The Three Tuns

The Three Tuns

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1223 891467+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 - 22:00
Mon
12:00 - 14:0017:00 - 22:00
Tue
12:00 - 14:0017:00 - 22:00
Wed
12:00 - 14:0017:00 - 22:00
Thu
12:00 - 14:0017:00 - 22:00
Fri
12:00 - 14:0017:00 - 22:00
Sat
12:00 - 22:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Bar, Asian, Thai, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
features
Can a gluten free person get a good meal at this restaurant?
CUISINES
Bar, Asian, Thai, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles301 reviews
Excellent
206
Very good
48
Average
25
Poor
9
Terrible
13
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Nat_WG95
Cambridgeshire4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
As we work locally, this is our local spot to visit for food. As always, we receive a friendly welcome from all the staff and the Head Chef, Oi. There's a good selection of drinks and a vast selection of delicious Thai food. The starters and main courses have such good portions, you always leave feeling full and know you're getting your money's worth here. We always try something different every time we come here, as there's so much tasty food to choose from. Would advise booking early if you have large tables or if you plan on going there on the weekends, as they tend to get busy very quickly. Thank you for such a lovely meal every time we come!
Written 28 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Valena18
London423 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
We have always loved this place and travel someway to go there. Last night was our first visit since lockdown and it was fully booked inside but outside too in the amzing self contained huts that they have introduced since Covid that have heating and music for you to operate. It was a very cold evening, so seeing the coal fire in the main bar was very welcome. The staff as always were helpful and friendly and the food starting with the basket of spicy crackers with a dish of peanut sauce with main dishes delicious. The Landlords have gone to great efforts to make this an enjoyable visit in spite of the restrictions that inevitably have to be in place now.
Written 27 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Louise
Cambridge6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 friends
Had a lovely meal with friends last week in one of the new huts. The huts are really pretty inside, and most importantly heated Two starters shared between us, sunshine beef and squid, both were really good. We all enjoyed our mains, very friendly staff especially as their job made more difficult with all the going in and out of pub to serve people in the huts. But as we are all living in difficult times, the Three Tuns have done an amazing job with the huts. Well done.
Written 19 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jacob M
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 none
The service is extremely poor. It took more than one hour for us to get the food after the order was placed. Front Staff is not managed properly and slow service which clearly demonstrates lack of professionalism and passion from service staff. Food was extremely of poor quality. and was very disappointing. We went with great hopes after seeing great reviews. I would not be visiting this place nor will recommend this place to any one. Please DO NOT go with high hopes as this is a family run business which is not managed professionally. Sorry for the honest feedback. Hope the owners make some changes to way how customers are treated and provide adequate training to service customers within reasonable time with good QUALITY FOOD.
Written 6 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
adotested
Thank you for your comments. We would like to assure you that all our staff were doing their best under these circumstances and are fully trained and on this particular night all staff were under extreme pressure. As you will remember the evening was extremely busy and you were not made to wait because of neglect and we hope that our customers are sympathetic to the pressures hospitality are under. As you have seen from previous reviews our food and service is normally 5 star and we can only apologise for your experience as not having a booking. We always recommend booking but we always try to accommodate everyone.
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Richard.
10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2020 couples
What a great idea to serve takeaway during this difficult time. Unfortunately our food wasn’t the best. The starters tasted like frozen bits you’d buy from a super market. The two mains we had to be fair were tasty but overall £31 for a starter and two mains I felt was over priced. They seemed like loverly people so I hope this was a one.
Written 1 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

leslee H
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
After having 2 holidays cancelled due to the Corona Pandemic, we were trying to arrange something special for our Anniversary, we booked up The Three Tuns, we had a warm welcome from staff and shown to the rooms they were lovely, with a supply of tea, coffee and biscuits. We had a wander around the village and back for drinks we sat in the little garden which overlooked the little huts for eating out they were really cute, definitely a must on a chilly evening or with friends. For our special meal we booked a table the Thai food was amazing something for all tastes, the staff were all helpful and accommodating to our needs and the breakfast was a great start to the day especially the sausages, we had a great little break and got to celebrate our special occasion would definitely go back, and take some friends along too. Thank you Chris Karen and Staff
Written 23 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jenny H
34 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 none
Having been on a local wine tour at Chilford Hall Vineyard with friends (which I would recommend), we booked 2 double rooms for the night. We arrived at the pub mid-afternoon and were greeted by a very friendly landlord who quickly sorted our drinks and we settled in a cosy lounge area. There is lots of outside seating with most of it being covered plus 4/5 individual summer houses where families/friends were enjoying their meals. Adjacent to these were our rooms, which were situated in what looked like an old barn with individual rooms side by side. The rooms have a large double bed, dressing table, tea/coffee making facilities and there is a decent size bathroom with quite a large shower. A perfect size and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed a lovely thai meal in the evening which was delicious and fell into our comfortable beds after a long day. We booked breakfast for 8am which was included in our B&B price and was a full English with tea/coffee etc. This too was delicious and set us up for the day. I would highly recommend this pub not only for the food, but also the accommodation. We will definitely be returning here in the future.
Written 19 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Montakarn W
Greater London14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 couples
We booked this B&B last minute with help from Amee who was on duty in a pub and B&B in Saffron Walden where we thought we might be lucky to get a room there after we approached her for any cancellations in her place. Unfortunately her hotel was fully booked, but she was very helpful trying to find a nearby vacancy for us to stay overnight, then she found this B&B the Three Tuns where she normally goes for Thai take away. We booked it and when we got there, it surprised us there was a cosy, lively pub and thai restaurant and B&B was tucked away in a little quiet village. It was very busy with full of local residents. The staff members there were friendly and helpful, the room was just what we needed, very clean and tidy and bed was very comfortable. Thai food there was authentic. We had a really good time staying there.
Written 29 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

NL18CW
United Kingdom6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022 friends
Very tasty Thai cuisine and drinks selection to match. Huge selection of dishes to choose from, cooked by the in house chef called Oi. The Duck spring rolls are home made and were extremely tasty, the beef Penang came with free rice. No parking on site but plenty in the area to set down whilst visiting. Will be back soon.
Written 17 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nick B
Norwich11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Lovely food, with plenty of choice and a very friendly chef, Oi, who comes out to chat to customers whether your new or a regular. Chris and Karen do an amazing job and managed well during Covid to keep a service going with takeaways. Can’t recommend them highly enough.
Written 14 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dick S
Cambridge323 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 friends
I visited this pub/restaurant with a group of friends. The ale is spot on and the landlord clearly takes great pride in selecting the correct beers. I like the "jug" idea especially when you are in a large group as we were. Easy to transport with minimal spillage! We all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The food is well cooked and portion size is generous especially the prawns. We ate in the coach house area which has been carefully designed to accommodate larger groups. The space is open at the front but covered and contains comfy seating and has very effective heating for those colder evenings.
Written 2 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lorraine G
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 family
Have always wanted to visit this venue as heard good reviews so went there for my birthday meal. I was not disappointed. Very quaint pub in Gt Abington. Lovely historic ambiance. We ate inside but they also have covered , heated outside areas. The food was lovely. We had a mixture of fish starters and then various curries. All the food was freshly prepared. The staff were friendly and very helpful. My son does not like some vegetables and as the curries are freshly prepared they were able to cook leaving them out. I had tempura prawns, Thai green curry and coconut ice cream. It was all really delicious and I highly recommend.
Written 16 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

BirchingtonMick2022
Ramsgate7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 couples
Staying in the village for three nights on our first night we visited the Three Tuns and were greeted with a friendly welcome, we ask if we could have a table for our evening meal no problem a comprehensive menu and a good selection of beers . Food selected it came beautifully presented and very tasty, staff attentive but not over the top. We had previously book before for Friday night again friendly welcome and excellent food , the added bonus was the live music playing in the garden were family’s were also enjoying all the Three Tuns had to offer. I would highly recommend a visit you will not be disappointed. My only regret is that I live so far away.
Written 7 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

gary h
Nottingham113 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 couples
We only dropped in as we were passing and stumbled across the best Thai food we have had, for a very long while. Piping hot, wonderfully fresh and crunchy veg, plentiful, great prices. The dishes were complete, no need to add rice, veg sides etc, a dish is a complete meal. The kind of place you want to keep a secret, I have no doubt we will take big de-tours on future trips to visit again, and again. We had the Green curry and stir fried chicken in chilli oil, fantastic.
Written 9 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Amanda B
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 couples
I took my partner here for a meal for her birthday, we searched a lot for somewhere under cover due to the current restrictions and unreliable British weather! The food was outstanding! Everything tasted really fresh and it was clearly all home made. Great value for money, the portions are huge! We ordered far too much food but ate as much as we possibly could! The cabins are great and it’s clear to see they’ve paid attention to detail, there are little speakers in the cabins with music playing so although it was just the two of us inside there was still a good atmosphere. The garden was reasonably busy but the service was still great. Generally couldn’t fault anything and when restrictions have eased further we’ll definitely be returning with family and friends.
Written 16 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 301
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE THREE TUNS, Great Abington - 75 High St - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

FlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire