We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

March Hare

St helens, Bishop Auckland DL14 9AE, England
+44 1388 663219
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good24%
  • Average20%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (31 reviews)
“curry” (5 reviews)
“rice” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pizza, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St helens, Bishop Auckland DL14 9AE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Popular local eating place, which offers wide selection of meals at a very cheap price. Easy to park and suitable forfamilies

Thank N3602RCpeterb
Philip D, Manager at March Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us we appreciate the positive feedback

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You definately get what you pay for..visiting family in Bishop Auckland and so this was the closest place to eat out..safe to say won't be going again..highchairs were filthy had to scrub it down..clean my table has had sticky marks on it..we had already ordered...More

Thank aquage
Philip D, Manager at March Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent visit please could you contact the pub so we discuss this further. Thank you

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The meals in here are fab and with them being 2 for 1 even better value. The soft drinks are refillable ones so you only pay once and have as many as you like. I cannot fault the staff we had nothing but excellent service...More

Thank SexyRedHead1978
Philip D, Manager at March Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review,we appreciate all feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to seeing you again.

A TripAdvisor Member
52
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

However the title "pay for what you get" doesn't quite suit the prices as they're not cheap! Considering the chefs in the pizza kitchen we're talking about how the chips were McCain. I had smothered chicken which was tasty, yet slightly on the rubber side...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Philip D, Manager at March Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit- if you would like to contact the pub to discuss the matter further please feel free to do so.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for lunch with family. After we had seated ourselves the waitress came over to take the drinks order and then our food order, so far so good. I ordered the chicken and bacon salad. Very nice, until about two thirds through and i spotted...More

Thank hilaryc57
Philip D, Manager at March Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello First of all please let me apologise for this incident I'm very sorry that you felt the device you received was poor. Please could you contact the pub so I can speak to you personally. Thank you

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Now eaten here on a couple of occasions and have been very impressed on both occasions. Goo food with a lot of choices. Good service. God value. Would definitely recommend and go back again.

Thank Matt B
Philip D, Manager at March Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Called for a family meal. After being seated there were 2 other large parties that arrived. One of the table order drinks and then the waitress took our food order as well as drinks. We waited over 25 mins and no drinks arrived but both...More

Thank leean t
Philip D, Manager at March Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello I'm very sorry to hear that your recent visit wasn't up to standards, unfortunately we eee understaffed to sue to staff illness which I know is no excuse for poor service. Please could you contact the pub on 01388 663219 so I can discuss...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Been here several times and have never had anything other than a really good meal. I have recommended this pub to many people and welcome the opportunity to spread the good word on tripadvisor. The meal deals are exceptionally good value and the food is...More

Thank Stephen L
Philip D, Manager at March Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hello Thank you for your lovely review we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

My fiance enjoyed his meal, which was the smothered chicken, and it looked great too! However mine wasn't good at all... I had the bangers and mash. The mash was hard and had been microwaved too much, the sausages were okay, I didn't want peas...More

1  Thank SarahHBW
Philip D, Manager at March Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Hello I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent visit to the March hare. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review as all feedback helps us to improve our service.

Reviewed 3 September 2017

came here as we were staying in a nearby hotel. They had an offer on buy 2 for 1. Both ordered a burger which was lovely and juicy, very good service so we came back the following day and I must say the scampi was...More

Thank LubyRobbo
Philip D, Manager at March Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate all feedback

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Broom Mill Farm Restaurant
50 reviews
.73 miles away
The Well
9 reviews
.91 miles away
Bedales
21 reviews
.29 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Manor House Hotel Spa
103 reviews
1.19 miles away
Locomotion: The National Railway Museum at Shildon
842 reviews
2.92 miles away
Spa at Redworth Hall Hotel
261 reviews
3.71 miles away
Broom Mill Farm
37 reviews
.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from March Hare staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St helens, Bishop Auckland DL14 9AE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Bishop Auckland
  • Phone Number: +44 1388 663219
  • E-mail
Description
food was a mixture of everything. Very tasty and good value for money
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing