We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Swan

) #11 of 50 Restaurants in Pickering ££ - £££ British, ,
Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
+44 1751 472288
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (28 reviews)
“belly pork” (16 reviews)
“mussels” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Recommended by friends and well worth it. Went on Thursday which was fish night. Excellent food and also dog friendly in the main bar

Thank Carl W
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments. Great to hear you visited us on a recommendation and that you enjoyed our fish and chips so much. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been eating here for lunch for years, when we have been going to the local auction. Great selection of sandwiches, well garnished. Not desperately cheap, and watch the price of the wine by the glass! In the Winter it is cosy to sit...More

Thank kelterman
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments and for your recommendation. Very much appreciated, as is your loyal custom. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We eat out for Sunday lunch most Sunday's and like to try different places. We had the lamb and beef served with individual pots of shallot gravy and a nice selection of vegetables. The Yorkshire puddings were excellent and like a previous reviewer found the...More

Thank Norfolk_Robin_12
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for such great comments and for your kind recommendation. Since you've enjoyed Sunday lunches in many different places your review is particularly gratifying. Pleased to hear you had such an excellent experience. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the food is very nice and the menu is good. there is a good choice on the menu. although this is a pub the food is more restaurant foodMore

Thank annaram470
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and that you were pleased with our menu. You also have the choice of our restaurant which is situated at the back of the hotel. Worth a return visit. We hope to see...More

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

We had a meal here with our dog, so ate in the bar, which was no problem. My wife had rump steak, which was properly medium rare and a good piece of meat; I had the Fish and Chips, which was fine but the fish...More

Thank sjmmarsh
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. They're very much appreciated. Good to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Reviewed 14 May 2017

We had high expectations as the White Swan is billed as the best restaurant in Pickering. The meal was OK nothing exceptional. Steak was not good quality, fish was overcooked. Service average. Surroundings very pleasant.

1  Thank hbarnes50
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. I hope you were able to let our staff know so that they could put things right for you. We'll certainly take your comments on board. Thank you for your review. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Popped in because we were craving ploughmans. Huge plate of ham, beef and three cheeses. With bread salad and relishes. All quality ingredients. My dad said it was exceptional!! And he is a fussy guy! If I'm being really picky I would have liked a...More

Thank Amy J
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

"Exceptional" is great. Thank you for your kind review and we take on board your comments about cheddar and pork pies. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Average pub personally I think it needs decorating, the price they charge for drinks are EXTORSANATE, we heard several people comment, just ripping people off

2  Thank Beverley B
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Sorry to hear you felt prices were too high. We constantly review our pricing against the high quality of our offering and your feedback is important. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Reviewed 26 April 2017

Lovely old cosy pub. The food was superb. Staff fairly efficient not kept waiting too long though they did seem to leave bar unattended occasionally but I think they may have had to deal with the reception desk as well so be patient if no...More

1  Thank josephinec991
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for your comments. Sorry you had to wait a little longer than expected. Great to hear how much you enjoyed your meal at The White Swan Inn. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Reviewed 21 April 2017

Booked in here for evening meal on 18th April and although the staff were very friendly, the meal was a disappointment. The soup was as a starter was quite nice but there it stopped.Fish over cooked and leathery, my husband ordered Belly Pork, which was...More

2  Thank denny4920
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal. I trust you spoke to our staff so that we were able to put things right for you. Thank you for your review. Trust we will take your comments on board. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Willowgate Bistro
548 reviews
.04 miles away
Spice 4U
552 reviews
.09 miles away
Elizabeth Botham's Tea Rooms
234 reviews
.07 miles away
Figaro's Restaurant
447 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
North Yorkshire Moors Railway
2,962 reviews
.11 miles away
Beck Isle Museum
261 reviews
.13 miles away
St Peter's & St Paul's Church
165 reviews
.08 miles away
Pickering Castle
315 reviews
.29 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Kay L
How dog friendly is it in the winter? Thanks
12 November 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from rubyandviolet | Reviewed this property |
Yes we took our dog and they were great with him.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$74
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Parking Available
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Pickering
  • Phone Number: +44 1751 472288
  • E-mail
Description
The kitchen at the White Swan is focused on doing very little to excellent local ingredients with very rarely more than three flavours on a plate. We make just about everything from scratch in cluding the ketchup and we charge more for it than we would need to if everything came out of a freezer via a microwave.If you are looking for prissy and plastic fine dining then don't expect that here. If you are looking for mountains of cheap food and you don't care where it came from then there are better places to get it.However if you love proper food then I also promise you service from people who are genuinely pleased to be working in our lovely Inn. The AA deems our food good enough for 2 rosettes - and that is without a single smear, smudge or froth in sight. At the other end of the scale, we don't do wrapped butter portions or packets of sauce either (or piped musak). If you want real food in a relaxed experience with great service and a happy atmosphere then come on down. If you want something else - then don't say I didn't warn you.Victor Buchanan - Owner
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing