We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor Riverside Pub and Restaurant

££ - £££, British,
284 Ferry Road | Hullbridge, Hullbridge SS5 6ND, England
+44 1702 230777
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“suckling pig” (10 reviews)
“scallops” (44 reviews)
“beef” (42 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
284 Ferry Road | Hullbridge, Hullbridge SS5 6ND, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant pub is very classy, you can drink or eat, better yet why not do both. I’ve been to the Anchor for a summertime lunch and for an autumnal dinner, both times this establishment has really impressed me and the company I’ve taken there....More

Thank safaluke
OISite, General Manager at The Anchor Riverside Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi safaluke Thanks for your fab review. We're so delighted to hear you're a fan of The Anchor in both Winter and Summer and for all occasions. We look forward to your next visit. The Anchor team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Not sure what has happened recently but I don't think we will be going back, tiny,overpriced portions, came for a birthday lunch only to hear the waitress argue with a table of four customers on the table next to us who decided to get up...More

Thank Helen S
OISite, General Manager at The Anchor Riverside Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Helen S Thanks for the review. We'd like to discuss your visit further if that's ok. Please email me at helenaellis@oakmaninns.co.uk I hope to hear from you soon. The Anchor team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was tasty but unbelievably small. I had vegan curry, cost £13.50 and was the size of a starter! Partner had monkfish in tandoori marinade, £19.50, the fish was the size of a tiny baked potato and small bowl of chick pea mash. They need...More

Thank MTBC1962
OISite, General Manager at The Anchor Riverside Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi MTBC1962 Thanks for the review. We're disappointed to hear your food portions weren't big enough - did you mention this at the time of dining? We will definitely take your comments on board at our next menu change to ensure our guests leave satisfied....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been here several times recently and had wonderful meals. Not this time. Experience was terrible. I am so sad as it is a restaurant near us. Not coming again. A poorly balanced menu nearly all Asian influenced. If we had wanted that we...More

Thank Patricia H
OISite, General Manager at The Anchor Riverside Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Patricia Thanks for your review. It's disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy your most recent visit as much as you have in the past. This seems unusual as whilst the restaurant has changed owners, everything has stayed the same (menu, staff, suppliers etc.) so...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worst service ever, with exception of the barman who tried to be as helpful as he possibly could. Went with my girlfriend one Thursday evening, so not a hugely busy night. We turned up at 6pm, early for our table booked at 8pm, but so...More

1  Thank Fusaro69
OISite, General Manager at The Anchor Riverside Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Fusaro69 Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry your table wasn't ready on time but we do have a policy where tables can't be requested/reserved as we cannot guarantee them. It seems unusual that your drinks couldn't be put...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its been 18 months since I visited this fab looking & greatly placed, on the river. Restaurant, I booked online - great... We got there 15 mins before booking, greeted with smiles & told we had a booth, great. Then when we wanted our table...More

1  Thank K J B
OISite, General Manager at The Anchor Riverside Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi K J B Thanks for taking time to leave us a review. We're disappointed to hear your visit to us was an unsuccessful one - we're sure this can be rectified as everything you've described sounds totally out of the norm and against the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We chose the Anchor as we had been previously and had lovely food with brilliant service. One of the party was vegan, and they provided a whole menu with some good options. Very often in these sorts of restaurants the vegan options are limited, or...More

Thank Jay D
OISite, General Manager at The Anchor Riverside Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jay D Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted you chose to dine with us again, and that we had plenty of Vegan options to offer. It's also fab to hear the service was great and that you'd recommend us...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ordered a burger medium as the sirloin steak at £23 seemed a bit to expensive- BIG MISTAKE. Burger was so well cooked could have used it to resole my shoes with. Another surprise was the ketchup, or should I say the inside of the lid....More

3  Thank hotman1955
OISite, General Manager at The Anchor Riverside Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi hotman1955 Thanks for the review. We're disappointed to hear your visit was unsatisfactory. We can assure you that our meat is supplied by a first class butcher and the meat is delivered raw. The reason we can't serve our burgers less than medium is...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose The Anchor, because it has the capacity to take large groups and also for its awards for great food and quality. We had been warned that service could be slow on a busy Sunday, but we were in no hurry and it was...More

Thank jean b
OISite, General Manager at The Anchor Riverside Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi jean B Thank for the 5 star review! We're delighted you chose The Anchor based on size and it's awarded achievements on food and quality. It sounds as though your service was impeccable and we're pleased your grandchildren were made to feel welcome too....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Anchor is great local pub in have in a small seaside English town. The location and view facing the River Crouch is dramatic at times which adds atmosphere. The inside of the pub is however somewhat paint by numbers with a familiar IKEA pale...More

Thank eatgosee
OISite, General Manager at The Anchor Riverside Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi lcollens Thanks for such a lengthy review - we're delighted you took the time to mention a few of the other dishes you haven't tried (but hopefully will come back for!) It sounds like your meals were scrumptious - note taken on the fish...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Simla Tandoori
76 reviews
.03 miles away
The Smugglers Den
24 reviews
.05 miles away
The Broadway Grill
27 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Marsh Farm
799 reviews
.37 miles away
Tropical Wings Zoo
919 reviews
1.69 miles away
Battlesbridge Antiques and Craft Centre
174 reviews
1.91 miles away
MB Falconry
7 reviews
2.27 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amanda R
13 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from johngfry55 | Reviewed this property |
There is no dress code either inside or outside.
1
Vote
Peter G
23 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from RiversideEssex | Property representative |
I can confirm we are NOT closing down. In fact we were recently awarded the Michelin 'Bib Gourmand' award which recognises quality of food - for modest prices. We are the only restaurant in Essex to gain this... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$47
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 284 Ferry Road | Hullbridge, Hullbridge SS5 6ND, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Hullbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 230777
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing