We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$19
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
138
87
21
17
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
138
87
21
17
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger fish and chips the pub ordering food last sunday christmas shopping portion size quick service food was lovely carvery austell ales cornwall
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 7 December 2020

Great meal, excellent service, the app ordering system was abit slow, but other than that, no faults found.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

had lunch at this location the young lady that served us was very polite and friendly and efficient fish was excellent chips were great mushy peas cold and dried out garden peas cold otherwise very good

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

We had lunch here last week whilst doing some shopping and it was terrific. Friendly staff, COVID secure. Ordering was easy using the QR code web link. Food was lovely (I had burger, my partner the bubble and squeak), great portion size and priced very...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 15 September 2020

Visited today after a day of travelling Cornwall. The staff were so pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The food was really tasty, quick service, will be back and would recommend

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

Great pub, delicious food and good value...the best bit was Lauren, the hostess with the mostess...her customer service is impeccable, topped off with an everlasting beautiful smile all night long. Quick mention for the guy who was on service last night too, sorry I didn’t...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 August 2020

Visited this evening ...ordering app very easy to use the best eat out to help out pub we’ve visted over last few weeks staff were excellent really friendly and efficient special mention for Rachel who went above and beyond to help sort very minor issue...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 August 2020

Avoid, it’s really not worth wasting your time or money. Staff incapable, the manager is aggressive to even the politest of requests such as food being kept warm whilst the rest of the order is completed. We were shouted at because we wanted to eat...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
371elliep, Owner at William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

we ask that our customers are understanding at what is a very stressful time trying to manage the Eat Out scheme and maintain a safe environment. Even the simplest request at these times can seem like climbing a mountain for staff that are trying their...More

Reviewed 16 August 2020

Ate here recently, a party of 8 for a 70th birthday meal. It was a late booking as the original restaurant let us down, I felt I needed to leave a review as the staff were brilliant, the food was good, lots of empty plates....More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 August 2020 via mobile

I honestly do not know why anyone can moan about the food or service? We walked in on a busy Wednesday (bearing in mind the government eat out to help out scheme was in full swing), and found a table after being greeted by the...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
371elliep, Owner at William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Thank you for this honest review. Sadly common sense is not gifted to the many, but no shortage in this case. I will pass your comments on to the team. Thank you

Reviewed 10 August 2020

Average basic food for the price even with the 50% off. Service was the worse no care at all poor attitude and clearly didn't want to be there.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
371elliep, Owner at William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review rather than bring any issues you had to our attention during your visit. OR, Maybe you were unable to speak to any members of the team because they were so busy. You see the Government...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mannings Hotel
719 reviews
.15 miles away
Merchant House
649 reviews
.44 miles away
The County Arms
613 reviews
.85 miles away
Premier Inn Truro hotel
1,118 reviews
2.83 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Cornish Vegan
272 reviews
.04 miles away
Bread & Butter
190 reviews
.04 miles away
Yak and Yeti
439 reviews
.01 miles away
Coffee Traders
197 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Truro Cathedral
1,391 reviews
.18 miles away
Royal Cornwall Museum
304 reviews
.04 miles away
Hall for Cornwall
354 reviews
.18 miles away
Lemon Street Market
47 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SueW2124
6 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 371elliep | Property representative |
Yes we have a parking area beside the pub.
0
Votes
kellyg22_10
18 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Sarah B | Reviewed this property |
I would recommend booking just incase x
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about William IV

  • William IV is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4