We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Caraway

Claimed
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
After-hours
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

Reviews (770)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveller rating
157
115
97
145
256
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
157
115
97
145
256
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 770 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

So there’s a reason they do two meals for one , the food was very average. I didn’t want to complain as you don’t pay a lot for the food , however I probably wouldn’t visit again as my food was burnt and pipping hot...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Jwhiteford
Caraway17, Manager at The Caraway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good evening Sorry to hear that your food wasn't to your satisfaction. If we had known about the fact your food was burnt we would have replaced it for a fresh meal. Glad to hear that it was piping hot. If you would like to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looking for a tasty lunch, with good service (thanks Hannah) whilst in Carmarthen, then try The Caraway. Two good meals with free starters (or desert) for £14 has to be a winner.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank T3sco
Caraway17, Manager at The Caraway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon Great to hear that the staff are being mentioned in this comment. Lovely to know that you had a good dining experience with us. Yes we do have fantastic deals one for each day. Thank you Regards The Caraway

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited a few days ago, 2 for 1 steak meals just as good as usual, all freshly cooked (with possible exception of the peas). Nice to see management have picked up on the previous issues with staffing levels, now plenty of servers and bar...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Richard L
Caraway17, Manager at The Caraway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good evening Thank you for your lovely comments and feed back. Glad to hear that you had a wonderful time visiting us. Looking forwarding in seeing you next time you call in. Thanks again The Caraway

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reading previous reviews we were in a dilemma to come here with my family. Food was great and so was the service. Big thumbs up from us. Thank you

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 156jessamyj
Caraway17, Manager at The Caraway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good evening Thank you for your feed back. I'm glad that you wanted to make your own mind up about us here and we proved the reviews wrong. Lovely to hear that the food was great. Looking forward in see you again. Regards The Caraway

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came over to the bar to order food waited a while to be served by a member of staff three messing about in the back while we waited then they saw us and quickly came to serve. No apology for being kept waiting. I ordered...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Loisliv18
Caraway17, Manager at The Caraway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning Please accept my humble apologies. I will be speak to the staff so that one member of the team is on the bar at any one time. I will also speak to the kitchen team regarding the presentation of the meal. As you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Poor service. Description of the dish didn’t match the food served, even when it was brought to their attention they said they would fix it but they didn’t do anything. It was pretty much dead there however no member of staff checked everything was ok...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank JessJR2
Caraway17, Manager at The Caraway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning I can only apologies for the fact no one had fix the problem that you had with your meal when you dined with us. Please can you specify what dish you are relating to so that I can investigate this issue with the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came in for food with my family, had amazing service and the food was incredible. Very quick food, very tasty and the staff were ever so polite and friendly. We all felt really welcome in this pub and would 100% recommend it.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Louiseevans
Caraway17, Manager at The Caraway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon Thank you for your kind and wonderful comments. Glad that all the family enjoyed. Looking forward in see you again. Regards The Caraway

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I ordered the curry dish on the specials menu I was told that they had 'run out' of rice and it would come with chips!! My husband had to change his order as he only eats rice with curry. I had the plaice and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Sharyminn
Caraway17, Manager at The Caraway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Evening Sorry to hear that your dining experience wasn't great. I can only apologies for the fact that we had run out of rice and that the chips were "soggy and unappetizing". I have spoken with the kitchen team regarding this matter. If you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not bad food here. I've enjoyed all my meals despite family having some issues. It is usually busy so if you want a quiet place to eat I would recommend somewhere else. Nice little outdoor area to eat which is lovely in the summer. Can't...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Lyndsay R
Caraway17, Manager at The Caraway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon Thank you for your comments. Yes we do have a large play area out side for children that is great in the summer. We are a busy place at times as you can imagine. Grateful for your feedback. Regards The Caraway

Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

Went here today for late lunch and had a friendly greeting upon arrival. The place was very quiet which is to be expected at 3pm. I had beef lasagne and my sister had steak and ale pie which both were medium size portion but was...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 51geraintj
Caraway17, Manager at The Caraway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good afternoon Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you had a lovely experience with us. Looking forward in seeing you again on your next visit. Regards The Caraway

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 nearby hotels
The Drovers Arms Hotel
94 reviews
.60 miles away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
215 reviews
.60 miles away
Boar's Head Hotel
232 reviews
.61 miles away
Rose and Crown Hotel
134 reviews
.61 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 153 nearby restaurants
Karm'en Kafe
91 reviews
.60 miles away
Diablo's on the Quay
656 reviews
.51 miles away
Pantri Blakeman
102 reviews
.57 miles away
Diablo's
198 reviews
.61 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 47 nearby attractions
Carmarthen Market
87 reviews
.70 miles away
Carmarthen Castle
161 reviews
.61 miles away
St. Peter's Church
16 reviews
.73 miles away
Oriel Myrddin Gallery
16 reviews
.78 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tuckerskinner
26 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from dave_delux | Property representative |
The full main menu is available all day every day as well as Sunday lunch on Sundays
1
Vote
Louisehaydn
29 December 2015|
Answer
Response from sadolinhound | Reviewed this property |
No they are not. From the children's menu it's £3.99 which is good for what you get! (Also, there's fruit juices available for children which is sweet.)
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing