had issues in the kitchen with staffing levels and are currently addressing them. This would account for the delays. I hope you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in for a lunchtime drink and decided to book for the evening as being May day holiday weekend we imagined it would be busy. A good move as it turned out as there had been an accident in the kitchen and one of...More

Thank Dee G
Vicky H, Manager at The Buddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Dee G, Thank you for your review. I'm glad your visit, it was unfortunate we had that incident on bank holiday weekend. At the time we stopped service we had both managers in the kitchen trying to get the ordered food out (myself included)...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited last week (week beginning 28th May) to a booked table well in advance for 8 people. Ordered food at the bar. 10 minutes later (so no urgency then) the kitchen porter (who appeared to be cooking for the evening) came to the table to...More

Thank dirk013_11
Vicky H, Manager at The Buddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi dirk013_11, Thank you for your review. We take all feedback positive and negative seriously. I can only apologise for what appeared to be an unhappy visit. I'm sorry the pub is so far out that you couldn't drink during your meal the location isn't...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here by chance but had previously read it was one of the “character inns”. Great views of the water, relaxing atmosphere with attentive and welcoming staff. Had live music as well which contributed awesomely with the sunshine. Needs a few more ales on draught,...More

Thank SimonM87
Vicky H, Manager at The Buddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

HiSimonM87, Thank you for your great review of The Buddle Inn. Im glad you had an enjoyable experience on your visit. We certainly do have some exceptional views and on a sunny afternoon there is nothing better than lapping up the sunshine in ou beer...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 115 hotels in Isle of Wight
Old Park Hotel
149 reviews
1.42 miles away
Wight Mouse Inn
366 reviews
1.69 miles away
Eversley Hotel
164 reviews
3.55 miles away
The Royal Hotel
1,049 reviews
3.63 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The White Lion
126 reviews
.65 miles away
The Wight Mouse Inn
700 reviews
1.69 miles away
The White Horse Inn
486 reviews
1.80 miles away
Ship Ashore Tea Rooms
21 reviews
.50 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St Catherine's Lighthouse
383 reviews
.37 miles away
Butterfly Paragliding
19 reviews
1.58 miles away
Isle of Wight Fossil Hunts - Island Gems
225 reviews
3.35 miles away
Appuldurcombe House
200 reviews
3.63 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
george c
18 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from buddleinn | Property representative |
We do a normal pub menu, using local fresh produce wherever possible, we also do a specials board if you fancy something a bit special and of course Sundays we do a traditional homemade roast.
0
Votes
Sally R
23 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from marmite12334 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I don't know; none of our party needed it so we didn't look for it. You will need to give them a call directly.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$28
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St. Catherines Road | Niton, Ventnor PO38 2NE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Ventnor
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 730243
  • E-mail
Description
The Buddle is a beautiful 16th century Inn located at the most southerly tip of the Island. Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty it has St. Catherine's Lighthouse a stones throw away and is the perfect place for walkers to explore. Offering home cooked locally sourced food with an extensive specials board including local fish, meat and vegetables.Extensive wine list, 6 real ales (in season) and a good selection of ciders (in season). The Buddle Inn offers a warm welcome whatever the time of year.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;