We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whitmore Arms

££ - £££, British,
Rectory Road, Orsett, Thurrock RM16 3LB, England
+44 1375 891259
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“liver” (17 reviews)
“banoffee” (5 reviews)
“potatoes” (16 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rectory Road, Orsett, Thurrock RM16 3LB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited here for Sunday lunch, warm welcome and friendly efficient staff and service. The meat was very tender and the vegetables were cooked very well. The potatoes however tasted as if they had been deep fried or maybe reheated. Some of the food lacked on...More

Thank Downba
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Small family group came for sunday lunch, most of us had the super roast. Meat was perfectly cooked, cant fault the food at all. Staff were polite and friendly. Finished the afternoon with drinks in the garden. Lovely little pub/restaurant would defo return.

2  Thank Nudger96
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well I've been dining in this lovely pub restaurant for years.and made a point to go there tonite.service was non existing, had to ask for menus and drinks,eventually we had our starter.it was nice but the pate was greasy,I ordered chicken with wild mushroom sauce...More

Thank Raymond J
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a family we have enjoyed many occasions and just family meals out it is such a shame that this visit was so bad. Starter I had pate that was very greasy when I opened the jar it went everywhere. Husband had the soup roasted...More

Thank Barbara K
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We do apologise that yesterday was not of our usual standard. Unfortunately, we did experience some issues that affected our usual quality and service. We shall also respond to another review left also by your family member. We have very much valued your family's custom...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Shocking service had to wait almost an hour for our meal. When it did arrive some of us had hardly any veg (no longer served separately to help yourself) and the meat wasn't great. We regularly go here but won't be returning.More

Thank Sam G
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to visit us and for posting your review. We do apologise that yesterday was not of our usual standard. Unfortunately, we did experience some issues that affected our usual quality and service. We are disappointed to read you do...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have used this pub for years & never been disappointed. However we visited for Sunday lunch & to our disappointment the quality of the food has deteriorated. My wife ordered Mushroom Wellington , only to be informed that it had been changed to "Carrot...More

Thank lenseye
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We do apologise that yesterday was not of our usual standard. Unfortunately, we did experience some issues that affected our usual quality and service. If you could kindly contact us to discuss this further with you in hope you give us the opportunity to rectify...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been going to the Whitmore for years. But after today’s meal we won’t be returning. Gone have the decent roast portions and quality. They now serve up the veg on your plate, if you are lucky you might get more than one carrot...More

Thank Anna_Knight
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We do apologise that yesterday was not of our usual standard. Unfortunately, we did experience some issues that affected our usual quality and service. We are disappointed to read that you thought locals took priority. Rest assured all our customers are valued equally. We shall...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided on the pie.... 3 of us...… it was absolutely rock hard... the crust was inedible really. Very disappointing.More

Thank Screenofrobert
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We do thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are disappointed to read your pies were not of our usual standard. If we had known during check back then we would have done our best to rectify your disappointment. We do...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not offered a drink once by staff throughout course of meal (had to keep asking) No choice of how meat is to be cooked (so had to ask as I was having steak) Steak wasn’t cooked as requested Lamb was so tough it was inedible...More

Thank Lewis F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great lunch with my mum and dad, always recommend the lamb roast and cheesecake! Food was amazing. Customer service from Annalise, Luka and Jodi was first class! Well done guys.

Thank Matey N
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It was refreshing to read your review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. Our girls were very much delighted to receive your feedback on their service. We do hope to welcome you all again very soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Orsett Hall
876 reviews
.44 miles away
The Bell Inn Hotel
331 reviews
1.78 miles away
Stifford Hall Hotel
581 reviews
2.57 miles away
Ye Olde Plough House
290 reviews
2.80 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Voujon
167 reviews
.73 miles away
Kings Arms
36 reviews
.80 miles away
The Garden Brasserie
178 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kukana Spa
66 reviews
.42 miles away
The Swan
25 reviews
1.73 miles away
DiveMania Scuba Limited
72 reviews
1.89 miles away
Grangewaters Outdoor Eduction Centre
18 reviews
2.22 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
LesleyC1276
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from shebilly | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I don't have the answer to you question. The best thing to do is call The Whitmore Arms, and ask them yourself. Good luck.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rectory Road, Orsett, Thurrock RM16 3LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Thurrock  >  Orsett
  • Phone Number: +44 1375 891259
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing