We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

PRICE RANGE
£7 - £14
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (849)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveller rating
386
182
101
103
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
386
182
101
103
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie fish and chips pudding sunday roast ice cream the pub hall woodhouse food was lovely family lunch large party at lunchtime lovely lunch birthday meal gemma badger stonehenge salisbury
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent visit Dan our server was fantastic Food was lovely beer and drinks great Well run clean establishment Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello Johnniegun1, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our beer!! Please come back soon to try some more! Until the next time we meet, take care! -Team Wheatsheaf

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great food and service, well cooked and presented. Ten out of ten. Ideal for stonehenge. Lovely atmosphere, and decor.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Steve R, thank you for the high star rating! Feel free to come back anytime you are seeing Stonehenge again! Or if you just fancy a pint! Thank you, and have a fantastic day! -Team Wheatsheaf

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for a family meal with 3 adults 2 children ( ate from main menu) total cost £162 for 5 main meals, 5 puddings and 5 drinks ( all soft). 10% service charge was added ( didn't notice until after). Requested water for table that...never arrived , was never asked how food was , would have said how disappointed if had been asked. 2 caeser salads that really were honesty the worst I have seen , the lettuce was poor , cheese was not parmesan and majority was left, for nearly £16 this was appalling. The burgers were average compared to others in the price bracket and same with the pork belly , it was fine but certainly not worth the £22.95 price tag. I have eaten in places where the food is of a massively better quality and a substantially less price. I have also eaten in places of a similar price bracket and the food was worth every single penny. Either food quality needs to improve substantially to reflect the price or prices need to be dropped. This meal in my opinion was worth no more £75 tops . I will certainly not be returning and would advise others to drive a bit further along the road.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

892kater, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. As our menu states " An...More

Reviewed 2 May 2024

I visited the wheatsheaf on Tuesday 30th April with friends for lunch. I found the pub to be welcoming and the team friendly. Especially Gemma who was our waitress. I found her to be attentive, informative and was just so friendly , not to mention...fun (especially those trousers ) she made a good visit great. The food was well presented and very tasty, best fishfinger sandwich possible. I will definately be returning, really interested in trying the Sunday Roast. Highly recommend a visit, thank you wheatsheaf and Gemma.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

Hi Julia K, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Gemma is amazing! I will pass all your lovely comments to the team here at The Wheatsheaf. Thank you again for this great review, we look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 1 May 2024

Nice spot but not so good after that Ordered Shepherds pie which came with vegetables the size of the portion was not much bigger than a digestive biscuit more like a child's portion At £18 a throw not value at all The cheese board was...better but none of us were tempted back that's for sureMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2024

Connector37111424879, we're sorry to hear that the portion sizes were not up to value during your visit with us. Thanks to your honest review, we can pass your comments on to the people who can make the appropriate changes. We would love to be of...More

Reviewed 27 April 2024

We had excellent food and service at this village pub. It was conveniently located. The menu choices were wide and catered for different tastes and diets. The portions were sensible, welcome and service were excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Alexandra S, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review. It's experiences like yours that really keep us motivated! We hope you have a great day! -Team Wheatsheaf

Reviewed 23 April 2024

Most enjoyable lunch with friends at this lovely country pub. Excellent service and friendly helpful staff. Particular care taken with dietary requirements. Food very good especially steak and tanglefoot pie and fish and chips. Unfortunately gas not available for draught Guinness and shandy. Overall lovely...atmosphere and look forward to return visit.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

Hi 504lindann, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Thank you for this lovely review, and being patient with us during your visit whilst the temporary gas issue was being resolved. We're looking forward to your next visit with...More

Reviewed 16 April 2024

A lovely country pub to visit for a meal or just a couple of drinks. We had a lovely family lunch and everyone in the group commented on how tasty the food was. Our server Gemna, was fantastic interacting with the table and making sure...we had everything we needed throughout our time there. Will be visiting again soon, and will definitely recommend.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Nicole S, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! I will be sure to pass your lovely feedback on to Gemma! We hope to be of service to you again in the future! -Team Wheatsheaf

Reviewed 1 April 2024

Went for a meal with Melvin and upon arriving thought what a lovely location and quaint place to eat. After we got our drinks and were seated immediately in front of the doorway which was letting the cold in as people arrived and left so...asked to move, and seated in another room. We decided to just have one starter to share and chose the Terrine which was £8.95 and was enough for us both and fairly tasty. I had the Venison bourguignon £18.95 for main meal which came with mashed potato and carrots and kale I believe.. the venison bourguignon was melt in your mouth really delicious, the mash was standard nothing special, and the vegetables were wilted, limp and over cooked so I left them. Melvin had the Sirloin Steak meal at £29! I was shocked at what he was served as the sirloin steak was not even a cm thick and not very good at all it certainly looked like half of it was missing and not worth £29! The server came over and asked how the meal was to which Melvin said and rightly so that he has had better elsewhere and asked if the steak was a flat iron steak instead of a sirloin as really didn’t seem right at all. After complaining Melvin received £15 off his meal which we appreciate as that’s about all I would want to pay for a steak that looked beaten with a butchers mallet. Unfortunately we will not be returning as this visit was rather a let down and first impressions are everything. More attention and quality to the food served required as the prices do not reflect on what is received.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Hi Nora Smellyworth, we appreciate you taking the time to write this review and let us know how we did on your visit. I'm pleased to hear you were moved to a more satisfactory table. Thank you for your lovely words about the venison –...More

Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

Went for dinner here last night as the Chapter house in Salisbury was fully booked. Given it's a Saturday night over the Easter holidays in a great location I wrongly assumed this would be fully booked also. We arrived at 8pm for our pre-booked table...and the place was 90% empty. We were seated on a table directly In front of the main entrance which was very draughty so asked to be moved and also the 2 young women Effing with every second word behind us didn't exactly give me the impression I was about to be treated to a more discerning dinning experience either. We went over the menu that was fairly standard but none of the starters seemed that appealing given there asking circa £8 plus so ordered the Terrine at £8.95. it was ok..... Reviewed the "pub classics" and the beer battered fish and chips for £17.25 might of been an option but clearly as it didn't state cod or haddock was probably cheaper Pollack so I decided on the 28 day aged sirloin @ £29.75. Nora had the Venison Bourguignon. Our meals arrived, mine served on a cold plate and my first impression given the price was disappointing. The "sirloin" was at best 10mm thick and fairly tough and being unseasoned lacking in taste. The server returned to ask how the food was and I said disappointing, I've had better! I did question if the steak was really a sirloin and not the cheaper flat iron but he insisted it was the "sirloin". Given the price of the steak is more than twice that of wetherspoons am I expecting too much for it to be at least as good as a wetherspoons? Needless to say by this time I'd lost interest in eating so declined a pudding or coffee and paid up and left a modest tip. Shame really as the location and ambience should make this place a gold mine just like the Chapter house in the city centre but clearly something isn't going too well with this Hall and Woodhouse establishment. A good steak isn't rocket science and clearly the quality of the produce being used should be better given the prices.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Hi Melvin Smellyworth, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Here at The Wheatsheaf we strive for 100% satisfaction, and we regret to find out that this was not the case for your visit. As the majority...More

Reviewed 26 March 2024

Very attractive pub in a lovely setting. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Great selection of ales. We have eaten here several times and food has been excellent. Dog friendly too.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Marilyn C, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Wheatsheaf! Thank you for the great review! Team at The Wheatsheaf

Reviewed 25 March 2024

We often visit the Wheatsheaf as it is our favourite pub in the Salisbury area. Yesterday we had Sunday lunch and everything was perfect from the welcome, to the atmosphere and the meal itself. In our experience they are always friendly, attentive and helpful, and...the meals are delicious and very good value for the quality of food. I would thoroughly recommend.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Hi Jcjwilliams, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Wheatsheaf. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We can't wait to see you again, have a great day. -Team Wheatsheaf

Reviewed 16 March 2024

We have had such fun here today with our family for my Dads Birthday which was at the beginning of the month. Gemma our Waitress for fun, funny and we had a great laugh with others in the restaurant today who have also been having...a good time.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Hello Helen-marie C, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. It's experiences like yours that really keep us motivated! Thank you for your kind words about Gemma, she's amazing - I will be sure to pass it on! Please don't hesitate...More

Reviewed 13 March 2024

After a drenching at Stonehenge, our family of eight wanted warm food, cold drinks and relaxation. The pub was super busy, but they seated us near a roaring fire at three tables near each other. What a delightful way to spend an afternoon enjoying delicious...meals and charming surroundings. Highly recommended if you're on the area.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

C7102nmsusann, thank you so much for the positive review! We're happy we could meet your expectations. Thanks again for the recommendation. Until next time! -Team Wheatsheaf

Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

Adequate food, felt very rushed on Mother’s Day with a table booking of one and a quarter hours for lunch. First time visit, won’t be repeated.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall-Woodhouse Ltd, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Hello There! Firstly, thank you for your feedback here and we're glad the food was adequate for you! We absolutely understand the frustration here. Our booking system only allows 1hr and 15 minutes for a table of 2 and on a day like mothers day,...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Stones Hotel
518 reviews
1.86 miles away
Cricket Field House
745 reviews
2.70 miles away
Salisbury Apartments
30 reviews
2.88 miles away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
896 reviews
2.94 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bridge Inn
519 reviews
1.32 miles away
The Bell Inn
85 reviews
2.42 miles away
The White Horse At Quidhampton
207 reviews
2.62 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Heale Gardens
122 reviews
.80 miles away
The White Horse
10 reviews
2.62 miles away
Wilton House
433 reviews
2.68 miles away
Boscombe Down Aviation Collection
721 reviews
1.92 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
James A
18 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from susimcclintock | Reviewed this property |
I don't think so, didn't see one, but it is very warm and cosy.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE WHEATSHEAF, Lower Woodford - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Wheatsheaf

Yes, The Wheatsheaf is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Wheatsheaf is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4