We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canal Tavern - CLOSED

49 Frome Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LE, England
+44 1225 681930
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“pickled eggs” (3 reviews)
“salad” (11 reviews)
“sunday roast” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
49 Frome Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LE, England
All Details
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

This was a place we would go for drinks and eat regularly. Not this summer. The temporary management obviously didn't have a clue about the business. Fairly useless, what was Wadworth thinking putting them in place. Systematicly turning a great place into a ghost pub....More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Hayler101
Donna B, Last manager at Canal Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

I would be intrested in when exactly u visited this establishment as the management you are refering to left the pub over 3 weeks ago after making profit for the company continuously thoughout the summer Surprisingly really if the service was so bad . It...More

Reviewed 29 October 2018

It's a grubby boozer that needs significant investment in its services, loos, not to mention appointing a warm and welcoming licensee who knows how to keep customers returning. Come on Wadworth, you can do better.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank James O
Donna B, Manager at Canal Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Sorry u felt that way i was the last manager there which i was put in as an emergency to hold it though the summer it is now closed till further notice i thinl wadworth are doing arevamp in jan hope that helps

Reviewed 24 September 2018

Dark and dingy 'pub' with grim and tired decor. Glassware was dirty. Full of unfriendly locals who exchanged glares and sniggers as we walked in and as we left the pub. Stayed for a very quick drink and left. Really awful compared to the other...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AMc0891
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We intended to have a drink here but the place was really unwelcoming and looked untidy and messy. The beers on offer weren’t very inspiring either. Given its location it wasn’t very busy which probably tells a story

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Karen90
Donna B, Manager at Canal Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hi sorry u felt that way the pub is due to have a major revamp soon and we are only there tempory and to keep it open for the summer could u please clarify why it was unwelcoming

Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Wouldn’t normally write a bad review but went here for lunch whilst stopped off on the canal yesterday. First of all no menus to read from on tables. When we did order, half of the menu was unavailable, took about 15 mins to order 6...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Alex S
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

I absolutely detest writing bad reviews but on this occasion I do feel it necessary. My family and I came in here on Saturday lunch time for a meal. We ordered two salads, a burger and ham eggs and chips. There were no other customers...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Megan P
Donna B, Manager at Canal Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Im responding to your review as i feel its unfair and inaccurate, you was not the only customers, the pub was full because of the football, your food did not take that long either, but do bare in mind that its all freshly made by...More

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Went for a drink and food at lunch time today. The overall experience was extremely poor. Our group ordered food seperatley, but within five minutes of each other. However, the food arrived staggered and there was a 50 minute gap from the first meal arriving...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Joe1138
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped in Bradford on Avon, intending to visit the other place on the canal, but it was heaving, not the nice, quiet sort of place we like, so we went to the pub next door. Glad we did, found a comfy spot outside, in the...More

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank JBMouse101
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Came in with the intention of eating but heard there was an hour wait for food, although not particularly busy. But the treatment of two elderly customers who waited far longer was appallingly rude!!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank neilchant6
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We booked a table for 14 people a few months in advance to ensure no problem with such a large group. 3 days before the event we are told that the booking is cancelled as the chef has left. No concern for our predicament at...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank DavidT0001
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Swan Hotel
274 reviews
.41 miles away
Bradford Old Windmill
52 reviews
.51 miles away
Widbrook Grange
659 reviews
.88 miles away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
618 reviews
1.00 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Ravello
362 reviews
.32 miles away
Canal Trust Cafe
107 reviews
.09 miles away
The Lock Inn Cafe
760 reviews
.02 miles away
Pablo's
179 reviews
.38 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bradford-on-Avon Wharf
161 reviews
.25 miles away
Tithe Barn
338 reviews
.14 miles away
The Saxon Church, Bradford on Avon
219 reviews
.36 miles away
Bradford on Avon Museum
65 reviews
.32 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 49 Frome Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Bradford-on-Avon
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 681930
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing