We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whitmore Arms

££ - £££, British,
Rectory Road, Orsett, Thurrock RM16 3LB, England
+44 1375 891259
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“liver” (14 reviews)
“banoffee” (5 reviews)
“roast beef” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rectory Road, Orsett, Thurrock RM16 3LB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 370 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

My sister and I organised our mum's surprise 75th birthday meal at the Whitmore Arms for Sunday 18 February. There were 30 of us dining and had almost all of the upstairs room to ourselves. The food was great and everyone enjoyed it, the two...More

Thank Snowflake211
Reviewed 4 days ago

Friday night (16th Feb) table for two. Moules Mariniere for starters, superb. Sea Bass Fillets with King Prawns for main, excellent, both from the 'Specials' menu. My compliments to the chef, top class.

1  Thank David P
Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited The Whitmore Arms on Tuesday and was having the prefect meal with a couple of friends but had the unfortunate luck of sitting beside the lady we called miss Trip Adviser! Why do people feel the need to be outright rude and use this...More

1  Thank kenbroom630
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for posting your kind review. We do apologise you had to experience the attitude of others and sincerely hope it did not spoil your evening. As you mention our staff did their best for this customer but alas, on this occasion we were...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited the whitmore arms on Tuesday night, had a fantastic meal & service was excellent as always. Ordered the liver and bacon & was cooked to perfection & will defiantly be returning. Had pancakes for desert and they topped off my meal perfect! Definatly prefer...More

1  Thank Lianne_R1986
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to visit us and post your review. So pleased to read that our pancakes topped off your meal perfectly. Is a shame we were unable to accommodate you for Valentines which had been fully booked for sometime. Do tell...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have always enjoyed visiting but last night's food was disappointing. Really hate it when restaurants charge separately for veg. Of course you need veg with a meal unless it's a burger or something. Plates of mixed veg used to come complimentary..now you have to Pay...More

Thank shapease
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review and visiting here. All dishes come with set sides and if you require more sides then we do have to charge for them. We are pleased to read our staff did their best for you. Kind Regards Victoria Steadman

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I’ve been to the whitmore arms many times over the years but tonight’s experience was terrible. It was cold, it was overcooked, it was awful. They did offer to re cook it, but if you can’t get it right first time then why be in...More

4  Thank Alexandra_p1912
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to visit us the evening prior to Valentines and also post your review. If you worked in the hospitality industry you would be aware the night prior to Valentines Day is always quieter than normal. Our staff tried their...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying at nearby Orsett Hall where the previous night an expensive meal was ruined by poor service. This pub whilst only a mile away and really quite ordinary just like most Greene King pubs made us feel very welcome. It was busy for...More

1  Thank Stephen B
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are pleased to read you visited us whilst staying in our stunning village of Orsett. Our team do try their best to make our customers feeling welcomed and longing to return. We do pride ourselves on our excellent products. If you are in the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice way to spend the evening, quaint little pub down the road from where I was staying. Friendly, accommodating staff, great food reasonable prices, even fitted us in at last minute. Will be back! Many thanks

1  Thank seakingaviator
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are pleased to read your review and you enjoyed your visit with us. Do pop in and see us again whenever you are in the area! Kind Regards Victoria Steadman

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Typical Greene King bland presentation. Encouraged to stay in public bar which was soulless. Never mind it was to be expected I suppose.More

Thank OldsterTwo
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to visit us and post your review. Although the building is owned by Greene King the business is owned by us. We are sad to read you felt our bar wasn't to your liking. The pub was refurbished by...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The wife and I love this place for a nice quiet lunch and we have lunch there twice a month on average and the food is usual a high standard. When we returned in February they have changed the menu; the meal used to come...More

Thank N13KHY
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for you for visiting us again and also taking the time to post your review. Our menu is still the same and hasn't of yet been changed including the price. We still offer value for money. Each dish is accompanied with 2 side...More

PreviousNext
12345637
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Orsett Hotels
Orsett Hall
702 reviews
.44 miles away
The Bell Inn Hotel
319 reviews
1.78 miles away
Stifford Hall Hotel
546 reviews
2.57 miles away
Ye Olde Plough House
274 reviews
2.80 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Voujon
156 reviews
.73 miles away
Kings Arms
31 reviews
.80 miles away
The Garden Brasserie
166 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kukana Spa
56 reviews
.16 miles away
The Swan
19 reviews
1.73 miles away
Thurrock Thameside Nature Park
86 reviews
2.49 miles away
Grangewaters Outdoor Eduction Centre
15 reviews
2.89 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lesley C
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from shebilly | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I don't have the answer to you question. The best thing to do is call The Whitmore Arms, and ask them yourself. Good luck.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rectory Road, Orsett, Thurrock RM16 3LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Thurrock  >  Orsett
  • Phone Number: +44 1375 891259
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing