We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Heart

Is this your business?
Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
+44 1454 774392
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“sticky chicken” (13 reviews)
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“sea bass” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

A menu with so many items is always a worry but many of the dishes sounded good. Unfortunately, our food was average at best and not really worth the extensive wait. A let-down given the attractive interior and friendly staff.

1  Thank Chris F
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Chris F, we are disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at The Golden Heart. We hope you will give us another chance so you can experience the high levels of service and food we aim for.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This pub has had a makeover and we were very impressed. Brilliant menu choice including good selection for me as a vegetarian. Lovely decor. Friendly waiting staff and most importantly super food. I rarely rate 5 stars but they certainly deserved it. Mini puds with...More

1  Thank Pauline F
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Pauline F, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! I will pass on your positive comments to the team. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We live local and would visit the pub every other week for a bite to eat or drink. We have done this before the refurb and a few times since it has re opened. I have to say our last visit was just awful. I...More

1  Thank hollyrosborne
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Hollyrosborne, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. With the recent beautiful weather we were fairly busy towards the end of last week. For...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well done chef, lovely bit of grub coming from a chef too. All the staff are lovely and helpful, service was great and with a lovely atmosphere. And Zoey on the bar makes an outrageously delicious cocktail. Go on golden heart, absolutely smashing it.

Thank Tim C
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this was our first visit after a recent refurb and we were pleased they had not lost the cosy feeling or the odd intimate corner whilst opening up the dining area , loved the new colours too , very efficient and warm welcome allowed time...More

Thank dressurdiva
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi dressurdiva, Firstly thank you for taking the time to review us. Secondly thank you so much for your 5* review and your very kind words. We have all been working very hard since our reopening to make every experience at The Golden Heart the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited today and were so disappointed after visiting countless times and celebrating lots of special occasions there. The refurbished look is nice but obvious they are aiming for quantity over quality. For a Saturday lunchtime I was surprised how empty the pub was. one...More

Thank Kelly P
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kelly P, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We hope you are willing to give us another chance. Please reach out to us at 01454 774392 so we can...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my second visit here and I have to admit I much preferred the atmosphere before they refurbished. The new bar is overwhelming in a pub with such character and the choice of colours make it feel quite stark. I preferred it when it...More

Thank Kate A
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kate A, Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food you enjoyed. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Golden Heart Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our first visit since the refurb and we enjoyed it just as much. More contemporary decor coupled with the same delicious food and great service. Thoroughly enjoyed the crispy duck salad and the lamb koftas.

Thank Bravo T
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Bravo T It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to us we do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Golden Heart Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Birthday Meal with table booked in advance, good menu to select from and we were all delighted with our food and friendly waitress and bar service. Sign up for the emails updates and revive tempting offers for your next visit.

Thank Barbara S
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind review and 5* rating. We do hope to see you again soon Kind Regards The Golden Heart Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wouldn’t normally write a review based on looks but I am quite litrally heart broken. This was once a lovey, cosey inn to eat and drink. However they have ripped out what was a traditional bar and replaced it with something that belongs in...More

Thank Artbenco
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Artbenco, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at The Golden Heart since our refurbishment. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Winterbourne Hotels
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
651 reviews
1.11 miles away
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton
1,333 reviews
2.13 miles away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
717 reviews
2.33 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
794 reviews
2.86 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The White Horse
131 reviews
1.04 miles away
Avenue Cafe
136 reviews
1.51 miles away
Crown Inn
70 reviews
1.19 miles away
The Rising Sun Frampton Cotterell
87 reviews
1.45 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Viaduct Animal Sanctuary
10 reviews
.65 miles away
The Rising Sun
35 reviews
1.49 miles away
Pirate Bay Adventure Golf
75 reviews
1.90 miles away
Frenchay Village Museum
9 reviews
2.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Golden Heart staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Winterbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 774392
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing