We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Garrison

Campfield Road, Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea SS3 9BX, England
+44 1702 291970
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good15%
  • Average12%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Campfield Road, Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea SS3 9BX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in for lunch and a pint . The staff were friendly and food was good we had steak sandwich baguette , we’ve been back since but weren’t doing food that day, then chef was off so haven’t been again, should find time to...More

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank waynek779
Reviewed 26 October 2018

This place is usually dead. Went on a Friday night and there was no atmosphere, no music, it seemed depressing and half of the pub was shut off. Food is good but slow. Not great value.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank a1vig
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

I’m not going to score this place 1 star as I feel that would be unkind. We heard it was reopen and starting a Sunday Carvery. We went 3 adults and 1 child. We arrived just after 12.15pm and sat down, I ordered drinks which...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JamesandSamantha
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The few minutes wait for Sunday Carvery turned into 50 minutes. This despite the fact that food was clearly visible and being held on the serving area covered by foil. Vegetables were cold, potatoes, Yorkshire puddings and pigs in blankets all had burnt areas on...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank -123-Jayne-456
Mark M, Owner at The Old Garrison, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

I don't normally respond to these comments as I feel everyone is entitled to an opinion, but this is our reputation and for the record we need to post a correct statement. I will answer the points as addressed in the response Firstly the wait...More

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

My bf and I have been in Southend for the weekend, went for breakfast somewhere along the sea front this morning and as we were leaving we saw loads of old American cars, so my bf being a car lover decided to follow them. We...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Abi W
Mark M, Owner at The Old Garrison, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you Abi look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Went there for a Sunday roast. Bar service very slow. Meal took almost an hour to arrive and when it did it wasn't that well heated through. Apart from the nut roast that is, which was so over cooked it was inedible. Roast potatoes barely...More

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank Deb B
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We went here on a hot day and sat in the run down garden with splinters in the garden benches. There was a play area for children, which was nice. The pub itself is traditional and the barman devoid of all character - we tried...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank CheekyLondon
Mark M, Owner at The Old Garrison, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Both Julie and Mark are really sorry to hear about your disappointing visit. We are the new owners and will be re-opening again from Friday 24th Aug. There is still some work to do here with the garden furniture on that specific point we know,...More

Reviewed 27 July 2018

Sat down at a very sticky table. Limited menu and drinks. Place did not look clean. Ordered at the bar and the host added the price up in his head, which came out ridiculously expensive. Walked out.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Sean C
Mark M, Owner at The Old Garrison, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Both Julie and Mark are really sorry to hear about your disappointing visit. We are the new owners and will be re-opening again from Friday 24th Aug. There is still some work to do here but the reason with have shut is to get on...More

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Booked to have an after gathering here as was getting my kids christened. After agreeing to meet at a time to discuss what would happen I can only say I got a cold response. I was told that the landland had emailed me half hour...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank susanknight15885
Mark M, Owner at The Old Garrison, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Suisan Hi, You said you wouldn't come back until it changed hands, well guess what your wish has come true. We are the new owners of the old garrison and we would love for you to come back and see the difference.

Reviewed 7 May 2018

We had walked our dog around the conservation area and ere in need of refuelling on a hot Sunday during the May bank holiday. There was a limited menu of a few barbecue items, but we were hungry and needed a garden where the dog...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank PSA F
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Roslin Beach Hotel
2,018 reviews
1.93 miles away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
533 reviews
2.06 miles away
Camelia Hotel
640 reviews
2.23 miles away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
1,038 reviews
2.67 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Shoeburyness Hotel
296 reviews
.09 miles away
Khan Tandoori Restaurant
124 reviews
.11 miles away
The Polash
125 reviews
.54 miles away
Shoeburyness Conservative Club
36 reviews
.42 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Shoebury East Beach
171 reviews
.21 miles away
Shoebury Common Beach
46 reviews
.94 miles away
Shoebury Garrison Conservation area
51 reviews
.27 miles away
Gunners Park
33 reviews
.20 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Garrison staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Campfield Road, Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea SS3 9BX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Shoeburyness
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 291970
  • E-mail
Description
The Old Garrison offers a great value food menu, a wide selection Lagers, fine wines and premium spirits. A fabulous family friendly beer garden. A "must visit" for locals & visitors alike. At the heart of a busy and vibrant area The Old Garrison is located next to the former Shoeburyness Barracks. Live entertainment there is something for everyone at The Old Garrison. We have an extensive menu to suit everyone's tastes. Why not come and join us for lunch or an early supper? Choose from light bites, traditional pub fare! Relax and enjoy our friendly service in our gorgeous beer garden. Why not bring along the kids? We have a fully equipped play area for them too! Looking for a venue to hold your function or birthday party? Let us know and we will try our best to assist you with your requirements. We always welcome new customers so come along soon. We will go out of our way to make your visit enjoyable, answer any questions and give you a real Garrison welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing