We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£5 - £15
CUISINES
Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (391)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
244
70
23
16
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
244
70
23
16
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch cake poached eggs ham sandwich salmon lovely cafe full english all day breakfast pot of tea service was quick and friendly great coffee car park smoothies marquee tonbridge kent
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

At the end of my visit yesterday, I proceeded to pay with cash. I had not been informed that cash was not a welcomed way of payment any longer, nor did I see any obvious signage when entering the cafe, had I seen any I...would not have eaten here. However when I paid I was asked if a service could be added, I agreed. When cash was then produced I was told no change could be given, so I therefore used what would have been a tip as my change. Extremely disappointed by this as the food was great. For people who do prefer to use cash this is an unfair penalisation, and I cannot believe that there is no change available. Sadly I won’t be returning.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Another establishment in the Tonbridge Sevenoaks weald area that due to the affluent nature of there clientele its far too expensive and not worth the money they charged for 3 eggs benedict and 3 at £54.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Terrible experience simple breakfast took an hour waitress asked about allergies and was informed my partner allergic to mushrooms and they put mushrooms on her breakfast!!! This is seriously dangerous and would have resulted in hospital!!! No explanation given by staff paid for teas would...not recommend.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived at the cafe to have a bite to eat while the car was being washed. We were sat down and given menus. Several people who arrived after us were served first. We asked for tea and coffee and the tea was Luke...warm. The young man serving had a fairly detached and disinterested off hand attitude. I ordered the standard breakfast. After 45 minutes our food had not arrived. The car had long since been washed hoovered and parked up. When asked where our food was - we were informed it was another 15 to twenty minutes away. We informed them we were not prepared to wait and should have been informed if there was going to be a long wait. They said sorry but still charged for the tea and coffee. The least they could have done was offered these as a comp for their extremely poor service and sloppy attitude.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2024

Acoustics can be forgiven, but when it came to pay the bill, I gestured to a server who disappeared? I had to get up and tried to make eye contact with 3 people behind the counter, one of our party said one has to pay...at the till. There were 8 of us, we wanted to split the bill, some who have left by then after leaving cash. A rather surly unfriendly individual said they don’t take cash because there is no change available, we said we don’t need change. We were then told we could only pay per item on the bill. If she had apologised for the inconvenience, tried to help resolve it and made it easy for everyone, we might have walked away not feeling quite so frustrated. A bit of friendly helpful customer service makes the worlds difference.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teal Cafe, Marketing at Teal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Hi there, We apologise that your experience did not meet expectations. Unfortunately, we had wifi issues for a few hours on Sunday and were short staffed. All refunds were made to customers within the same day as we do not normally deal with cash. It...More

Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

I don’t know why I keep going back. Rude staff, expensive food and snobby menu. You may as well go to riding cafe up the road. HOWEVER the bread is great. That’s all. If you like bread I recommend

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2024

We arranged a family get together on Saturday as we live in different areas and the teal was middle distance for all of us. I booked a table for 8-10 people and agreed that we would be there at around mid day.having said that the...group from Epsom arrived 45 minutes early, this was not a problem,they were seated at the table. They were not offered any drinks until we arrived , although I was advised in the email confirmation that they were busy with a large group it would have been nice to offer a drink whilst waiting. When we arrived we could see that it was very busy but well staffed to cope,nice clean cafe well presented staff very welcoming. We placed our order with a really charming member of staff and nothing was too much trouble. When the food arrived we were all very happy with the quality, obviously top notch ingredients well prepared and delivered to our table hot and at the same time. Now I have seen the reviews about it being very expensive, if you want to compare it to a road side burger van then you will find it expensive. If you enjoy good quality food in a professional clean environment served by friendly well presented staff then this is the place for you, it may be a little more expensive than some other places but you really do get what you pay for , I would recommend that you treat yourself to a trip to this wonderful cafe ,if you enjoy goog food you will not be disappointedMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Golding, Owner at Teal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2024

Thank you so much for visiting Teal Cafe and for your wonderful review. We very much appreciate the feedback and I will make sure all the staff see your review. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Reviewed 21 December 2023

My Husband and I had limited time to have breakfast and decided to pop down to Teal. As always we were served promptly and the food was lovely. Emily and the team were polite, friendly and professional. 100% recommend

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2023 via mobile

Delicious smashed avocado and feta muffin today. Beautifully prepared and presented- shout out to chef Sam in the kitchen! Thank you!

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2023

The Teal cafe is close to our home and a regular spot for my wife and I to share lunch or a cup of coffee. The food is great, the pastries tempting and the service friendly and personal. We were served today by Freya who...could not have been more helpful, bringing our food really quickly, providing extra water for my teapot and attentively clearing our table as we finished with plates. She told us that she is studying to be a doctor - I suspect she will be a good one! In the meantime, best wishes for your A levels, Freya, and thanks for making our lunch so special!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teal Cafe, Marketing at Teal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2023

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for praising Freya. I will pass on your supportive and kind words. Thank you.

Reviewed 12 December 2023

Emily has a committment to service second to none. She always places the customer first. She was attentive and we were served delicious, freshly prepared food made from quality ingredients. Whenever I pass, I always call into Teal for a warm welcome and a great...meal.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Golding, Owner at Teal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2023

Thank you very much for the teriffic review. I will pass on your lovely comments to Emily.

Reviewed 10 December 2023 via mobile

Delicious pancakes and sunshine smoothie- very friendly service. Really lovely place for a chilled out Sunday breakfast

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Golding, Owner at Teal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2023

I am so glad you enjoyed the pancakes and smoothie. Thank our for the lovely review.

Reviewed 16 November 2023

Very expensive , for a cafe , regardless of quality of ingredient, I’m guessing my eggs came from the kings private collection for that price for 2 with 1 slice of bread . Whole menu is expensive . Would not recommend .More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teal Cafe, Marketing at Teal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2023

We are sad that you feel our prices are ‘very expensive for a cafe’. We try our best to price our food and drinks in line with other eateries in the area - particularly those that source fresh, high-quality produce from local suppliers. The fact...More

Reviewed 11 November 2023

Visited late Saturday morning when it was extremely busy. We were seated quickly, served drinks promptly, there was a little wait for the food but not unacceptable. Cooked breakfast was lovely with crispy bacon as requested! Staff all very friendly. If there was any negative...it would be that they no longer accept cash payments.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teal Cafe, Marketing at Teal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2023

Many thanks for your lovely review. We appreciate the feedback.

Reviewed 5 November 2023

Terrible service. Don’t go with toddlers as you’ll be there for at least 45 mins before you even receive a drink! We arrived after having booked a table and stood at the door for 10 mins before we just decided to go and ask why...we had to queue with those who hadn’t booked. Then we got a table finally and ordered drinks. Didn’t receive our drinks until 35 mins later. Food came 15 mins after that. Although fresh, the wait was just too long. To add to that, the place is loud like a Wetherspoon and understaffed. Terrible terrible first experience and we definitely won’t be back.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teal Cafe, Marketing at Teal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2023

I am sorry you did not have a good first experience and that the service was much slower that we normally achieve. We do get a bit hectic at weekends so apologies once again that we did not meet our usual excellent customer service.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Rose And Crown Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
709 reviews
3.93 miles away
Donnington Manor Hotel
758 reviews
5.01 miles away
Salomons Estate
376 reviews
6.02 miles away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, an IHG Hotel
750 reviews
7.00 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Cinnamon Square
435 reviews
1.76 miles away
The Windmill
429 reviews
1.06 miles away
The Half Moon
37 reviews
2.02 miles away
Giacomos
529 reviews
.58 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ightham Mote
1,373 reviews
2.88 miles away
Riverhill Himalayan Gardens
488 reviews
.74 miles away
Knole - National Trust
1,257 reviews
1.85 miles away
Knole Park
117 reviews
2.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mah18632016
16 December 2018|
Answer
Response from shahinshak |
We will be closed on Christmas day 25th, Boxing day 26th and the 27th. We will also be closed on New years day 1st.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TEAL CAFE, Sevenoaks - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Teal Cafe

Yes, Teal Cafe offers takeaway services.

Yes, Teal Cafe is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Teal Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5