We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro - CLOSED

1 Queens Parade, Bangor BT20 5AG, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9147 3373
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good19%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
5 Oct 2013
“what a dissapointment”
11 Dec 2012
“Keep going back”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, African, Barbecue, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Queens Parade, Bangor BT20 5AG, Northern Ireland
More restaurants in Bangor
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had a voucher for 2 course meal last friday though we had a dessert and cofffee - my friend and i went for her birthday - she had lived in south africa for many years - we both were delighted - food was very good,tasty,different...More

2  Thank libbyCoAntrim
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We were here last Saturday night, I had the rib eye steak, it was cooked perfectly! So tasty, and my wife had the avacado chicken risotto. Was delicious! The staff were great aswell, very helpful and friendly Its definatly a must to go back again...More

2  Thank mike680
Reviewed 17 April 2012

It has been a while since we last visited and we weren't disappointed. When I booked they even asked if I had seen one of the latest deals. Friendly staff, great range of food and service to match. Added bonus is that you can take...More

1  Thank Cats_123
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Didn't expect it Lke that with the all African scene. Was a treat. I had the chowder which was to die for and My wife had the chicken kebabs to start. Wow! Mains were steak and the safari special. It was out of this world...More

1  Thank Afrcanboy
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had a very good meal here even though they where very busy service was excellent. Friendly staff. Husband had the crocodile which was an experience, I had the salmon which was cooked to perfection. This was my second visit and yes I would come...More

1  Thank Des & Carol
redberrycoffee, Owner at Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal at Phezulu. Apologies for the cold draft, sometimes depending on the wind direction from the sea we do get the odd wind that blows in from our...More

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Love this place because of the interesting dishes: had ostrich meat for the 1st time! and all courses were delicious. Was a bit pricy for the value though. The ambience was fantastic!More

1  Thank oconnor_88
redberrycoffee, Owner at Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your ostrich. With regards to price the Safari meats do work out a bit more expensive, unfortunately this is due to the current restrictions on availability. We do hope that the restrictions will...More

Reviewed 31 March 2012

Was here with wife tonight, had to write a review because it was such a fantastic meal, had mozzarella garlic bread for start and crocodile with amazing potatoes, wife had chicken skewers and a sirloin which was marinated beautifully, 5 stars all round, cant wait...More

1  Thank NeilAicken
redberrycoffee, Owner at Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you kindly

Reviewed 27 March 2012

The food was pretty good but after I visited the toilet I wouldn't come back here.More

1  Thank h0lidaydiva
redberrycoffee, Owner at Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your food at Phezulu. With regards to the toilets we clean them on a regular basis throughout the day and evening to ensure they are always clean and hygienic. I can only assume that you...More

Reviewed 11 March 2012

We have been here before and enjoyed our meal. The menu has changed and it not as exciting. They previously offered ostrich and other south african meats. We had a starter of a platter to share. It was quite greasy and nothing special. I had...More

Thank Joynel
redberrycoffee, Owner at Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback. With regards to the meats being absent from the menu I can assure you it is not by choice, unfortunately due to ongoing EU restrictions on the importation of exotic meats from Africa we are simply unable to obtain a...More

Reviewed 7 March 2012

I visited Phezulu last weekend and must say, having never been before I was very impressed. One of my friends that I went with had been before with her husband and highly recommended we try it, and we thoroughly enjoyed it...especially as it was bring...More

Thank Anne S
redberrycoffee, Owner at Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you kindly for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your meal with us. With reference to the Amarula we did indeed run out due to a higher than expected demand for Sundaes that weekend, it must have been the sunshine. Thank you, we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Rabbit Rooms
328 reviews
.11 miles away
KooK Bangor
85 reviews
.10 miles away
Bebe Adrianos Mexicanos
23 reviews
.09 miles away
The Red Berry Coffee Co
169 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bangor Castle Walled Garden
266 reviews
.73 miles away
Pickie Family Fun Park
216 reviews
.28 miles away
Ward Park
68 reviews
.29 miles away
North Down Museum
65 reviews
.44 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$16 - US$32
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Queens Parade, Bangor BT20 5AG, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Bangor
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9147 3373
Description
At Phezulu we are privileged to have the opportunity to create menus & recipes that showcase our own fusion of local taste & preference with traditional & modern South African flavours. With our core emphasis on Braaing (barbecueing) all our meats we strive to produce exciting flavoursome dishes that appeal to both South Africans & locals alike. A blend of carefully selected authentic South African ingredients with local fresh produce allows us to produce unique dishes that are full of character & flavour. Phezulu is located in the heart of Bangor in a prestigious landmark building above The Red Berry Coffee Company. Once you step inside Phezulu the sights and sounds will make you feel like you have been transported to the heart of Africa. At Phezulu we strive to give you an all round South African experience offering you an insight into authentic cuisine and even a selection of exotic meats such as Ostrich, Springbok, Crocodile & Zebra. For those of who prefer to play it safe we offer a variety of dishes that are sure to please - including our tasty Peri Peri chicken and our flavoursome seafood chowder.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing