We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beach Shack

Western Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8JS, England
+44 1983 401392
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good29%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“crab cakes” (37 reviews)
“salad” (21 reviews)
“samphire” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Seafood, British, Bar, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Western Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8JS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Popped into here as always wanted to give it a try. Ideal location nicely done out inside and outside. Young girls serving and waiting were friendly. Order was a bit slow coming my friend had almost eaten hers before I got mine. Looks like they...More

Thank malibulover2013
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your review. Did you order separately? I trust our staff dealt with the well if you mentioned it to them. The oil is ordinary cooking oil so I'm not sure what we can do there. There's no room for another chef in...More

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Service was quite slow. Children's meals are not big. Waiters are friendly and will help you with your decision. Good location by the sea front. Not the best place by the sea though.More

Thank louiscoleuk
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your review. There is often a wait for food in August at the beach I'm afraid as it can get extremely busy. We can only do what we can do in a kitchen our size. I hope that when you ordered the...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Are here a couple of times after discovering it quite by accident. A lovely seaside option, great for lunch, though also keen to try their breakfast menu which looks delicious. Fab for families as lots of qualit choices. Posh fish finger wrap was the best...More

Thank TBorine
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you very much! The posh fish finger wrap is proving very popular this summer! Glad you had a good time.

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Great spot on the beach near pier. Very good service, good range of meals and snacks. Weel worth a visit.

Thank GMunson
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Many thanks!

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Great lunch overlooking sea. No frills beach restaurant. Superb seafood, relaxed and too the point. We had the crab soup followed by crab salad and my daughter had a pint of prawns. All wonderful and fresh. No booking, first come first served, dog friendly, great...More

Thank John R
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your lunch with us.

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We come to the island every year as a big family group. We love good food and fresh produce and were excited to eat out again this holiday. However until we stumbled upon the beach shack we had eaten such mediocre, expensive food elsewhere that...More

Thank Mireilli F
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Wow! Thank you so much, you've made our day! Glad you all had such a good experience, we enjoyed having you, please come again!!

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

I've been twice. Once with the kids and once just with hubby. Consistently good and not not long to wait

Thank OakGamesLtd
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you very much, glad it's been good. The wait tends to vary depending on the weather, we do our best anyway!

Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stopped for an impromptu lunch at the Beach Shack, and it was great - avocado and crab stack for me plus very posh burger for him, lots of lovely flavours and both dishes completely scoffed. They do IOW beers by the bottle and decent...More

Thank White-family
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Well thank you very much! We are glad you enjoyed it all and it's great to have your feedback. We hope you can come again!

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

If you veggie, come here for the halloumi salad. If not, the sea food is the best. Staff are friendly and good themed evenings. Be warned, you'll have to book for them!

Thank Rach1972
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you very much, glad you enjoyed it here!

Reviewed 25 July 2017

Our favourite place to eat this holiday. We had lunch there twice. I really enjoyed the posh fish finger wrap.

Thank Penelope H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bellamy's Bistro
592 reviews
.33 miles away
The Beach Cafe
483 reviews
.17 miles away
The Reef
726 reviews
.38 miles away
Flanagan's
399 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Dinosaur Isle
754 reviews
.83 miles away
Sandown Pier
1,100 reviews
.15 miles away
Steve's Beach
71 reviews
.45 miles away
Glory Art Glass
81 reviews
.18 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
sabbenne
17 October 2016|
Answer
Response from gregtheegg | Property representative |
Hi, we close at 4, no need to book
0
Votes
Maria K
19 June 2015|
Answer
Response from gregtheegg | Property representative |
Yes we do from this Friday night
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$53
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Western Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8JS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Sandown
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 401392
  • E-mail
Description
WE ARE NOW open daily for the coming season
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing