We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Travellers Rest

££ - £££, British,
Tring Road | Dunstable, Bedfordshire, Edlesborough LU6 2EE, England
+44 1525 221841
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good28%
  • Average18%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (9 reviews)
“pudding” (15 reviews)
“onion rings” (7 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tring Road | Dunstable, Bedfordshire, Edlesborough LU6 2EE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We ate here recently as a Family and it was very nice. Open fires burning and good quality food made our evening both comfortable and memorable. Thank you - would recommend pre booking as it gets busy due to popularity I suspect.

Thank WS_K_1997
General Manager A, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Traveller's Rest, Edlesborough. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We hope to see you all again soon. Travellers Rest.

Reviewed 5 days ago

We decided to stop here for lunch after a walk in Ashridge. Unfortunately on entering the restaurant there was a sign to say they had no grill so menu limited. But can honestly say our four meals were absolutely delicious. Fresh well cooked and very...More

Thank Janet B
General Manager A, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Janet B, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Traveller's Rest, Edlesborough! We now have a brand new grill fitted, so you should pop down and try the rest of our menu. We look forward to seeing you soon =]

Reviewed 1 week ago

Exterior and interior of pub was very pleasant and inviting. Décor was authentic as was the furniture which was well set out. However, expected the food to be traditional but was disappointed. The pie looked amazing but was all pastry and not much inside. The...More

Thank D0llie
General Manager A, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. The meals you have described are our top favourites and best sellers so very shocked to hear these were not satisfying and puddings are never a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This pub looked nice and the food is cooked from fresh, so we were hopeful that this would be a pleasant lunch. No tables in restaurant free, so sat in bar area which was fine as we hadn't booked. Husband had mushrooms to start. They...More

Thank Sue B
General Manager A, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sue B, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. As you were dinning in the bar area you were not meal checked, which is the down fall as we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Table booked for 5.30pm. No roast dinners left except beef Which I choose .very slow food but that’s ok as we weren’t in a rush. Unfortunately when the beef arrived the vegetables were cold and the beef was so tough I couldn’t cut it! I...More

Thank nicolette1509
General Manager A, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Nicolette1509, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. In regards to availability on the menu we never know how long roast dinners will...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Sunday evening 6pm. No roasts left. I had the Hunters chicken and it was tough. Visited a Vintage Inn in Poole in September and the food and service was exceptional. Had hoped for the same experience hereMore

Thank lmlane2017
General Manager A, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Evening, we apologise for there being no roasts left on your recent visit. Unfortunately, roasts are subject to availability on a Sunday and we never know how long they will last due to the high volume of guests that visit throughout the day. Regarding the...More

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Service could have been a lot better.Sat there for twenty minuets then had to go and asked to be served. But food was good.

Thank bryaneastwood
General Manager A, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

We strive for 100% satisfaction, and we regret to find out that this was not the case. We hope to see you again in the near future to show you how good it is.

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Really good food, good service, reasonably priced. You'll need to be book if going on a Sunday as it gets busy

Thank James H
General Manager A, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

James H, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Traveller's Rest, Edlesborough!

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Best bacon and eggs I have ever had. Also good old Doom bar to wash it down. Served by Welsh Jenny who reminisced about life in Wales my father's home. Great lunch will return soon.

Thank bigchris2015
General Manager A, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 26 September 2017

Maybe a bit harse with the star rating Arrived at 7.30 pm. Party of 7, so not that busy then. I personally went for Sunday roast, so pre-ordered 2 roast meals 5 hours before, but ended up with a pie. We would go back ,...More

1  Thank martinduggan6
General Manager A, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. You'll be glad to know the pies are now on the fixed price menu for you to enjoy with a starter or pudding or even both for a cheaper price. Outside lights have...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion Dagnall
67 reviews
1.13 miles away
Old Hunters Lodge
78 reviews
2.18 miles away
Kings Head Restaurant
535 reviews
2.35 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ivinghoe Beacon
110 reviews
1.35 miles away
ZSL Whipsnade Zoo
2,578 reviews
1.62 miles away
Pitstone Green Museum
16 reviews
2.94 miles away
Mead Open Farm
443 reviews
3.58 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gill H
16 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Lee R | Reviewed this property |
I had the same issue on the 10th July
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tring Road | Dunstable, Bedfordshire, Edlesborough LU6 2EE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Aylesbury Vale  >  Edlesborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1525 221841
Description
The Traveller's Rest in Edlesborough is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing