We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Heart

) #3 of 11 Restaurants in Winterbourne ££ - £££ , British,
Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
+44 1454 774392
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (11 reviews)
“sea bass” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 130 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2016

Wow ,Winterbourne has changed since I was last here 15 years ago! A family visit took us to this fine establishment and gastro pub and I was not disapointed. In fact I have now been back there 3 times the food is so good. The...More

Thank silkfunkybrit
Shari B, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

We're so pleased we have made such a good impression on you and thank you for your review. Our chefs will appreciate that they're hard work is paying off and we hope to see you even more in the future as our menu changes.

Reviewed 6 July 2016

I booked a meal for 16 people for my wifes birthday, as it was a special meal I orginised a cake & some balloons to be taken to the restaurant the staff couldn't do enough to help by decorating the tables & walls with banners...More

Thank Ken S
Shari B, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you very much for your kind words and smiley face! We're so glad you had such a good time and you're always welcome here at the Golden Heart :)

Reviewed 4 July 2016

Making the long drive down to Cornwall, we decided in was important to stop and eat somewhere good and take a proper break. With a little advance planning and a few wrong turns on the day, we turned up at the Golden Hart in need...More

Thank GAnnMary
Shari B, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We're so pleased we made such a positive impact on what sounds like a long day for you and we will hopefully see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 July 2016

Had a nut roast that was very rich but absolutely delicious. It came with roast potatoes, carrots, greens, yorkshire pudding and gravy. My only criticism is that there weren't enough vegetables. My friend had the fried halloumi which came with chunky chips and pea puree...More

Thank Lindyloo128
Shari B, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your kind words regarding your visit. We're sorry you felt there wasn't enough vegetables with your meal, please feel free to ask for more on your next visit and we will be happy to oblige. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 3 July 2016

We met for a small family gathering on a Saturday lunchtime. Mentioned to Mario that the badges on the pumps needed cleaning. Straightaway, he got his barman to clean them and got him to Brasso the pumps. Genuinely seemed to appreciate constructive criticism and understood...More

Thank Neill N
Shari B, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback and we're so pleased we made such a good impression on you. Jon does take pride in his work as do all of us and he will be happy to hear you kind words. We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 30 June 2016

We visited here for an evening meal whilst in the area. We were drawn to the pub by the attractive online menu. Although reviews on here are mixed, we thought that we would give it a go. We were welcomed on arrival and things seemed...More

1  Thank johnny-glen
Shari B, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thank you for your kind words about our pub and we would like to offer our sincere apologies regarding the issues with your meals. Had you mentioned it to us at the time we would have tried to rectify them but I apologise again that...More

Reviewed 28 June 2016

Had a family meal here recently, a group of ten. Most of the group had a reasonable meal although a bit over priced. I was unsure what to have but decided on the belly of pork with scallops, £4.50 less if I did not have...More

Thank Leharve
Shari B, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thank you for you feedback and we're very sorry you were disappointed with your experience. Unfortunately the size of our scallops vary and are served according to weight which is why you were served several smaller scallops. Had you mentioned it at the time we...More

Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Excellent food, excellent staff. We were not disappointed. Service was excellent. Very friendly staff and the food was lovely. Didn't book a table but managed to fit myself and my daughter in. Highly recommend!

1  Thank Jo L
Shari B, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback, it has been passed on to the team and is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 23 June 2016

Visited the pub for the first time last week, heard about some good reviews so thought I would give it a chance. We were not disappointed at all. A really lovely surroundings and inside was just as good. Plenty of room for the kids to...More

Thank Bigboysteven
Shari B, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thank you very much for your kind words. The feedback has been passed on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 22 June 2016

Came here for fathers day and had a lovely warm welcome and a gift for the dads which was a thoughtful touch. Considering it was fathers day and they were busy, the food was generally good. However, 3 of us had beef and apart from...More

Thank jillyw53
Shari B, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thank you for your kind words regarding your visit on father's day and we're very sorry you weren't entirely happy with your beef dinners. Your feedback has been duly noted and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The White Horse
81 reviews
1.04 miles away
Avenue Cafe
108 reviews
1.50 miles away
The Swan Inn
77 reviews
1.28 miles away
The Rising Sun Frampton Cotterell
69 reviews
1.45 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Viaduct Animal Sanctuary
5 reviews
.66 miles away
The Rising Sun
32 reviews
1.44 miles away
Pirate Bay Adventure Golf
69 reviews
1.93 miles away
Acton Court
6 reviews
2.89 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Golden Heart staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Winterbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 774392
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing