We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cross Inn Penally

££ - £££, British,
Penally, Penally SA70 7PU, Wales
+44 1834 844665
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (13 reviews)
“chili” (2 reviews)
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Penally, Penally SA70 7PU, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Just popped in for a meal on the last night of our holiday.The staff were friendly and welcoming.I am wheat intolerant and they were very attentive and helpful so it was easy for me to choose my meal.The food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Thank Pauline R
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We walked in and walked out! When we walked in everyone stopped and stared at us...we felt very uncomfortable as the place was packed with locals. It just wasn't our scene we were staying up the road in a hotel.

Thank sandra w
Reviewed 26 August 2017

visited here on wednesday evening and as usual it didnt disappoint, food superb as was the service , good atmosphere would definately recommend.

Thank welshgirl270
crossinn, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your evening with us, and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Worst meal ever, when chips come out white with black bits on the oil really needs changing, if u need a steak knife to cut through chicken then something is wrong, curdled cheese sauce covered the whole plate, nothing was eaten, will not be returning...More

Thank Kerry P
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Having stayed in Penally several time over the last few years ,we have visited The Cross Inn Got to say each visit over the last two years have been very disappointing.Trying to get severed with a drink seems to take for ever.As for food forget...More

Thank tigerlil123
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

As usual an excellent meal In a small but lovely pub in the village of Penally. This really is an excellent place to eat with friendly staff and great food. Make sure you call ahead to book for dinner. You won't regret a visit to...More

Thank slinnky
crossinn, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. My staff really appreciate your comments. We hope to see you all again soon.

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

the tables were not nice to sit at and the bench was uncomfortable because it was small. the food was average and good size meal. there were 10 people they were cooking for so obviously it was slow then when they were done it was...More

Thank harvey b
crossinn, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

I am sorry my tables were not nice to sit at.i will have to complain to ikea. The chairs and benches are all padded so I apologise if they were uncomfortable for you. As food is cooked fresh you would have had a little wait.

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Worst meal we've ever had. Fish and chips were terrible. How can they go wrong with a staple meal? Fish was chewy and grey. Left most of the meal and the dog had the rest.More

Thank DrJR1996
581chris, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

I am sorry you had the worst meal you have ever had. My staff always ask customers if they have enjoyed their meal I only wish you had said something at the time we would have replaced it immediately, it is annoying when nothing is...More

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Just visited the Cross Inn for a celebration meal with my family, ten of us from three generations. We each ordered a different main meal. All the meals were lovely and served in good time. An excellent evening which we all enjoyed greatly. No hesitation...More

Thank Roger W
crossinn, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so glad you had an enjoyable experience here, and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here, chili jacket potato and burger and chips, lovely, nice bar area and a good outside area to sit, views over to Caldey Island

Thank Pettifer_SP
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The New Overlander
88 reviews
.05 miles away
Penally Abbey Restaurant
76 reviews
.11 miles away
The Terrace at Trefloyne
109 reviews
.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Heatherton World of Activities
867 reviews
1.27 miles away
Tudor Merchant's House
542 reviews
1.40 miles away
St Mary's Curch
25 reviews
1.35 miles away
White Lion Street Gallery
19 reviews
1.33 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ginger B
25 July 2017|
Answer
Response from crossinn | Property representative |
You can park in penally station car park, then cross the road up a small incline you are then opposite the pub
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Penally, Penally SA70 7PU, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Penally
  • Phone Number: +44 1834 844665
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing