We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cross Inn Penally

££ - £££, British,
Penally, Penally, Tenby SA70 7PU, Wales
+44 1834 844665
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (14 reviews)
“chili” (2 reviews)
“steak” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
££ - £££
Penally, Penally, Tenby SA70 7PU, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

the tables were not nice to sit at and the bench was uncomfortable because it was small. the food was average and good size meal. there were 10 people they were cooking for so obviously it was slow then when they were done it was...More

Thank harvey b
crossinn, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

I am sorry my tables were not nice to sit at.i will have to complain to ikea. The chairs and benches are all padded so I apologise if they were uncomfortable for you. As food is cooked fresh you would have had a little wait.

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Worst meal we've ever had. Fish and chips were terrible. How can they go wrong with a staple meal? Fish was chewy and grey. Left most of the meal and the dog had the rest.More

Thank DrJR1996
581chris, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

I am sorry you had the worst meal you have ever had. My staff always ask customers if they have enjoyed their meal I only wish you had said something at the time we would have replaced it immediately, it is annoying when nothing is...More

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Just visited the Cross Inn for a celebration meal with my family, ten of us from three generations. We each ordered a different main meal. All the meals were lovely and served in good time. An excellent evening which we all enjoyed greatly. No hesitation...More

Thank Roger W
crossinn, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so glad you had an enjoyable experience here, and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here, chili jacket potato and burger and chips, lovely, nice bar area and a good outside area to sit, views over to Caldey Island

Thank Pettifer_SP
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Hubby and I were staying just around the corner at Penally Court Caravan Park so on a sunny Friday afternoon we decided to have a walk (no where to park anyway) to this sea-blue painted village pub. Off the main road, it is situated up...More

1  Thank Jilly2903
crossinn, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

I'm so sorry you had to walk so far, it's only 2 minute walk from where you were staying, you must have come the scenic way. I am also sorry that you found our prices elevated your wine cost 4.50 for 250ml and fever tree...More

Reviewed 4 July 2017

I visited the Cross Inn with a group of friends on the recommendation of the owner of our local rental property. As there were seven of us we booked a table in advance for our Saturday evening meal. The pub is only small so I...More

1  Thank tamworthfan
crossinn, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your review, I am sorry about the cod we have had a few complaints lately, I have already changed suppliers twice I will have to rethink about suppliers again. I hope you were offered a replacement. I hope you will give us...More

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

My partner and I have been staying in Penally and had seen good recommendations for this place for food Unfortunately I choose to have Steak and chips I did ask for Steak chips and salad but got Steak chips peas and mushrooms the chips were...More

Thank Cheryl M
crossinn, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

I am really sorry to hear from my waitress that the steak you had was tasteless I use an award winning butcher so was surprised to be told it was tasteless. I have contacted my butcher which has assured me it will not happen again....More

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Visited the cross inn after asking a taxi driver where we could get a great Sunday lunch locally, and his recommendation wasn't wrong! You park in the small car park at the train station, just down the road from the pub. The Cross Inn itself...More

1  Thank Jess A
crossinn, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review on our 3course Sunday lunch. We work hard to use as much local meat and vegetables as we can.my staff take great pride in receiving lovely reviews as they work so hard. I hope we will see...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely food lovely setting worth the walk along beach from tenby. Menu with lots of choice and very reasonable prices.

Reviewed 18 June 2017

My husband and I have just returned home from a long and lovely weekend in this pretty village of Penally, close to Tenby. We found this pub on the website, and we chose it as it was dog friendly. We had 2 dogs with us...More

Thank Julie S
crossinn, Owner at Cross Inn Penally, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. I can only apologise for not having lamb and leek curry on the menu they are in the process of being updated on the web page. We look forward...More

Nearby HotelsSee all Penally Hotels
Penally Abbey Hotel Ltd
240 reviews
.10 miles away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
297 reviews
1.11 miles away
Heywood Spa Hotel
752 reviews
1.11 miles away
The Belgrave Hotel
343 reviews
1.15 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The New Overlander
90 reviews
.05 miles away
West Coast Arts
6 reviews
.68 miles away
The Terrace at Trefloyne
111 reviews
.77 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cross Inn Penally
6 reviews
.04 miles away
St Mary's Church
35 reviews
1.35 miles away
Tenby South Beach
18 reviews
1.06 miles away
White Lion Street Gallery
19 reviews
1.34 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ginger B
25 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from crossinn | Property representative |
You can park in penally station car park, then cross the road up a small incline you are then opposite the pub
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Penally, Penally, Tenby SA70 7PU, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Tenby  >  Penally
  • Phone Number: +44 1834 844665
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing