We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Highwayman

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
15
24
11
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
15
24
11
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza sunday roast the pub playing pool lovely food veg
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Guy (landlord) was lovely. Food is obviously something the IOM Brewery (who own the pub) do NOT care about. So many negative reviews on the food, which used to be excellent a couple of years ago. This is purely down to the Brewery being happy...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Barry A
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Coordinator at The Highwayman, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Barry A From the outset, I would like to point out that we do care about the food at the Highwayman and in sites across all our Estate. We are committed to serving good food, which includes sourcing the freshest of ingredients and regularly...More

Reviewed 3 November 2018

I have visited the Highwayman many times and it has mostly been excellent, until the last time. The management have obviously embarked on a cost saving drive and the result was dire. I ordered a roast beef diner. What I got was aunt Bessie’s Yorkshire...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Roving55168536355
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Coordinator at The Highwayman, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Hi there Roving55168536355 Thank you for taking the time to contact us, although I am sorry to learn about your disappointment. Here at The Highwayman, we cook every dish to order using the freshest of ingredients and I am sorry this was not reflected in...More

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Went for a visit to the Highwayman towards the beginning of October, it was a Friday night and unfortunately empty. First of all I noticed the music had alot of curse words in it, which wouldn't normally bother me but it was before 9pm and...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank kaycee0412
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Coordinator at The Highwayman, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi there kaycee0412 Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback following your visit to The Highwayman. I am disappointed to learn the music played contained swear words. We always look to play easy listening or acoustic classics in the background...More

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Young women behind the bar called Racheal doesn’t work many shifts as she’s only part time, need more staff the same as her, allways has a smile on her face and happy to help every1 out what ever the situation, absolutely fantastic service.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank neilquayle
Reviewed 11 September 2018

So, we booked a birthday meal on Sunday evening. They said that last orders were at 6pm and indeed their website said they shut at 1800. Unfortunately we went. We ordered - they brought all the meals at different times so some people had finished...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank johnjohn740
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Coordinator at The Highwayman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hi there johnjohn740 Thank you for contacting us although we are disappointed to learn of your feedback. Our food hours are clearly stated on our website and your party was made clear of these hours when your booking was made. Although our kitchen does close...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

The order was incorrect. We weren't given an itemized receipt just a credit card total bill. Staff took away the incorrect item but didn't bring the correct item. Nor did they offer to check if we had paid for the item that had not arrived....More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lfc84
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Coordinator at The Highwayman, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi there lfc84 I am disappointed to learn of your experience as this is not in line with our usual high standards of customer service. With this in mind, I would be grateful if you could email me at feedback@hb.im with the date and time...More

Reviewed 25 August 2018

This has got to be the worst pub I have ever been to , first we called in on a Sunday evening at 9.00 to be told we aren’t serving as we shut at 9.00 Sunday and Monday, them on the following Saturday we called...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank father2016
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Coordinator at The Highwayman, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi there father2016 Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback although I am disappointed to learn of your experience. Here at the Highwayman, we always look to provide the best customer experience and the service you have described is not...More

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

An enjoyable Sunday roast, staff pleasant and food good. Portion size was adequate. We did not have to wait to long for the food to arrive.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Ian I
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Enjoyed an early evening mid-week meal here whilst on holiday. Good range of choices, including a lot of pizzas. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 80s_Mel
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Having read the previous reviews I travelled across to the Highwayman first to make sure that everything would be OK. Pleased to say that I could see no basis for some of these opinions. Six of us, a family group all adults duly arrived and...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank steve5002018
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Highwayman staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing