We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Zetland Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 High Street, Marske-by-the-Sea TS11 6JQ, England
+44 1642 483973
12:00 - 00:30
Open now
See all hours
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 00:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 55: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked very last minute for Mother's Day Lunch due to me having a frozen shoulder and not wanting to cook for my wonderful Mother in Law. Nothing was a problem they set up a reserved table in the Bar. Food was fresh and pipping hot, all the Staff were courteous and very helpful. Mother in Law even got a... More 

Thank RobbyBarneyBear
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Eat here fairly regularly. Sunday lunches to die for. Fresh meat and vegetables freshly cooked. Top service by smiling friendly staff. Reasonably priced. Booking essential. Wheelchair / disability friendly. I was so impressed I booked a party of 40* people for lunch-time meal in December and EVERYONE complimented me on choosing this venue. Excellent value for money. Highly recommend this... More 

Thank mbw031140
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Saturday teatime a couple of months back ... couple of pints and a bar meal, beer was nice unfortunately that couldn't be said for the food ... not sure if the kitchen part had been taken over but no excuse for a crap meal ... worse part was we weren't the only ones complaining and staff didn't really want to... More 

Thank Redlat
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, a little loud but with affordable prices. Warm and nicely decorated. Near the train station of Marske and two supermarkets. Special area for smokers with chairs and tables.

Thank Eleni T
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Visited recently for a family meal, and was very disappointed. The rump steak I was served wasn't rump, it was so thin, how that ever made it out of the kitchen I'll never know. More like a minute steak. The chicken in the Parmesan was about 3mm thick, and swimming in bechamel. Onion rings burnt so there was no moisture... More 

Thank Mark G
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Sunday family lunch for 6. Lovely roast lunch plus yummy desserts. All served very quickly with a smile and, as usual very good value for money.

Thank Babytazy
Amanda P, Owner at The Zetland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review so happy to hear our service and choices are top rate More 

Silkstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Called at the Zetland for a drink after returning from Saltburn on the train. We had our 2 dogs with us and were immediately offered water for them and the use of the pub dog bed to put in front of the lovely open fire. Although we didn't eat here we could hear people talking about how good the food... More 

Thank Debbie M
Amanda P, Owner at The Zetland Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the glowing review, we hope to see you again in the near future to perhaps try some of our fresh prepared food and maybe another dog bed so they dont have to share More 

Redcar, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Booked a table of 4 for 1.30 today. All had a Sunday dinner each and opted for a sweet each too. The dinner was a choice of been, pork, turkey and lamb for an extra £1. My husband and I had lamb and I had beef too. Our in-laws had beef each, we asked for Extra roasties as I am... More 

1 Thank Danielle G
Amanda P, Owner at The Zetland Hotel, responded to this review

Im so glad your Sunday dinner was enjoyed by all ill look into renaming the toffee crunch although we do have some customers have it with custard lol each to their own i guess Looking forward to seeing you again More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed at the hotel for a night, longer wouldn't have been bearable. We booked and payed through a travel agency and the first encounter we had with the owner, was that we had to call the agency regarding the paymen. In my opinion this is between the hotel and the agency... The room: Big, but, the sheets were dirty... More 

Thank Luc V
Amanda P, Manager at The Zetland Hotel, responded to this review

Appologies that your stay with us was not to your expectations. As to the bedding this was an oversight on my part as explained when i came to replace them i inadvertently placed the steam mop on the clean bedding after trying to remove a stain from the carpet and chairs. I have taken on board your comments and the... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016

We stayed here on Saturday night and as the title says we basically had a bed in a room, an unclean room at that. The room obviously had not been cleaned for a while, there was dust on the bed headboard and windowsills, the toilet had not been cleaned inside or out. Old Philips CRT TV in the corner, dust... More 

1 Thank jono127
Amanda P, Manager at The Zetland Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry your stay was not as expected The room had been cleaned before your stay as there was another couple in friday night with 2 small dogs i opened the window to air the room before your arrival. We had ran out of enveloped tea bags so rather than go without i got some from the kitchen they had only... More 

Travellers who viewed The Zetland Hotel also viewed

Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire

Been to The Zetland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$15
Bar, British, Pub
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 00:30
12:00 - 00:30
12:00 - 00:30
12:00 - 00:30
12:00 - 00:30
12:00 - 00:30
12:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 High Street, Marske-by-the-Sea TS11 6JQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Marske-by-the-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1642 483973
Friendly local with separate dining room for a more relaxed dining experience. Full family service choose from menu or specials boards

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Zetland Hotel and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Zetland Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?