We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Reviews (199)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
163
22
5
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
163
22
5
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice cream cod chips island seaside dog
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived as a large group - 6 indecisive adults and a child all trying to choose ice creams from a very large selection. The server allowed us to take as much time as we wanted. She was undoubtedly the most cheerful, helpful and accommodating server...I have ever come across. Oh, and the ice creams were all great too!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Fantastic little place. Had the choice of 3 different sized full English breakfast and I had the regular. I’m not a small guy and it was more than enough. The young lady that served me was so friendly and welcoming. I will 100% come here...again when next over on the island.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2023 via mobile

We had 4 take away fish & chips and were bitterly dissapointed, as the fish was frozen, not fresh. When we have Fish & Chips at the seaside, we expect the fish to be fresh, but were given frozen battered fish, which is not acceptable...anywhere and especially not at the seaside. We live in Bridgnorth, Shropshire, which is over 100 miles from the coast, we have 3 Fish & Chip shops and all serve fresh fish.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2023

A very nice location, but there was a problem with our food as it seems to be that the fish we ate was cheap, frozen. The fish was grey inside and mushy, and the batter was like cardboard, furthermore let's not even talk about the...chips. All of the staff were lovely but sadly the food didn't show up to any standards. Later, we started read these reviews and realised, that the good reviews for the cafe/ice creams. We were very disappointed with the meal we were given.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2023

Absolutely fab spot for alfresco food/fish and chips in a lovely setting just opposite the beach. Staff were super friendly, and the food was first class! Great value and excellent portion sizes but importantly very tasty and cooked perfectly. They also have beer on tap...that you can take to the beach. Will definitely be back - wonderful find!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2023 via mobile

Lovely customer service staff where so friendly food was so fresh and hot and delicious could not fault it what’s so ever amazing selection of ice cream even vegan which was so nice and not just one flavour of vegan either which was great would...definitely go back and vodka slush so I was so happyMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2023

Under new management & crazy busy, so we stopped just for ice creams. Super selection of special flavours. We'll be back!

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2023

Excellent place to stop for an ice-cream, good selection of Dairy and plant based and Dog friendly ices available. Very friendly staff. Made a nice memory for our first trip to Ventnor.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2022

Frozen Fish, Frozen Chips is not what you expect. The fish was like puss, the cheapest nastiest fish ive ever bought in a chippy, soggy horrible batter too. What a waste of money. Chippy up on the hill is the real deal and its 2...mins awayMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2022

We have used this restaurant many times in past years and look forward to going there for their superb fish and chips. Sadly, on this occasion the meal was well below par. The fish was tiny, more chips than the two of us could eat,...the price was high, and there was a very long wait. We will not be going back there again.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2022

We had cod & chips X3 plus a sausage & chips - fish very nice but only comes in one size, akin to a small-medium from traditional chippy - we would readily have gone for a large but this isn't an option. Sausage enjoyed but...average. Chips not like from your traditional chippy, much drier like oven chips. Also we asked for salt and vinegar to be put on but couldn't taste it when eating and by then we were the other end of the beach so too far to return to ask for "more" - would suggest others ask to add your own salt and vinegar before you leave.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2022

The young man who served us was delightful and very helpful, however the fish was dreadful. It was grey, tasteless and tough for all 3 of us. We were convinced that it was not cod. Such a disappointing meal that we had looked forward to...eating on our holiday to the seaside.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gardenerrich, Owner at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2022

Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and I apologise that you didn't enjoy your meal. I can assure you we only use cod for our freshly hand battered fish, however I'm sorry that you thought it was dreadful. If you...More

Reviewed 19 April 2022

I came down to ventnor on a break from work and had the loveliest ice cream from which the selection was huge. I was greeted by two lovely waiters who could not do more for me, they were very enthusiastic and suggested lots of places...for me to explore on the island. Will definitely be coming again and would recommend!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2021 via mobile

Having read reviews we thought this would be the place to go for fish and chips…it’s not. The warning signs were there- you couldn’t even see the fryers or the fish and chips counter. Essentially this is a cafe serving cafe style food- not proper...fish and chips. We ordered fish and chips x2 and sat on a bench over looking the sea basically eating over cooked battered fish- clearly not caught locally and oven chips deep fat fryed- not traditional chip shop chips. Very disappointing lunch overlooking the sea.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gardenerrich, Owner at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2022

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us this review however we do not state anywhere on our social media or at the business that we are an authentic fish and chip shop, we are a cafe (as we advertise) that specialises in...More

Reviewed 24 September 2021

Called in for a cold drink. The assistant serving was very friendly polite and helpful .made the holiday experience and a nice change especially near the end of the season nice to see someone happy in their job and making customers happy thanks

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Wellington Hotel
94 reviews
.05 miles away
The Royal Hotel
2,255 reviews
.13 miles away
The Hambrough
500 reviews
.17 miles away
The Eversley
209 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
TZ's True Food Kitchen
770 reviews
.21 miles away
Lady Scarletts Tea Parlour
437 reviews
.01 miles away
The Bistro
474 reviews
.19 miles away
Smoking Lobster Ventnor
767 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bonchurch Landslip
64 reviews
.70 miles away
Steephill Cove Beach
545 reviews
.73 miles away
Ventnor Park
154 reviews
.18 miles away
Ventnor Beach
91 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Golden Sands staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

GOLDEN SANDS, Ventnor - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Sands

Golden Sands is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5