We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse

££ - £££, British,
Littleworth, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AL, England
+44 1453 872556
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good30%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (16 reviews)
“brie” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Littleworth, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Popped in late afternoon on 23rd Sept for a drink and the garden was a disaster. Many tables covered in dirty plates, the first table had dirty dog bowls on it too, nice!! We sat down trying to enjoy the view whilst a dog stood...More

Thank Grasiemck
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review our pub. I'm sorry you were disappointed on this occasion. Yesterday was a lovely sunny day, and therefore we were extremely busy. My staff were working as hard and as fast as possible to clear the garden,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I popped along today after a dog walk to have a spot of lunch. I checked their food serving times on the web and saw they served lunch from 12-3pm. I arrived at 2.45 to be told I couldn't order food as the kitchen was...More

Thank loopiew
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review our pub, and i'm so sorry you were disappointed on this occasion. Unfortunately by 2.45 on this particular day, the kitchen was incredibly busy and our chef had asked us to stop taking food orders. This however...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This pub is in a lovely location. It has great atmosphere and popular with the locals. It has a good range of beers and wines including the local wine from a local vineyard. The food is superb. Very tasty and a good choice on the...More

Thank Kevin W
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards The Black Horse Team

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Visited this pub for lunch, views are amazing, staff are very friendly and the food was tasty and hot and the service was good. Limited desert menu for lunch. Parking can be an issue at this pub but worth the effort.

Thank Dave M
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for your kind review, we are so happy you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to you visiting again. Kind regards The Black Horse Team

Reviewed 13 August 2017

It is very rare that we get the chance to go out for Sunday lunch. Had a chat with a very dear friend who recommended The Black Horse. What a beautiful find. The atmosphere was very welcoming and the views stunning. The Sunday roast (pork)...More

Thank GloucestershirePip
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub, and we are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again Kind regards The Black Horse Team

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

I'm not exaggerating; the food was dreadful. I've had better in-flight meals. Pork crackling and roast potatoes are my favourite things in life. The Black Horse did unspeakable things to both. Sad, wet vegetables and tasteless pork. It's a beautiful spot though, and the staff...More

2  Thank Whoisdanjennings
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Black Horse, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your meal on this occasion. I'm sorry you didn't feel you could mention this at the time, when something could have been done about it. We hope you...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Nice food - very good veggie burger - home made with broad beans and a bit of spice - made a nice change

1  Thank Jane B
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review our pub. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards The Black Horse Team

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We visited the pub on a Monday evening, this pub has amazing views and is a must to go to when in the area. The beer and cider are very good. We had the chorizo sausages in sherry vinegar as a starter, these were 6...More

3  Thank sueandtyke
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review our pub. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your meal at this time. The "cheap" sesame seed buns, are indeed the Hobbs house Brioche Buns as advertised, and are usually very popular. I am sorry if you...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Great pub with all year round amazing views and food. Nothing better than sitting in the garden and on a clear day can see all the way to Wales!

Thank toptottie70
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Found this pub by accident and on a lovely sunny afternoon the view was beautiful. We decided to get lunch and it didn't disappoint. I had fish and chips and my partner the sausage roll with chutney and chips and a side order of onion...More

Thank kabe2537
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Royal Oak
40 reviews
.93 miles away
The Old Lodge
285 reviews
.56 miles away
The Amberley Inn
90 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Torbay Express Limited
78 reviews
.45 miles away
Hands on Bushcraft
32 reviews
1.07 miles away
Woodchester Park
149 reviews
1.47 miles away
Stroud Subscription Rooms
29 reviews
2.20 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Alex N
3 April 2015|
Answer
Response from JSimpson2014 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they do light lunches, and a very good range too. Enjoy your visit!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$30
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Littleworth, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Stroud  >  Amberley
  • Phone Number: +44 1453 872556
  • E-mail
Description
A beautiful cotswold pub, with incredible views across the Nailsworth Valley. Great selection of drinks and a locally sourced freshly produced menu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing