We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Rose Cottage is situated in the Rufford Forest area, minutes away from Center Parcs, Rufford Abbey, Clumber Park and Sherwood Forest. We pride ourselves on serving fresh home-cooked food with outstanding service in unique surroundings – all sourced from quality local suppliers. We offer a classic coffee menu, a fantastic range of draught lagers, bottled ciders, real ales and a fine selection of wines.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (1,363)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,362 results
Traveller rating
652
256
136
141
177
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
652
256
136
141
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb shank salmon sunday roast cake alice in wonderland theme rufford park sherwood forest center parcs lovely meal lovely pub family meal my mum be visiting again veg
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good nice pub but very very expensive drinks are charged at London prices shame because it’s a nice pub location great for centre parcs

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Arr we charge below centre parcs prices and other pubs in the area, sorry if you felt over priced.but glad you enjoyed your visit.xx

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited the area many times and have often thought how lovely the Rose cottage looked so this time as we were visiting the area with family we decided to book a table in the evening. When we arrived we had a lovely greeting...and were showed to our table. The décor is 'Alice in Wonderland' style and was really nice and done to a very high level. I had the sausage and mash and everyone else had fish and chips. I have to say the food was amazing and the three that had fish and chips said they were the best they had had in a very long time. We were going to have deserts but the portions are a very good size so couldn't manage it. As we enjoyed the visit so much we went back two nights later, this time I had the fish and chips to see how good they were, another had them again and then two had the lasagne. Once again, amazing is all can be said and sadly once again no room for desert. All the food is cooked fresh so sometimes you may have to wait but it is worth it. I can't recommend the Rose Cottage enough and am only disappointed it took us so long to visit! We will definitely be going back, even if it is just to try the deserts!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Amazing to hear thank you so very much we really do appreciate your review and hope you come back and visit us again soon 😀

Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a table and stayed in the overspill carpark in our motorhome overnight. We are in this very dog friendly pub (staff gave our dog lots of attention and treats). I had the fish and chips, my partner had a burger. Amazing food and...staff were so attentive and professional. Overall a fantastic night and looking forward to returning.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so very much your amazing review does mean alot to us here at the rose cottage. We do hope you come back soon 😀

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed after hearing all the praises & reading the good comments. We only had the fish or lack of fish pie after being recommended, this came after a 50 minute wait yes it was hot but not worth the wait or money. It’s been...a long time since our last visit and will be a long time before our next.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm so very sorry, did you speak with our staff regarding this, we do get extremely busy and we do cook everything to order so wait times can at time be longer than expected which you shoukd of been made aware off on entering the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

25 members of dukeries U3a visited today. We were extremely well looked after by staff who even did a special desert when I t told them one of our group was celebrating her 92nd birthday. Apart from two minor hiccups due mainly to member’s choices...we had a most enjoyable day. And many said they look forward to next time. Thank you to Neil ,Hazel and all the staff. Beryl lee Group leaderMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much Beryl it's so nice to accommodate you all, hopefully we can get a 5 stars from you on your next visit. Look forward to hosing your group again xx

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband booked for us both and my brother in law and his wife for dinner on Friday all I can say if it’s not broke don’t change it. Absolutely lovely atmosphere, great food fabulous staff nothing to much trouble for them especially the very...tall young man, he cared for his customers and our small dog. We went again for Sunday dinner, busy but still great. We will be going again. Thank you.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so very much jayden is our newest addition to our team and we love him already, we are very pleased you enjoyed both visits with us and we hope you come back soon 😀

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yet again another fantastic meal and the staff go above and beyond to make your experience the best. We dined here for the second time in a week while staying at Sherwood Pines as we were so impressed with the place. The dinner we had...on the first visit was amazing so booked straight away for the Sunday roast which too, was fantastic. We will definitely rebook when we next visit the area!!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow thank you so very much we really appreciate your review and hope you come back soon, our staff are very unique and very friendly, we try our best to make sure everyone that walks through the door gets a good experience 😊

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely place. We went for Sunday lunch. The atmosphere was good the staff attentive and friendly and wow they are very dog friendly, even offer doggy Sunday dinner

