We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Curlew

287 Christchurch Road, West Parley BH22 8SQ, England
+44 1202 594811
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good26%
  • Average14%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“chicken pie” (12 reviews)
“pies” (17 reviews)
“vintage inn” (10 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
DETAILS
287 Christchurch Road, West Parley BH22 8SQ, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Came mid week, food was nice, good options, but found the two gentlemen who served us quite rude and arrogant.

Thank abiabi123
General Manager A, Manager at The Curlew, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I can only apologise about the later comment Richard

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having tried to get at meal at two other nearby pubs ( one too busy and one disgusting) we were welcomed at The Curlew by friendly efficient staff- food was lovely, value for money.Waitress was fabulous (sorry didn't catch her name- visit was wednesday 10th...More

Thank Sally B
General Manager A, Manager at The Curlew, responded to this review

Thanks, Sally, for the great review!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here a few times, and the food has been great (just one bad experience, but I'll let them off). The shin of beef is delicious. It's cosy inside on a rainy day, or has a nice outdoor area for The sunshine. Lovely cosy fires....More

Thank angela_caulfield
General Manager A, Manager at The Curlew, responded to this review

Thanks, Angela, for your review! We look forward to your return.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We didn't book a table but luckily enough we got 1. We had a 3 course meal for £20 & was more than enough for the money we paid.. food was nice.. could only eat 2 spoonfuls of pudding as filled up by starter &...More

Thank ColinandJenny M
General Manager A, Manager at The Curlew, responded to this review

Hi, Colin and Jenny! Thanks for the review. We are so happy you enjoyed your great 3-course meal with us. Hopefully next time we can stretch you to giving is 5 stars. :-)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here on tuesday night for parents belated anniversary dinner. We had a lovely fun time i had the duck special which was delicious. Dad had the new york sirloin special, unfortunately the steak was tough but was soon corrected and an whole new meal...More

Thank becky b
General Manager A, Manager at The Curlew, responded to this review

Thanks, Becky, for the incredible review! All comments are passed onto the team. it's great to hear that we managed to very quickly correct an issue that you had with your meal. Thanks for the 5 stars. :-D

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lots of people in garden but able to get table inside in restaurant attentive service Good collection of beers and wine list quite extensive Food was good pie was very nice but seasonal veg and chips only ok and a bit mean on portion size...More

Thank malefamily
General Manager A, Manager at The Curlew, responded to this review

Hey! Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations but hope you visit again soon and we shall do better.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Never even but heard it was good. They weren't wrong. It was amazing. The food was big and tasty. We had the beef wellington and burger. Didn't realise how relaxing this place was along with great food. Defo going back.

Thank bluem00n1981
General Manager A, Manager at The Curlew, responded to this review

The beef wellington is fab. Thanks for the time to write this great trip

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely pub with superb staff. From the minute you walk through the door you are greeted with a friendly face and that continues with ever member of staff you speak to. You can not fault them. Excellent menu choice and good value. Three course menu...More

Thank Lulu616
General Manager A, Manager at The Curlew, responded to this review

Great comments we try to please lulu. See you soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off here whilst visiting family. Such a lovely, warm welcoming restaurant - dog friendly too which was a bonus! Loved the decor! The food was very well priced, freshly cooked and extremely tasty! Best desert menu I have seen in a long while -...More

Thank Sally S
General Manager A, Manager at The Curlew, responded to this review

Thanks Sally see you soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A most enjoyable meal. The Rioja and the T bone steak were also excellent as was the usual high level service.

Thank A1n2thony
General Manager A, Manager at The Curlew, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you soon. :-)

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sweet As A Nut Catering
5 reviews
.74 miles away
Plowmans Garden Centre
16 reviews
.25 miles away
Horns Inn
423 reviews
.61 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Parley Manor
43 reviews
.88 miles away
Longham Lakes
33 reviews
1.44 miles away
The White Heather
7 reviews
1.48 miles away
Bournemouth Aviation Museum
191 reviews
1.51 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Jay B
How's the menu for gluten free?
12 March 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Hi there We have a full allergens guide here at The Curlew for anyone to use to help with allergy requests. Many thanks Hope to see you soon
0
Votes
lindalong49
I posted a review about the curlew West parley. I'm sure you will realise my mistake when quoting the 3 course meal costing £114.95. Of course it was £14.95!!
7 March 2017|
Answer
Response from MRCRAZYMAN | Reviewed this property |
Yes spotted the mistake no Problem.😀
0
Votes
juliab990
Are dogs allowed inside ?
8 November 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from UkTraveller1951 | Reviewed this property |
We took our dog in. Couple of years ago. Don't know about now
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$65
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 287 Christchurch Road, West Parley BH22 8SQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  West Parley
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 594811
  • E-mail
Description
The Curlew has had a varied and interesting history. The building was constructed in the 1800's and served as a farm mostly producing root vegetables. After gaining its license, the building became Mulligan's fish restaurant, then a themed pub and was more recently called The Manor before settling on being named after the wading bird - the Curlew.