We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

About
A Traditional English Country Inn & Restaurant... The Vine Inn is nestled in the heart of the beautiful Clent Hills. A warm welcome awaits for all those who wish to visit a traditional English country pub that offers high quality dining in a relaxed environment. Our first class menu has been selected to offer a discerning mixture of traditional pub favourites and to specialise in fresh fish and game - our fish dishes constantly change on our specials board while our game pie and organic venison steaks (done in a variety of ways) are popular trademark dishes. The Vine Inn was first registered as the "Clatterback Water Mill" and what was once the old mill pond is now the garden with a decking
PRICE RANGE
£9 - £18
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (522)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
280
153
42
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
280
153
42
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venison mussels pudding sandwiches roast potatoes chicken pie clent hills the pub butty bach sunday lunch booked a table mains fountain
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

A great country pub and restaurant went 9/2/24 for a evening meal with my wife service was very friendly and efficient the food was excellent both meals and deserts.would highly recommended the vine at clent this was our first visit but definitely not the last.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here on a Saturday evening recently, not having been here in a few years. We thought we’d give it a try, as decent places around here are few and far between. Our arrival wasn’t the best, more of a ‘what do you want’...type greeting by the lad behind the bar. We were made to wait until the booking time to be seated, odd as there was lots of availability on the website booking system. We were sat and ordered our food. Two of us had steaks, another had the fresh fish and lastly the monkfish. The steaks had all the classic signs of just being whipped out of the fridge, then cooked from chilled (1 medium, 1 medium rare). Big mistake, as the steaks became cold quickly, and they were very chewy and full of un-cooked grisle. Most of it was inedible. A steak cooked from room temperature has time to cook properly. The Turbot was smothered in garlic and swimming in butter. The advertised dauphinoise potatoes turned out to be just fried potato squares. The monkfish was odd – little pieces of fish, battered and fried, serviced with Cajun chips and a salad with olives, cheese, and sundried tomatoes? Not a good combination, and not one I would repeat. We had 2 desserts; one was advertised as burnt Basque vanilla cheesecake. It certainly was burnt, very bitter and not pleasant. The cheesecake tasted weeks old, all powdery and not good to eat. A smudge of strawberry squish on the side. The Vine is very ‘clicky’. A typical local pub, and in the 35 years I have been coming here it has not once changed, I don’t think it’s even had a lick of paint in all that time. Finally, we all spent time on the loo when we got home, I will spare you the details. This was easily one of the worst meals out locally in years; we will never return here and advise anyone else to be wary of going.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Hartley, General Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am very saddened to read your review and quite frankly amazed. Having gone out of our way to make you as comfortable as possible, you said you were happy upon us checking your meals as well as upon paying the bill, you displayed no...More

Reviewed 24 December 2023 via mobile

Excellent Staff excellent food excellent atmosphere. Had a lovely meal here tonight and the staff are lovely. Actually so sad to read the below review with 1 star as I know the staff member that this was aimed at, who is actually autistic (so has...a disability themselves) but does a great job and is very friendly and professional. Would encourage all to visit when in the area as you won’t be disappointed. Merry Christmas!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2023

The unprofessional waiter, as if i was a child, made aeroplane noises as he placed my meal on the table. I do not appreciate this as i have struggled with disability all my life. Do not go here!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Hartley, General Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

It deeply saddens me to read your review. The fact that you feel it is appropriate to slander the pub over misjudging the behaviour of one noise a member of staff made and disregarding all the good qualities our business possesses is one thing but...More

Reviewed 10 December 2023

We went the this lovely pub to have Sunday dinner and it was proper good food. Simon and the team keep up the good work.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2023

Just a group of friends having lunch together and it was really lovely food. The service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. If there was a problem I really don’t like dogs in restaurants although I do appreciate the pub side is a...walkers pub and therefore dogs are companions . However I really don’t think that they should be near to diners. All in all it was a super lunch. Thank you very much to the staff.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2023

Excellent Sunday lunch. Very generous helpings. Friendly, good service, cosy atmosphere. Will definitely eat here again.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2023

Absolutely fabulous place. Never had a bad meal, drinks are excellent and not over priced. Food is brilliant. The staff, Michelle front end and Chef Craig very pleasant, happy to help and make you feel special. Tonight I had the steak better than miller and...carter. Only thing missing was the onion loaf. You need to try this place to fully appreciate it. Come along and enjoy. You certainly won't regret it. Happy dining :)More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

First time I have been to this restaurant and found the food and service were excellent. We had the midweek lunch menu which was lovely.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2023 via mobile

I have visited this lovely pub/restaurant on four occasions now. On each occasion I have been impressed by the ambiance and appropriate charm of the premises. The service and friendliness was impeccable and even the chef attended us at the table with our starters. The...food was exceptional with Dijon Mushrooms and Monkfish ‘scampi’ supported by salad, Greek salad with feta, Cajun Fries, and tasty sauces. Recently I enjoyed the most divine Sirloin Steak with Stilton Sauce - heavenly. This is a gastro pub but with so much qualityMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2023

We came here for a family lunch, the staff were welcoming and friendly. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Cosy old fashioned inn with quirky features inside. Lovely surroundings with a little brook running through the garden, front and back garden areas. Pub is very dog friendly. Mussels...were big and tasty. Food and drinks are not cheap but worth the price for the quality and portion size. Great wine selection.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2023

I visited this Pub with my Wife & friends yesterday after having booked a table for four. It was wet and miserable when we arrived but that was soon forgotten when we entered. A warm welcome into a place that must be at least 200...years old & very quaint . There were plenty of tables free & we chose a corner spot . The lady that served us , whose name I forgot to ask , was very pleasant & helpful. I ordered the haunch of venison and it was delicious, as was everyone else's dish. I always visit the toilets to check & these were pristine. This is a place I will definitely be going back to. Fantastic !More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2023

Absolutely fabulous meal. Stumbled across this great place on a walk in the Clent Hills. Had a meal one evening last week with a friend and were so impressed with the the service and the amazing food went again today with three other family members...who were equally impressed. An absolute great find !More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023 via mobile

Amazing Sunday lunch, with nice choice of starters/main/deserts. 2 or 3 course menu great value. Food of high quality! Will be returning!

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2023

Sandwich bread was stale ham processed not as stated on menu as home cooked salad out of a bag . All food disappointing and over priced Won't be going againMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Hartley, General Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2023

We are very sorry to hear you were so disappointed with your food. Our ham is carved from a joint and not processed packed ham as you have suggested. We rotate our bread every other day and although some of our salad leaves are from...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Birmingham Halesowen
676 reviews
3.59 miles away
Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound
480 reviews
3.85 miles away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
1,829 reviews
3.96 miles away
Travelodge Bromsgrove Marlbrook
339 reviews
4.14 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bell & Cross
345 reviews
.65 miles away
The Fountain At Clent
1,234 reviews
.44 miles away
The Four Stones Restaurant
601 reviews
.32 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Clent Hills
234 reviews
.78 miles away
The Falconry Centre
292 reviews
2.24 miles away
Churchill Forge
14 reviews
2.95 miles away
Coffee n Clay
21 reviews
1.76 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dissatisfied491
24 August 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from maggiechapman49 | Reviewed this property |
This question is for the Vine not me.
1
Vote
E194CIkims
18 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Nicky W | Reviewed this property |
Bar area only but very pleasant and comfortable
0
Votes
SusanBH
7 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from MickleoverJeep | Reviewed this property |
yes...
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE VINE INN, Clent - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Vine Inn

The Vine Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4