We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (736)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
385
195
80
29
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
385
195
80
29
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork belly steak and ale pie yorkshire pudding mash scampi the pub meal times sunday lunch evening meal selection of beers lovely meal dogs hpb pint lakes campsite cottage
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

What a wonderful, friendly and welcoming pub. We spent quite a few hours there during our holiday. All the staff are fantastic. My favourite pub in the lake District.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for this lovely review. It makes our day to read things like this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place and staff. The food was awful. Chips were like warm and dry on both meals, husbands fish looked lovely and a good size too but my hunters chicken was horrible, it was a grey colour and flat, it had a strange smell to...it too so I didn't eat any of the meal unfortunately.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi. I would be interested to know when this was. And also if you had said anything at the time, before you chose to go straight on trip advisor. We have great reviews on our food. As I’m sure you can see. The chips are...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely village pub. Enjoyed a very nice evening meal. The staff are exceptionally friendly, nothing is too much trouble. In particular Becky, Billy, Dudley and Leon. Our food arrived quickly, hubby had fish and chips, the fish was huge, fresh and cooked perfectly. I had...the Mediterranean lasagne, which had a generous portion of garlic bread and was piping hot. We then both enjoyed our deserts. All in all a great meal and good value for money. Would definitely recommend.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your review. It’s great to hear that’s you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious food, good beer selection. Service was friendly and attentive and catered for a surprise guest of our black lab really well. Thank you

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are glad you and your black Lab enjoyed your visit

Reviewed 16 January 2024

Stayed at The Royal Oak from the 12th to the 15th January 2024, our room was very clean and comfortable and all the staff we came into contact with were cheerful and helpful. We had three evening meals with family whilst we were there, I...had gammon, scampi and a Sunday roast beef all three were excellent and everybody else said the same about their choices. This was not the first time we had stayed here, but was the first time with the new team, will be going back again next year. Andy AshtonMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all your meals. And hopefully we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Royal Oak as we didn’t realise it had become a dog friendly pub and wish we had known sooner! We called in for a couple of drinks and will definitely be back in the next couple of months...to stay.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Christine H, thank you so much for the positive review! We will see you soon

Reviewed 3 January 2024

Booked for an evening meal , they had no record of it but sorted us out with a place , first impressions was a nice country pub, plenty in and good beer , the food I had was fish and chips, the fish was ok...but the chips were a bit iffy and having spoke to other diners they felt the same , the prices are top of the range but the food does not match the price tag unfortunately , we went in three times all told but only ate the once , what was obvious was the lack of hoovering of the carpet ,it hadn't been cleaned since we first went in or should I say didn't appear to have been, this place is ok for a drink and the food in my experience is run of the mill pub grub at a premium.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2024

Thank you for your review. We have never been told anything bad about the chips. So we will look into that. It is pub food, as it is a pub. We don’t claim to be anything else. But our food is always very good. As...More

Reviewed 2 January 2024 via mobile

Lovely evening and they went out their way to serve us food, even though the chef had just finished serving. Great atmosphere as ever with friendly staff. Definitely worth a visit!

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dlb1964, thank you so much for the positive review! See you again soon.

Reviewed 2 January 2024

We have been going to the Royal oak in Braithwaite for the past 5 years. We have just come back and was quite disappointed. We booked bed and breakfast. When checking in, we were told that they weren't sure if they were doing breakfast, then...told that breakfast was on. We were told on New year's day it would be continental breakfast which we needed to have in our room, a brown paper bag was left outside our room with cereals milk apples juice and yogurts. Then on our last night, at 21.30 we were told, there would be no breakfast in the morning and told us there was a cafe down the road. Also a member of the bar staff was quite rude on a number of occasions. We never had any problems with the previous management.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

I will copy and paste the response to your husbands review. The review is the same so the response is also the same. Thank you for your review, we really struggle to please all our guests when it comes to breakfast so we did actually...More

Reviewed 2 January 2024

We have stayed at the Royal Oak numerous times over the years but we were disappointed on our last stay. Having booked for 4 nights (which included breakfast) we were only offered breakfast on the first two days, the third day (NYE) was continental and...was left in brown bags outside our room as we were told there wasn’t enough staff for that morning, which we understood. We wasn’t told until 9pm NYD that on our fourth morning there would be no breakfast options offered at all as they were back to working days and didn’t serve breakfast. We were told to go to the nearby cafes for breakfast - we didn’t argue with this as we were shocked. We have checked our booking which confirms breakfast is included on all mornings of our stays - really disappointed. We got the feeling that because we didn’t sit in the pub 24/7 and have all meals and drinks here the manager wasn’t happy. We stay here as it’s central and easy to get to other places and see what else is here. Parking is limited. Rooms clean and tidy. Manager couldn’t do enough for our daughter and was friendly. A shame as it isn’t what it used to be on our previous stays with the previous management.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Thank you for your review, we really struggle to please all our guests when it comes to breakfast so we did actually stop doing breakfast all together about 6mnths ago for this reason. We did however provide it for all of our guests at no...More

Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

I attended the Royal Oak Braithwaite in a dinner party Christmas Day. There was a bustling atmosphere and despite the business the two lovely waitresses Jessy and Andrea were warm and always accommodating. Decent local pub would definitely visit again! Thanks again ladies

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2024

Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit. And hopefully you will come back soon.

Reviewed 29 December 2023

Had an amazing Xmas here, the staff were amazing and made my day. The chefs put out one of the best meals I've had and working in the industry I commend them on this. The day was only slightly tainted by 2 other guests who...did nothing but complain from start to finish. From experience nothing will please these 2. The whole team worked together to make this a 5* experience without the outrageous price tag. Keep doing what your doing.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2023

That is a brilliant review. Thank you so much. I will pass this on to all the staff. And we know which two guests you are talking about. So, sorry about them. But like you said you can’t please everyone. Especially those two. Glad you...More

Reviewed 28 December 2023

Excellent place to stay. We all loved our stay and the breakfast was amazing. Staff were very welcoming and our dog loved it too. Both bedrooms were very clean. Highly recommended and will return.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

That’s lovely to read. Thank you for your review. And we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 28 December 2023

We had visited this pub a few years ago and vaguely remembered it as being quite nice, but we were pleasantly surprised to discover it was even better this time round. I think it was the way the staff including Becca, Neil and George made...us feel so welcome. We were strangers at the beginning of our week in the area but felt like friends by the time we said goodbye. The quality of the meals we had was great too; I particularly enjoyed the Black and Blue burger with Stilton cheese. All-in-all, happy memories and we can't wait to visit again.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Thank you for taking time to leave us this review. It’s so nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we will see you very soon.

Reviewed 27 December 2023

After being disappointed by another hotel The Royal Oak kindly slotted us in last minute for Christmas Lunch and it was a really lovely experience.... We arrived to a very warm greeting from the landlady who invited us to get a pre meal drink from...the bar....we were greeted and served promptly by the landlord...my pint was perfect....the atmosphere in the building was cosy, warm and friendly.... We were shown to our table and offered a glass of prosecco as we noticed all guests were.... Two ladies waited table and both were brilliant .... Our food came quickly and was hot and delicious and well presented.... Only one thing spoiled the experience other guests who let their dogs walk to other tables, guests wandering around in slippers in a lovely Christmas setting and over bearing individuals shouting for what they wanted... We loved Christmas Lunch and a huge well done to all the staff.....will def recommend.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Royal Oak Braithwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Murphy1068, thank you so much for the positive review! We are very glad we could help. And that we met expectations. Unfortunately, other peoples dogs is out of our control. Next time you visit, Ask for a table in the restaurant, as we don’t allow...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Derwentwater Hotel
1,453 reviews
1.30 miles away
The Cottage in the Wood
803 reviews
1.30 miles away
Lairbeck Country House Apartments
13 reviews
1.88 miles away
Premier Inn Keswick Hotel
72 reviews
1.96 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ivy House
183 reviews
.04 miles away
The Coledale Inn
440 reviews
.13 miles away
The Ruddings Hotel
56 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Thornthwaite Galleries
100 reviews
1.19 miles away
Go Ape Whinlatter
256 reviews
1.56 miles away
Alpacaly Ever After
1,623 reviews
1.74 miles away
Whinlatter Forest
833 reviews
1.52 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Pat C
29 September 2022|
Answer
Response from G564QTjennyb | Property representative |
Yes just pop in and speak to a member of staff to see what's available 😀
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE ROYAL OAK BRAITHWAITE - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Oak Braithwaite

Yes, The Royal Oak Braithwaite is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Royal Oak Braithwaite is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5