We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Sicilian, Southern-Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (714)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
26
16
8
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
26
16
8
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuna steak antipasti salad wine list off the beaten track at lunchtime waitress alleyway island view steamed port
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Ai Gechi is a little tricky to find but if you follow the white Geckos along Via Roma you will find it. You need to book Ai Gechi to avoid disappointment as it is small and caters to slightly higher class that other restaurants on...the island. The staff are very welcoming and friendly on arrival even without a booking they will try to seat you, They have a large win selection from Italy and make some amazing recommendations to go with your dinner. The menu consists mainly of fish dishes of which we have had many, our favourite are the local Nassa Shrimp which are cooked perfectly and taste amazing. This hidden gem of strombolian cuisine is another must visit for a finer dining experience on Stromboli island, perfect for a date night. Only criticism is Ai Gechi is an expensive place to eat, far more expensive that other island catering establishments, BUT, it does offer a finer experience with awesome viewsMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonino Zaccone, Proprietario at Trattoria ai Gechi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are so sorry not have thank you for your appreciation last summer. Glad to read it today...it will boost us for the new season. Kind regards, Nino Zaccone

Reviewed 15 September 2023 via mobile

Nice setting, but very disappointing service, over priced and poorly prepared food, and a rude owner full of excuses. In the 6 weeks we were in Italy it was the worst meal and the only time we felt ripped off and annoyed.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonino Zaccone, Proprietario at Trattoria ai Gechi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2023

Same answer already given on Google. We regret not being able to explain the aspects that don't allow us to give a table for 8 to 3 people: it's a problem for the ongoing service (table to be cleared), for the cost to wash a...More

Reviewed 22 July 2023

Stay far away from that place ! We got shouted at by the owner only because we asked if we could change seats. The place what empty but the owner didn’t want to buldge, he got angry and started shouting after we tried to convince...him. It was quite scary, he had an anger in his eyes and seemed like he wanted to attack my mother. A terrible violent owner, stay away for your own safetyMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonino Zaccone, Proprietario at Trattoria ai Gechi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2023

Considering your reconstruction transcends the facts, I answer in favor of who reads about this dis-adventure. As I answered on Google, at least more quiet review, you did well to ask if it was possible to change table. It’s about pretense and insistence that I...More

Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

There are many places to choose from for a memorable meal in Stromboli, but we opted for Gecko as it was a little off the beaten track but still only a few minutes from the port. The food, beautifully marinated raw fish antipasti, wonderfully soft...swordfish and perfectly seared tuna steak did not disappoint in anyway and our waitress was very helpful in navigating an unfamiliar wine list to find a great accompaniment for us. Lovely atmosphere in the evening and a stunning view at lunchtime! Thank you to all the team.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aigechi, Proprietario at Trattoria ai Gechi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Fabulous guests! Thank you for your appreciation, you were in the best mood to appreciate the rare simplicity of our island and our food. We live in a wonderful place. A presto, Nino Zaccone and staff

Reviewed 15 July 2022 via mobile

A walk and several climbs up hilly alleyways to arrive to a comfy spacious restaurant The food was amazing! Starters was fresh chilled shrimps on a fennel salad. Shrimps were sweet and tender. I had the tuna steak and it was a very large portion....Delicious? Fresh and seared just right served simply with diced tomatoes and salad with dressing on the side My partner ordered swordfish, lightly grilled and again very fresh and delicious, The view was disappointing as this restaurant sits on the side of the volcanoMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aigechi, Proprietario at Trattoria ai Gechi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2022

Thank you for your appreciation! Best regards, Nino Zaccone & the crew

Reviewed 14 July 2022

This is one of the best restaurants I ate in during my recent six weeks in Sicily. It is located up a side alley and has an excellent view of the water. Don’t be intimidated by the elegant look, the prices are good. I ordered...the grilled tuna which was awesome, a tomato salad and a glass of local wine. Definitely worthwhile to check this restaurant out.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aigechi, Proprietario at Trattoria ai Gechi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2022

Thank you so much! Food, wine and view, we are so lucky to offer all of this to wonderful people who appreciate simple pleasure of life. Best regards, Nino & staff

Reviewed 25 June 2022

Majestic, genuine and romantic, at Ai Gechi you are in for a truly special experience. The seaview over Stromboli is majestic and pastoral, be it during lunchtime or dinner. The staff are welcoming, patient and friendly, wishing to please at all times. Seafood salad includes...very fresh muscles, calamari and shrimp. The highpoints of this restaurant are undoubtedly seafood pasta dishes. Prices are fair and local liqueurs complete a memorable experience. I was on the island for less than 48 hours and visited Ai Gechi twice.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aigechi, Proprietario at Trattoria ai Gechi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2022

Thank you for such memorable review which boost our engagement to give the best we can in this little island so challenging but wonderful. Best regards, Nino Zaccone and the Gechi's team

Reviewed 17 August 2020 via mobile

A very typical place to eat, they serve mainly seafood and pasta, the setting is charming... The owner is a true character, eager to advise you the best meal or wine for you! Folliwing this suggestion, my girlfriend and I shared a red prawn tartare...from Salinas Island and small prawns from Stromboli Island. It was by far the tastiest prawns we ever tried... The home made pasta was delicious, it’s clear it’s a place where the quality is the number one priority. The view is great, the fact that it’s a little up in town makes it a quiet and relaxing place. We tried to come back without reservation but they were victims of their reputation, it was all booked... If there is one place to go in Stromboli, I’d go there eyes closed!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aigechi, Proprietario at Trattoria ai Gechi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2020
Google Translation

Grazie mille del vostro apprezzamento, è stato un piacere avervi come ospiti. A presto, Nino Zaccone

Reviewed 8 October 2019

Was with the same group of 12 referred to in other review. Echo what was said, an owner/manager who did not want us there, took 20/25 minutes even to be asked if we wanted a drink. Manager rude to customers, an aggressive approach, refused to...give olive oil unless we paid 18 euros per bottle - this is Italy(?). Got order wrong and then having served starters to some proceeded to bring out next course for rest of the group. When all had finished that course, the ones who ordered starters, then waited another 30 minutes for their next course. Appalling service and attitude to customers. Don't risk it unless perhaps you are a couple where possibly the rude & aggressive manager might be able to cope with your order.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2019

We dined here with 12 people. Great location and decor But- The owner who was also the waiter was particularly rude and uninterested. Even disdainful appearing to say, "how dare you come to eat in my restaurant." We were not approached at all for 20-25...minutes after sitting down. He addressed us in turn around the table whilst taking our order as "you, you, you " and so on. Definitely no sir or madam. He refused to bring bread, olive oil and balsamic vinegar saying this was best quality and would cost an extra E18. Other nearby tables did get this service which is a standard in most of Italy at no charge. He came back 2-3 times to correct the orders which he got wrong. The meals were served over about the next hour or more with courses arriving at widely different times for each diner. For example dishes of grilled vegetables, which were very ordinary, were served to some of us 55 minutes after the main course and all dishes had been cleared away. The servings were only adequate definitely not generous. There was no house wine available. There was confusion over the nature of some of the dishes and he offered no assistance in informing diners of the nature of the dish and no redress or apology when something unexpected arrived on the plate. Prices were fair. In short a poor experience for a nice looking restaurant that could have been so much more in such a fascinating place.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2019 via mobile

The setting is nice, the food is ok but overpriced for what you get. The service made us feel uncomfortable: we had to defend our choices from the menu as the waitress continuously suggested what to get instead in a rather pushy and condescending way....The dishes where unnecessarily pretentious as when you change a classic dish to make it more refined but you end up obtaining a worse version of the original. We were hoping to have a nice dinner out but left feeling disappointed by the bad vibes of the restaurant.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aigechi, Proprietario at Trattoria ai Gechi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Hi, your Tripadvisor account is very strange: created in 2010, but only 1 contribution (about our restaurant). Your comment is written the 1st of september and you fill september as period of your visit. Unfortunatelly not so many tourists are on the island in this...More

Reviewed 3 July 2019

We had dinner there during a visit to Stromboli. The staff there took good care of us. We had a whole fish as the centerpiece and a very good wine. Nice, relaxed setting with good service and excellent food.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

What can I say about the people running this place amazing. If only half the restaurants in Stromboli could come and learn from them. We had a mixed seafood entree which was ok (mussels were the best) then we tried a grilled fish of the...day but opted against the steamed which we had on another night in a different restaurant (amazing). The grilled was not as tasty but it was still nice but a little bland. Mum has a pistachio pesto pasta which was delicious and we finished off with a chocolate cake to share which was nice but very small. Hidden a bit off the Main Street but worth the visit.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2019 via mobile

Tucked away above the centre of Stromboli, is this relaxed but attractive place, with sea views, and a great menu. Everything is home-made, and the service is very convivial - the waitresses the evening we went were from Sardinia and Messina - Both were charming...and friendly. My spaghettini was perfect and delicious, as was my (very generous) tuna steak, which was cooked to perfection! All washed down by a lovely house Grillo!More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Delicious. The homemade pasta and the flavours were soo good. Try the smoked salmon pasta, highly recommend it!

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
772 reviews
.18 miles away
La Locanda del Barbablu
70 reviews
.19 miles away
Hotel Miramare
210 reviews
.35 miles away
La Sirenetta Park Hotel
377 reviews
.35 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Da Giovanni Ristorante Pizzeria
864 reviews
.07 miles away
L'angolo Del Pesce Di Riccardo Utano
51 reviews
.61 miles away
Ristorante Punta Lena
602 reviews
.37 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Centro Visitatori INGV
75 reviews
.18 miles away
Chiesa di San Vincenzo
65 reviews
.17 miles away
Spiaggia Nera
5 reviews
.23 miles away
Chiesa delle Anime del Purgatorio
86 reviews
.37 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Trattoria ai Gechi staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TRATTORIA AI GECHI, Stromboli - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Trattoria ai Gechi

Yes, Trattoria ai Gechi is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Trattoria ai Gechi is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5