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Amazing to hear thank you so much for your review it means alot to our team and we hope you come back and visit us again soon 😀

Reviewed 12 January 2024 via mobile

We visited for Sunday lunch and it was superb. I love a Sunday lunch and rarely go out for them because I always find them a bit disappointing! This one was great. Both me and my partner thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the service we...received was also spot on. Can’t wait to come back!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2024

Amazing to have great feed back we really work hard to make all our customers visits a great experience we really appreciate it and we hope you come back and visit us again soon 😀

Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal today. The fish pie was delicious. Also service from Karin was really friendly and helpful regarding menu knowledge as we had a celiac in are party. So we'll done to her.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

Thank you so very much we really appreciate your review, karin is amazing and has just come back from maternity so she will be made up, we hope you visit is again in the very near future 😀

Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

Highly recommend Great visit, Lovely Food and friendly staff. We will definitely be Dining here again. Well done to all

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

Thank you so very much, we are so very grateful for your review and hope you come back and visit us again soon 😊

Reviewed 6 January 2024

Had a beautiful meal here tonight.. Attentive and friendly staff.. Food was lovely., cooked to perfection.. Thankyou ❤️xx

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

Thank you so very much we really appreciate your review and hope you come back and visit us again soon 😊

Reviewed 27 December 2023

Friendly efficient staff during a very busy Boxing Day late afternoon meal. However the quality of the food wasn't great. The lamb shank shepherds pie tasted as if the whole salt cellar had been poured into it & the meat was very tough. Inedible! Cold...vegetables for everybody too. Not a great experience but do like the atmosphere and generally the food when visiting here.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2023

Shame no one said anything also no food left from your table, We do a check back to rectify any issues, the lamb shank has no salt in at all so unsure why yours tasted like this. The shanks we sold loads on boxing day...More

Reviewed 24 December 2023 via mobile

Recommended by a local pub landlord and certainly did not disappoint Nicky and Neil found us a table even at this very busy time of the year, the food even though freshly cooked didn’t take long to arrive my wife had the vegetarian pot pie...and was packed full of flavour and extremely filling I had the trio of pork which was amazing and so flavourful and the wedges were probably the best I’ve ever tasted, all the staff were lovely and friendly, I would highly recommend this place whether just out for a meal or to celebrate something special this is the place.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2023

So glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope you return to see us when your next in the area.xx

Reviewed 15 December 2023

Every time we visit the Rose Cottage the food is always lovely as are the staff. On this occasion we waited for our food to be served for a wile longer than usual but this was to be expected during the festive season when it...was very busy. The food is always cooked freshly which is beneficial to the quality. Sit back and enjoy the lovely surroundings and atmosphere!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Mayoh, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2023

Thank you so very much we really appreciate your review ,it means alot to us and our amazing team ❤️

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Forest Lodge Hotel
307 reviews
1.50 miles away
Warner Hotels - Thoresby Hall Hotel
4,398 reviews
3.81 miles away
Muthu Clumber Park Hotel & Spa
1,930 reviews
6.00 miles away
Mansfield Lodge Hotel
222 reviews
6.60 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lord Savile's Kitchen
328 reviews
.31 miles away
The Coach House Cafe
47 reviews
.32 miles away
south forest leisure centre
110 reviews
.70 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rufford Abbey Country Park
1,048 reviews
.20 miles away
Aqua Sana Sherwood Forest
1,608 reviews
.79 miles away
Rufford Abbey
14 reviews
.20 miles away
Rufford Park Golf and Country Club
36 reviews
.63 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
eleanorward40
1 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 16 answers
Response from missinformed | Reviewed this property |
Yes it's open
2
Votes
557jenniem
29 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from jb2016121 | Reviewed this property |
It must depend on the time and day depending on whether or not it is busy and what staff are on shift. But it really shouldn't and the management should monitor reviews and whose on shift when they receive the poor ones.
1
Vote
charissa_x
5 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from nikkif17 | Reviewed this property |
We sat in the main restaurant with our two dogs, and they were made very welcome.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE ROSE COTTAGE, Rufford - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Rose Cottage

Yes, The Rose Cottage is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Rose Cottage is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4