We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shoeburyness Hotel

££ - £££, British,
1 High Street, Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea SS3 9AJ, England
+44 1702 296415
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good19%
  • Average6%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (17 reviews)
“sunday roast” (17 reviews)
“cheese board” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 High Street, Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea SS3 9AJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Twelve of us visited for Sunday lunch yesterday. The food and service were both excellent. We were under no pressure to move on after finishing our meal which was served at a steady pace allowing us to breath between courses! A great chance to catch...More

Thank mrsbee177
Kev P, Owner at Shoeburyness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are so pleased that you chose to dine with us and more pleased to read that you and your party all enjoyed the experience. Your kind words will be passed to our team;...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a couple of drinks on a Saturday evening after having been out for a nice meal elsewhere with friends. The bar area was rowdy, loads of drunk shouty people and the floors sticky and dirty. Sofa’s for sitting on look terrible and ripped...More

Thank Spenny0367
Kev P, Owner at Shoeburyness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit and have noted your concerns. With regards to your allegation of drugs being exchanged. We will not tolerate any use of drugs whatsoever;...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow this place is a real gem. Amazing food, great friendly staff, nothing is to much trouble. Atmosphere is wonderful, live singer Sunday afternoon. I would definitely recommend this place & we will definitely be going back.More

Thank Wendy M
Kev P, Owner at Shoeburyness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience and will be returning. I will be sure to pass your kind words to our entire team and would like to thank you for recommending...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great atmosphere and very nice surroundings! The 80s night is great fun, music is spot on so thank you DJ, keep playing those tunes so well!

Thank cremonese
Kev P, Owner at Shoeburyness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to write on here and will be sure to pass your comments on! We hope that you enjoy many more evenings with us. Kind regards Shoeburyness Hotel

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went here with friends the restuarant is very clean. Lovely staff food was excellent had set meal with a drink. Lots of food. Quality was excellent. A hidden gem. I would highly recommend this place you would not be disappointed. We are going to...More

1  Thank Karen P
Kev P, Owner at Shoeburyness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and very much look forward to your return and, indeed, thoughts on our Sunday Lunch. Thank you for your kind...More

Reviewed 27 July 2018

I'm really sorry to write this, having looked at the other reviews, before we went, but I say it, how it is genuinely, i'm really not sure if other reviews are true, but based on my experience, this is my true review, we went there...More

7  Thank Pauline S
Kev P, Owner at Shoeburyness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All comments are welcomed and we particularly need to hear those that draw attention to areas in which we could improve. I will say however, that I object to the inference that the reviews posted...More

Reviewed 12 July 2018

Varied bar/Al-a-carte menu selection although we were advised that there will be new menus launched soon after our visit. We had a mixture of pub/bar food, all priced exceptionally well for the quality; and portions were very generous. Service was very friendly and efficient. Manager/owner...More

Thank 9MusesBride
Kev P, Owner at Shoeburyness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for choosing to eat with us and for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and found our staff to be welcoming and efficient. There is no better compliment than to hear...More

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Went to the restaurant with a friend looking for a quiet and cozy place to have a nice dinner. The place certainly didn't disappoint us. Service was perfect and our steaks were tender and very tasty. Fantastic food and a great atmosphere, will definitely come...More

Thank Luis F
Kev P, Owner at Shoeburyness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased that having chosen to eat with us you were not disappointed. Your kind words will be passed to the front of house team and our kitchen staff. Thanks again and we...More

Reviewed 21 June 2018

Wife and I had a mid-week meal here. We were initially worried because it was very empty, but the food was delicious, and plentiful. We had the charcuterie starter, followed by mussels and rib-eye steak. We had no room for dessert. Friendly waitress who was...More

Thank thebandMOI
Kev P, Owner at Shoeburyness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you for choosing to eat with us and for taking the time to write this review. I understand your initial concerns; fair weather and the World Cup are partly responsible for our lack of numbers. We are pleased that you chose to stay and...More

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

we were looking for somewhere to go what we waited for the Indian restaurant to open The place has changed so much we were attractive to this place as we can share live music playing The place looks fantastic If we're back in the area...More

Thank Timothy H
Kev P, Owner at Shoeburyness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to us and very much look forward to seeing you again soon in our restaurant! Kind regards Shoeburyness Hotel

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Roslin Beach Hotel
1,947 reviews
2.00 miles away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
519 reviews
2.13 miles away
Camelia Hotel
629 reviews
2.30 miles away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
1,003 reviews
2.75 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Khan Tandoori Restaurant
119 reviews
.04 miles away
The Polash
120 reviews
.61 miles away
Shoeburyness Conservative Club
36 reviews
.50 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Shoebury East Beach
167 reviews
.13 miles away
Shoebury Garrison Conservation area
47 reviews
.33 miles away
Shoebury Common Beach
43 reviews
.99 miles away
The Old Garrison
5 reviews
.22 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
305lee
23 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kev P | Property representative |
I'm sorry to have not answered this sooner. Children are welcome to stay after 9pm in the restaurant. Current Licencing laws state that children under the age of 14 must leave the pub at 9pm and so will not be permitted in... More
0
Votes
Audrey B
16 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from julieb57 | Reviewed this property |
Hi yes there was a large party behind us the other week and they can always move tables together.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 High Street, Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea SS3 9AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Shoeburyness
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 296415
Description
Recently under new ownership, The Shoeburyness Hotel is a friendly and welcoming bar and restaurant. A choice of hot and cold snacks are available in the bar or you can choose to eat from a full and varied menu in our restaurant. Bookings can be made to dine in the restaurant and we welcome 'walk in' diners (subject to availability). The bar itself has a full selection of beers, spirits, wines and non alcoholic drinks whilst the restaurant offers a full wine list, with alcohol free and gluten free choices. With live solo artists at the weekend we look forward to seeing you soon. Whether it be to quench your thirst or dine with us, we are confident that you will be greeted by a warm atmosphere and friendly team.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing