We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Olde Bull Inn

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$20
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
7
14
9
9
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
7
14
9
9
18
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Not terrible, not great, can’t complain too much as it is what it is. Might give it another go soon.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Larry U
Reviewed 28 January 2018

After a lovely visit to the Roman Baths, this pub seemed ideal for lunch as it was next door. The welcome was frosty from the bar person who seemed to want to put us off eating there by saying they only had burgers. There were...More

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank fordhamfrank
Reynolds2408, General Manager at Olde Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hi, I thank you for your review as I believe we all can improve. My sincere apologies for your experience you had with us. I would firstly like to offer you a complementary round of drinks or meals (Friday-Saturday please book with myself) but more...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017

Called in quite early on a Tuesday evening with a friend. Sat down for a drink first, and didn’t want to risk food. The tables ( we tried 2 ) were sticky and dirty. The bar staff were miserable and inattentive. If I could score...More

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Jill P
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Fair pub grub and a nice place for a bar snack. There is a good menu choice and the staff are very friendly. The home cooked chips were lovely.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Mariaandjeff
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Came in for a drink and a snack, reasonably priced drinks and very good value for money with food. However, we waited for 50 minutes for 2 portions of chips! Ridiculously long time to wait for something so easy to produce. Nice enough staff and...More

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank 1shannonl
Reviewed 26 August 2017

After seeing the amphitheatre, museum, and baths, we were ready for lunch and decided to try the Olde Bull Inn. It was fairly quiet inside and we found a table easily enough. We ordered fish and chips and although we had to wait a fair...More

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Anne Louise T
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

This very old pub could be fantastic if it were managed properly. We were informed they had no real ale as they was a change of management! The food was awful. I had a cheese and ham toastie which didn't taste right which I put...More

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank TheArchers15
Reviewed 10 June 2017

We called here late afternoon after a very long trip from a holiday abroad. We hadn't eaten since a very early breakfast at our hotel in Italy. The sIgn outside said food was served all day and we enquired about this on entering the pub....More

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank marilynthomas142
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Travelled for an hour to get here for a family meal. We had previously had great food here so thought we'd revisit. We arrived at 12.30 signage outside said open from 12, doors locked. We phoned to ask when they would be open to be...More

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank Rayfrombrecon
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We called in April 2017 with my Mother to have lunch but the menu was uninspiring & the pub was dowdy and in need of refreshing.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank John M
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
735 reviews
.02 miles away
Celtic Manor Resort
6,546 reviews
1.05 miles away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
403 reviews
1.15 miles away
Holiday Inn Newport
646 reviews
1.37 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 25 nearby restaurants
The Snug Restaurant
439 reviews
.09 miles away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
613 reviews
.02 miles away
The Red Lion
313 reviews
.11 miles away
Curro's Restaurant
188 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 10 nearby attractions
Caerleon Roman Fortress and Baths
589 reviews
.01 miles away
Caerleon Amphitheatre
231 reviews
.52 miles away
National Roman Legion Museum
552 reviews
.05 miles away
White Hart Inn
11 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Howell J
29 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Rosemarie P | Reviewed this property |
yes, I agree. As we arrived, an elderly couple was just leaving after food. Nobody took any notice of us for a few moments, then took our order. I was flabagasted that there was no chips, as the menu stated everything with... More
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing