We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$20
CUISINES
Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
111
44
35
45
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
111
44
35
45
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dough balls mixed grill garlic bread quiz night family meal great pub be visiting again cannot fault piping hot
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a terrible food trip The food was cheap and nasty I had a burger and it was vile they told me the burger are nice it was like going back to school they were that bad skinny taste was awful never again My...partner had a roast and that was just as worse dry could taste the oils And the gravy omg might as well of been water it was that clear and tasteless Plus very pricey tasted better food from a hospital Be awareMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Oldduke S, General Manager at The Old Duke, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Q7630VOstephenc, I am really sorry to hear that you havent enjoyed visiting us. We have made a lot of changes to our team and menu over the last couple of years and while i agree we do not always get it right, we have...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brilliant staff really good service, will recommend to other people and will visit again. Lauren and Erin who served us were really friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Oldduke S, General Manager at The Old Duke, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

An amazing review, i will ensure the team get to see this and are thanked for their hard work. Thankyou for taking time to review us. We love seeing these, good or bad! Cant wait to see you again soon. Regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice atmosphere Staff were very friendly and helpful. Visited with friends and our children food came out all together so no complaints.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Oldduke S, General Manager at The Old Duke, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Loue579, Love seeing these 5* reviews. thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit. We look forward to seeing you again. :) Regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered the large Fish and Chips with mushy peas it came with garden peas ( no big deal) no tartare sauce. My main issue was the fish which was thin seamed to be pre formed and deep fried within a inch of it life. Totally...over done the batter was very thick and hard and the fish so overdone that it was tasteless. When paying the waitress asked if l wanted to see the manager l wondered why she just didn’t get the manager. I just said no I just will never go back there. There are lovely places to eat in Southport now we eat out at least 2 times a week. My wife had a pizza which was lovely.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Oldduke S, General Manager at The Old Duke, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Jim B, Im so sorry to hear that your recent visit seems to have been below our usual standard. The lack of Taerare sauce has unfortunately been out of our control. This has been a supplier issue, as many places are experiencing. Due to...More

Reviewed 15 October 2021

OK , so its a chain and defiantly not old - but the staff have all always been lovely, friendly and really helpful when we've been in. The beer is good, the food is good - its good pub grub, but I don't expect (or...want really) restaurant weird ingredients served in tiny portions - Its a good place to get your tea and have a little drink. Service is quick. Also not expensive.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Oldduke S, Manager at The Old Duke, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

We love getting amazing feed back from are guest thank you very much for the rating. We really hope to see you again soon. 👍

Reviewed 23 August 2021

Great outdoor play area for my little boy, he played for hours whilst we had a cold pint, Si behind the bar is hilarious on quiz night

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Oldduke S, General Manager at The Old Duke, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Hi Dave 7641245087654899 Thank you for reviewing your recent visit. There is nothing better than occupied kids allowing for a nice refreshing pint! I will pass on your comments to Si. We believe he brings something extra to the basic pub quiz! Regards

Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful evening at The Old Duke. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Food was sensational and served hot and all together. We were a group of 11 and we were all sat together and food all came out promptly for the entire group. Would...definitely recommend a trip here, staff can’t do enough for you. Really nice evening out.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Oldduke S, General Manager at The Old Duke, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Hi Victoriatraynor2385, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Really pleased to hear you all enjoyed your visit and had a good evening. It is really nice to see large groups and families back in our pub after such a long...More

Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

We visited for an early evening meal. The best thing about our visit was the gin and tonic. The draught beer selection was reduced from five to one. We ordered nachos between us as a starter. Without doubt the worst nachos ever. They were a...plate of tortilla chips with spicy tomato sauce and guacamole. No attempt to produce a finished dish. My main course was a jackfruit burger. No garnish, no dressing to speak of. Just badly cooked and poorly presented. My wife’s salad was very average and oddly warm. Really disappointingMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
Oldduke S, General Manager at The Old Duke, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Hi JonathanM788, Im really sorry to learn that you did not enjoy yor recent visit to us. Unfortunately, due to our current level of trade coming out of Covid, we have made the decision to only stock one Real Ale at a time. As they...More

Reviewed 27 July 2021

Lovely, friendly staff and good value for money food. Excellent service too. Cannot fault The Old Duke. X

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Oldduke S, General Manager at The Old Duke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Hi Elaine S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed coming. Cant wait to see you again soon. Regards

Reviewed 26 July 2021

Last time we visited had pizza excellent today ordered hunters chicken and sausage and mash lovelymeas staff very friendly outside seating area lovely will visit again

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Oldduke S, General Manager at The Old Duke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Hi Ronniemelling, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. Glad to hear you have enjoyed the food each time you have visited. Fingers crossed the weather holds out for your next visit. Regards

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Baytrees Hotel
193 reviews
1.73 miles away
The Talbot Hotel
344 reviews
1.77 miles away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
526 reviews
1.77 miles away
The Lord Street Hotel, BW Signature Collection
322 reviews
1.85 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Itsy Bitsy Thai Restaurant
147 reviews
.33 miles away
Hickory's Smokehouse Southport
523 reviews
.37 miles away
The Richmond
660 reviews
.26 miles away
Thatch & Thistle Southport
197 reviews
.56 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hesketh Park
358 reviews
1.77 miles away
Southport Little Theatre
149 reviews
1.73 miles away
British Lawnmower Museum
150 reviews
1.58 miles away
Wesley Street
95 reviews
1.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Irene A
7 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Archiehopkins | Reviewed this property |
They have special nomeat burgers
0
Votes
Irene A
7 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Rugor | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I can’t recall whether or not there is a vegan choice but a call to the old duke would clarify
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Duke

The Old Duke is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5