We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penhelig Arms

££ - £££, British,
27-29 Terrace Road, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
+44 1654 767215
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good27%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“sea bass” (11 reviews)
“scallops” (12 reviews)
“pizza” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27-29 Terrace Road, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of 7 of us on an international family reunion chose wisely. The Penhelig did not disappoint. Interesting lunchtime menu and friendly welcome and service. Food and portion size was spot on. Fish finger sandwich was a hit. Real ale and house wine got...More

Thank Hawen12
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Hawen12, Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your lunch visit to us. We hope we can welcome you all back soon. Many Thanks Nicola & The Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

met with friends who where staying there,the ale was very good and the bar snacks where excellent. rooms a bit close to the railway.

Thank bobthegardener2016
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for your lovely review, we hope next time we can tempt you with a meal in our fishermans bar or restaurant! We hope to welcome you back to the Penhelig. Many Thanks Nicola & The Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite having a very small selection the choice & quality of these sandwiches was excellent. We often have lunch out at Gastro Pubs & think you would go a long way to beat the quality of these.

Thank Mark D
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Mark D, Thank you for your lovely review, it's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our sandwich selection. We hope to welcome you back soon! Many Thanks Nicola & The Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in for lunch very good fixed price lunch which is leagues above its price will be returning next time we are here

Thank Dave C
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Dave C, Thank you for your lovely review, It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us, looking forward in welcoming you back soon! Many Thanks Nicola & The Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quick morning stop mid-walk. Slick service, though didn't offer to bring coffee outside to our table. Seats across the road and traffic. Coffee ok but not great.

Thank David C
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello David C, Thank you for your review, it's great to hear the service was slick, our team are always available to help where they can. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Many Thanks Nicola & The Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We usually have lunch at Penhelig when we visit Aberdyfi, and have not been disappointed We opted for the fixed price lunch.. My husband really enjoyed the whitebait starter, which was a generous portion, unlike some other places. He also enjoyed good quality sausages main...More

Thank Angela W
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Angela W, Thank you for your lovely review, It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit to us for Lunch. We hope to welcome you back soon! Many Thanks Nicola & The Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to give this place a try. The restaurant was nicely set up, tables not to close together, slate place mates, clean and sparkling cutlery and glasses - all good for a first impression. We sat down and had literally picked up the drinks menu...More

2  Thank Nigel33077
penhelig, Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nigel, Many thanks for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your meals with us and I'm sorry to hear of the issues you had, we appreciate all feedback and your comments have been taken on board, and I apologise for the rushed start to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been visiting the Penhelig Arms for well over thirty years, once or maybe twice a year We booked for evening meal earlier this week and were really looking forward to it. On arrival, we were told that there was no table available for...More

1  Thank Janstake
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Janstake, Thank you for your review, It's disappointing to hear you had a disappointing evening with us recently. I would firstly like to apologies for this. I shall be investigating your issue with our team, and working with the kitchen team to resolve any...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

food and service were superb ! Returned 12 months later after coming for first aberdovey visit with family last year . Cozy romantic vibes in the evening !

Thank Aterry56881
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Aterry56881, Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your visit to us. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Many Thanks Nicola & The Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very well appointed pub/hotel with friendly staff and exceptionally good food - but the visit was pretty much ruined for us by the wait of getting on for an hour for our meals. At the end, there was even a queue to pay, with the...More

2  Thank Flatbackfour
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Flatbackfour, Thank you for your review, it's lovely to hear that you found your overall experience a pleasant one, and apologies for your hours wait for your meals. I take every bit of feedback very seriously, and will take you comments on board. I'm...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Penhelig Arms
753 reviews
.00 miles away
The Harbour Hotel
3 reviews
.17 miles away
Trefeddian Hotel
530 reviews
1.31 miles away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
318 reviews
3.84 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Sea Breeze
431 reviews
.50 miles away
The Sweet Shop
130 reviews
.26 miles away
Medina Coffee House
232 reviews
.14 miles away
Coast Deli & Dining
249 reviews
.37 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Aberdovey beach
94 reviews
1.35 miles away
Talyllyn Railway
638 reviews
3.45 miles away
Aberdovey Golf Club
97 reviews
.91 miles away
Halo Factory Shop
195 reviews
3.55 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Annemarieowen
16 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Fattygobbler | Reviewed this property |
No, it's only a five minute walk at most but there is no pavement in places.
0
Votes
SusanKor
16 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Dianne7342 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, definitely in bar area. Enjoy!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27-29 Terrace Road, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Snowdonia National Park  >  Aberdovey
  • Phone Number: +44 1654 767215
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing