We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£2 - £8
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (151)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
72
39
11
11
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
72
39
11
11
16
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the best fish and chips Been a few times never let’s us down Will always recommend… Richie and Carol 👍👍👍👍👍☕️☕️☕️

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disappointed as chips were very like warmed up chips, not crispy at all. There was an after taste that was really unpleasant. Fish was quite tasty. One of our party bought a curry sauce, was full of lumps as if not blended properly & proved...inedible. Don't often get fish & chips, had family staying & this was a 'treat'. Most chips went in bin & I was surprised & upset at the quality of iverall meals.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really fancied fish and chips and to treat the children after a busy week. Bought four lots which came to almost £50 (though very good portion sizes). Sadly all ended up in the bin. We were gutted. The chips somehow managed to be a...soggy mess yet not cooked properly, the fish tasted of grease and grease alone. We hate waste and really tried to eat it but sadly it was totally inedible. I was actually rather sick that evening too as what I did eat didn't sit well in my stomach :(. Would suggest avoiding unfortuntley. Such a disapppointment.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane White, Owner at Sole Plaice Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi dcolz, I am so sorry you've had to experience a disappointing meal from us. We had a problem with our pans which unfortunately took us longer to work out what was causing it than we would have liked. We have now resolved the problem...More

Reviewed 20 January 2024

Beautiful piece of fish inside a greasy over cooked batter and served with nearly warm scrappy chips. This was once one of the best fish and chips in the southwest. We have since changed our opinion!🤔🧐😕

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Juse picked up some food from Sole Plaice. I found it disgusting. I only had chips but they can only be described as an inedible luke warm greasy clump . Not luke warm because of a long journey home. We only live down the road....Not recommended. Chips - bin - thank goodness I didnt have fish.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2023

As a fairly regular customer I enjoy eating in the restaurant at Sole Plaice. The fish and chips are usually tasty, the helpings generous and the staff prompt, friendly and helpful. My main criticism is that the food seems to be served on cold plates....This spoils the experience of eating at Sole Plaice because the food (especially chips) gets cold quite quickly, usually by the time I'm about two thirds of the way through the meal. Cold chips are not at all appetising, so to counter the problem, the temptation is to eat too fast, which does not help good digestion! (So far I have never managed to finish a meal without the food being pretty well stone cold by the end). This problem is very easy to address and I'm sure I'm not the only customer who would appreciate food served on nice hot plates.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane White, Owner at Sole Plaice Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Hi John, Thank you for your comments, it's always helpful for us to know where we can improve. I'm guessing you might be having a child's cod as these plates are not kept in the hot cupboard because the normal sized plates usually burn our...More

Reviewed 13 October 2023 via mobile

My family and I have been visiting this fish and chip shop for nearly 30 years and have always loved it , food always fresh and service friendly with a smile . Popped in yesterday (Thursday) and has my usual steamed fish chips and bread...and butter . I asked if I could order a side salad as an extra the server said “oh no ! The salad isn’t great I’m sorry , it’s really not good “ I was surprised at this so I said no salad ? She said I wouldn’t recommend it or serve it but I can see what I can do . I said to my partner what could go wrong with lettuce tomato and cucumber. Not long after our food arrived minus the salad Server said have you got everything ? I replied sorry you’ve missed the salad her reply “ no no salad today it gone off “!!!! But I can try and see if I can give you a tomato and cucumber which I declined after her saying it had gone off This was such a weird thing to say does make you wonder what else had gone off . Couple of tables came in after us and sat near us , food was served to them all with salad !!!! So confusing . Sadly after all these years of coming here it really has put us off returning . Really appreciate the steamed fish and look forward to seeing the response from owner /managerMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane White, Owner at Sole Plaice Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

HI Nicole, I'm sorry to read your remarks on my service on your last visit as it was myself that served you and I do remember steaming your fish for you and having the conversation about the salad. We are a fish and chip shop...More

Reviewed 30 August 2023

Horrible service. Not very clear about sitting in and taking away. Went to sit down and was told to leave. Girl behind counter laughed in our faces denying the fact that she said we could sit in. When we tried the chips they were soggy....And the manager also didnt wear gloves while frying the nuggets. Never EVER going again!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane White, Owner at Sole Plaice Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2023

Dear Georgia I'm sorry to hear that your visit was unsatisfactory with us. I am aware of the incident in question and it involves a new member of staff whom we have spoken to. This was the first time she had encountered customers not distinguishing...More

Reviewed 11 July 2023

Always lovely freshly cooked fish and chips. Good quality and nice they stil use dripping which adds extra flavour. Our go to when we are in Truro.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2023 via mobile

Haddock and chips haddock was a little grease, chip was very nice. The small cod and chips the cod was a little grease but ok and the chips was nice and crispy. Over all the meal was very good, very nice, nice and tasty. Staff...very friendly and polite Give it 8/10More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2023 via mobile

Got to say i had probably the worse fish and chips possible not up to the mark with the fish being in overcooked putrid greasy batter and not at all pleasant as were the chips a strange colour made of small bits of mush and...bits of u pleasant bits of fat from the bottom of the fryer Was once the best fish and chips aroundMore

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2022

We stumbled on the Sole Plaice almost by accident and decided to have lunch in the restaurant. The staff were pleasant and courteous and the service was prompt. However, the best was the food itself. My wife and I both had standard cod and chips...and we agreed that this was the best we've had in a long while. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2021

Always an empty tray when I visit here. Fabulous fish and chips and a lovely atmosphere. Jane and Kelly are absolutely lovely- wishing you a fabulous New Year, and see you in 2022!

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2021

The lady serving was happy and charming. The man at the fryer was rude and kept on arguing with staff members. The food took a long time, over 10 minutes. The food was good though.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JaneWhiteTruro, Owner at Sole Plaice Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2021

Hi George, Thank you for your honest and fair review. We are glad to see that the food was good! But no so to hear about the poor staff behaviour... I offer my full apologies that you had to wait and witness rudeness, the fryer...More

Reviewed 2 December 2021 via mobile

I had to ask the girl server to wash her hands before doing my food order. She kept putting her fingers through he hair. The poor lady before my had to say she had enough salt on her food I really hope it was OK...for her. However my husbands fish was ok but mine was under cooked and slimy. It became cat food. Very disappointed as previously had very good food. We won't be going backMore

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JaneWhiteTruro, Owner at Sole Plaice Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2021

Hi there, I'm sorry to see that your visit with us was disappointing yesterday. As holders of 5 star hygiene award and the National Fish Fryer Federation Quality Award we take cleanliness and hygiene extremely seriously. I have reprimanded the member of staff in question...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mannings Hotel
785 reviews
.20 miles away
The Alverton
1,660 reviews
.46 miles away
Hotel VARA
697 reviews
.56 miles away
The County Arms
794 reviews
.89 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bread & Butter
341 reviews
.10 miles away
Slice Pizza Cornwall
10 reviews
.11 miles away
The Shanaz Indian Restaurant
313 reviews
.12 miles away
Lily's of Truro Cafe & Creative Space
150 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Truro Cathedral
1,472 reviews
.16 miles away
Royal Cornwall Museum
326 reviews
.08 miles away
Victoria Gardens
15 reviews
.15 miles away
Truro Community Library
12 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
18 December 2015|
Answer
Response from JaneWhiteTruro | Property representative |
Unfortunately demand isn't enough for us to eliminate one pan of our four pan range to dedicate to a gluten free option, especially at our peak times. It isn't something we would rule out altogether though, and may be... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SOLE PLAICE FISH & CHIPS, Truro - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sole Plaice Fish & Chips

Yes, Sole Plaice Fish & Chips offers takeaway services.

Sole Plaice Fish & Chips is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5