We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

££ - £££, British,
30 Mill Lane, Welwyn AL6 9ET, England
+44 1438 714366
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (12 reviews)
“chowder” (2 reviews)
“pudding” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
30 Mill Lane, Welwyn AL6 9ET, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ten of us booked here for lunch at 1.00. The food was dreadful, the service was very, very poor - we didn't get out until 3.30 although we only had two courses and no coffee. Certainly won't be going back!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Gill G
Adam R, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Gill G, Thank you for getting in touch. I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit, it doesn't sound like things were up to our usual high standards at all. If you could get in touch to discuss your experience in more detail...More

Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

After just buying a house in Welwyn my partner and I decided to visit this pub for a quick pint and a Sunday lunch. I made a joke in conversation with the barmaid before ordering food as I have noticed other customers meals looked very...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Colin S
Adam R, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Colin, Thank you for getting in touch regarding your visit. I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal - I know you asked for a Vegetarian Roast which we didn't currently offer, but you opted for the components of a roast...More

Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

We went for lunch bit disappointed that full menu was not available at lunchtime and also we finshed eating about 2.50 didn't get asked if we wanted desert which we did and at 3.10 went in to order sorry kitchen closed! Not the way to...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank shisharettes
Adam R, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Shisharette, Thanks for getting in touch, however I'm sorry to inform you that your review relates to The White Horse in Burnham Green, not Welwyn Village - we don't have a pond or ducks (or didn't last time we checked the garden...). Perhaps you...More

Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

The White Horse is set in the quaint essential village of Welwyn. The pub has a great out door beer garden. Friendly staff.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Vincenzo V
Adam R, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Vincenzo, Thanks for your review - really glad you enjoyed your visit, and our friendly staff :-) Hope to see you again next time you're in town. Adam

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We stopped here inbetween children's club drop offs. We walked in and were greeted by the bar man. We ordered out drinks (pretty expensive 7.50 for 2 cokes) but we chose off the menu fish and chips and a seafood chowder. Didn't have to wait...More

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank suzannebL8233ML
Adam R, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Suzanne, Thank you for your review - I'm really glad you enjoyed the Fish & Chips and the Seafood Chowder, my apologies about the scone on the side, I'll make sure to address that with the kitchen team. Regards, Adam

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

This is a true example of a village pub. Great beer, great food, great atmosphere. Anyone who enjoys chain pubs that serve up microwaved food shipped in pre cooked bags, and regularly serve up awful stale ale as opposed to traditional owner run pubs such...More

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank chuck1es
Adam R, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Chuck1es, Lovely review, thanks for the feedback. We're really proud to be a great village local serving great, home cooked food and well-kept beer (and other drinks!) in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Hope to see you again soon for more of the same!...More

Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Went here to watch the England game , good pint of Doombar ! Great big screen in the garden with terrific atmosphere, shame about England’s performance! But a win is good 🤗

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank johnnygw
Adam R, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Johnnygw, Thank you for the review, shame we couldn't do more about the result. Really glad you enjoyed the big screen, great pint of doom bar and the atmosphere. Adam

Reviewed 23 April 2018

I booked this for a special event for all my family and we were all extremely disappointed. It was the worst meal we have all ever had and we would certainly not go back. The food was over cooked, tasteless and we had to wait...More

Date of visit: April 2018
3  Thank jillym007
Adam R, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Jillym, I'm really sorry to read your feedback on your visit. At no point during your visit were any problems brought to the attention of the staff or manager on duty. We always encourage feedback at the time so that we can go the...More

Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Decided last minute to go for lunch. Car park was full at 1pm but parking on the road was ok. Lunch (we both had the burgers) was delicious and honestly the only time I have eaten all the salad and left the chips. Waited quite...More

Date of visit: February 2018
3  Thank m4martina
Adam R, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Martina, Thank you for your review. Really glad you enjoyed your burgers (all homemade on site), and the salad. Hopefully on your next visit we'll turn that 4* into a 5! Regards, Adam

Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We had a family lunch in the conservatory restaurant and couldn't fault it.The food was well cooked and reasonably priced and they have an excellent choice of beers. The waitress was lovely and unhurried. Definitely one to return to and recommend which is always the...More

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank Paul D
Adam R, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Paul D, Thank you for your lovely review, its great to hear you had an enjoyable family lunch. Even better to hear you regard us as possibly the best pub in welwyn! We're chuffed with that. I'll pass your positive comments on to the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The White Hart Hotel
99 reviews
.10 miles away
The Lodge Welwyn
2 reviews
.16 miles away
The Node
12 reviews
1.60 miles away
Travelodge Welwyn Garden City
67 reviews
2.08 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Vita Ristorante Italiano
342 reviews
.08 miles away
Lemon Plaice
131 reviews
.06 miles away
AQUA
317 reviews
.09 miles away
The White Hart Hotel
107 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Welwyn Roman Baths
94 reviews
.21 miles away
Tulip Clinic
54 reviews
1.98 miles away
Mardleybury Gallery
48 reviews
2.00 miles away
Knebworth House
403 reviews
2.91 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$31
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
00:00 - 23:59
Friday
00:00 - 23:59
Saturday
00:00 - 23:59
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 30 Mill Lane, Welwyn AL6 9ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn
  • Phone Number: +44 1438 714366
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing