We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plough & Flail Mobberley

Claimed
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
283
157
77
71
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
283
157
77
71
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea bass pudding steak pies ice cream sunday roast peas pastry plough flail the pub jw lees alpaca farm play area lovely setting off the beaten track specials board food was lovely
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the Plough & Flail for our 4 year old’s birthday lunch. There is colouring, dogs allowed in (to a small area) & ice in the drinks - what’s not to love? The service was friendly & attentive and the food was delicious. But...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank amt001
caroline_1986, General Manager at Plough & Flail Mobberley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thankyou so much for your review, we love to make our guests feel special especially when there is a birthday to celebrate! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I will pass on your comments to the team! Kindest Regards

Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

Met friends for a lunch time catch up! Atmosphere was poor and the place was cold which didn’t help! Service was poor and food was disappointing! Service wasn’t the best either and spoilt our outing!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Edith090
caroline_1986, Manager at Plough & Flail Mobberley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Edith090 Sorry to read your review if you could email at plough.flail@jwlees.co.uk with what day and time you came in and what was disappointing I can look into the matter thanks in advance Caroline Terrington

Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

Two adults one baby and a dog were made most welcome when we turned up for lunch. The food was tasty, the surroundings pleasant and the chef cooked the baby some salt-free vegetables when it turned out they weren’t able to defrost her food. We...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Earlybird37
caroline_1986, Manager at Plough & Flail Mobberley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Earlybird37, thank you for your 5* review. We always endeavour to all our guests needs and glad we could on this occasion we look forward to seeing you soon thanks

Reviewed 25 December 2018

Been coming to the Plough and Flail for years so decided to book for Christmas lunch and it didn’t disappoint, The staff were lovely, the food delicious throughout, quality crackers and great atmosphere. Couldn’t fault anything. Well done team P&F!!!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank RowyT
caroline_1986, Manager at Plough & Flail Mobberley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Hello RowyT Thank you for your kind words, I am glad you had a great Christmas day with us. We do love to see our regular guests throughout the week and special occasions so we look forward to seeing you again soon with you £10...More

Reviewed 22 December 2018 via mobile

We’ve eaten here several times before and never had any complaints. We went for lunch on a Saturday afternoon and I can safely say we will never be going back. The food was terrible. My husband had the fish and chips which were under seasoned...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank grindeljl
caroline_1986, Manager at Plough & Flail Mobberley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Hi grindeljl I am sorry to read your review about your current visit to us as you stated you have been several times before so must understand that this is not our usual service and food standards. If you would email me at plough.flail@jwlees.co.uk I...More

Reviewed 18 December 2018

Visited here on may occasions as far back as 1988.... always excellent in my experience.... friendly and good service!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Eventrnw
caroline_1986, Manager at Plough & Flail Mobberley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Hello Eventrnw Wow you have been coming for some years we love to hear stories from guest about when the pub was a lot smaller and the goings on back in the day! We hope to hear some more from you soon thanks Caroline

Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

Met some friends for a little dog walk and a spot of lunch at the P&F it was lovely - staff very attentiveMore

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Leanne123456789
caroline_1986, General Manager at Plough & Flail Mobberley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thankyou for your review we love to hear of your experiences with us! We actually hold a dog walking club on the 2nd Saturday of every month If you would like to book on please give us a call on the number given via our...More

Reviewed 6 December 2018 via mobile

I’d visited here a few months back and the food was delicious and I was keen to return. However this latest visit left me feeling embarrassed that I’d recommended it. The turkey dinner was most disappointing. It could have passed as a ready meal that...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Helen W
caroline_1986, Manager at Plough & Flail Mobberley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Hi Helen Sorry to read your recent review, we do get a lot of recommdations from our guest to others and really do thrive of it so it is upsetting to read that on this occasion you were embarrassed. I can assure you all our...More

Reviewed 26 November 2018

Booked for 1pm for my husband's 60th on Sunday 25th. on arrival shown to table had to wait for menus then ordered drinks which took a while, also ordered glass of tap water which we didn't get. Ordered starters which arrived quite fast, main meal...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Cath A
caroline_1986, Manager at Plough & Flail Mobberley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Hi Cath, Sorry to read your review, I have passed on the information to our chefs regarding portion size & waits. Drinks service again we have addressed with the team, we thrive of our Sunday trade and want to make sure our guest leave full...More

Reviewed 20 November 2018

Returned after a couple of years, with memories of a buzzing place, great service & amazing food. Sadly disappointed. It was a Saturday night & although fairly busy when we arrived, by the time we left (only 10.30pm) there was only one remaining table of...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dreamer51790123507
caroline_1986, Manager at Plough & Flail Mobberley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

HI Dreamer51790123507 It saddens me to read your review, our food and service is what we are all about and for this not to be up to standard on your visit I apologies. We do not tend to busy late on due to the dark...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
486 reviews
1.42 miles away
The Wilmslow Lodge
479 reviews
1.82 miles away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
331 reviews
1.93 miles away
Airport Inn Manchester
1,630 reviews
1.95 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6 nearby restaurants
Bird in Hand
36 reviews
.94 miles away
The Horse & Jockey, Wilmslow
45 reviews
.91 miles away
Bird in Hand
16 reviews
.94 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
White Peak Alpaca Farm
39 reviews
.08 miles away
Alderley Edge Woodland Walk
123 reviews
1.78 miles away
Quarry Bank
1,382 reviews
2.24 miles away
The Runway Visitor Park
925 reviews
2.68 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
n0umans
26 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bigemf | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Nouman. I think not.
0
Votes
HDay-Mayer
26 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Ellen M | Reviewed this property |
We didn't have a dog with us, so I can't answer this for you. They do have a large outdoor area that I'm sure by asking permission that you will be able to take pooch to eat with you. Make sure it's a fine day first so you... More
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing