We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Olde House Restaurant


Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Bar, British, Pub
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaice pie salmon outdoor play area function room light bite big party christmas day have eaten here relaxed atmosphere great pub disco marstons quiz fayre mustard
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I witnessed a member of management a big burly man verbally attack a group of women customers because they apparently moved a table topper. They tried to politely sort the issue out but was shot down by this flower wearing giant. I hope they got...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Jasonlee28
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely appalled by how bad the food was. Booked a table for my mum's birthday for us all as that's where she wanted to go. Got there and the table was dirty just had a reserved sign on. Someone came up to me and was...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Emily C
OldeHouse, General Manager at Olde House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, We're so very sorry to hear that you visit to us fell so short of expectations. We really do care about our guests and would like nothing more than to be able to have the opportunity to show you that we have better customer...More

Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

This is a Marstons pub serving a good choice of food and pizzas . First visit over the Xmas period as our usual place was closed. We were prepared for the usual type of chain pub food but this wasn't too bad . My chicken...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank RonayEgonX
Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

Visited for a Boxing Day meal with our family who live locally. Unfortunately, we were hugely disappointed!! We had booked in advance for a table of 6, however our table was laid for 5 with only 4 seats. The waitress said she would resolve before...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank VoyagerVal100
OldeHouse, General Manager at Olde House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2018

Dear Guest I was very sorry to hear that your table on Boxing day wasn't suitable for your requirements, we were rather busy as we always are on Boxing Day. We did find that some customers did sit on the wrong tables which meant that...More

Reviewed 14 November 2018 via mobile

Me and my family have been going to the Olde House for many years and I've found recently that standards have slipped. On this occasion, the food and the customer service was very poor. In particularly the customer service from the landlady was extremely poor....More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jamin08
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2018

Dear Jamin. I was very sad to hear your review with regard to your recent visit. Yes we did have a problem with every printer in the entire pub including the kitchen . A customer mentioned that he had been waiting too long for his...More

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

It's been a few months since we are here, and it's been spruced up a bit and a pizza bar added, so we hoped for the usual good food. My wife ordered a burger and asked for mayo with it when it came to the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Paulgerrymarsden
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Hi Paul I am very sorry that your recent visit to us wasn't up to your expectations. I would be happy to discuss your visit in more detail. The menu we have now has 5 different pies that are selling very well with lots of...More

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

A table of 9 of us came for a birthday meal. Food took ages to come out to the point where my husband had almost finished his meal before mine even arrived. The waitress was rude. Paid extra for pepperoni on my pizza and got...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Charlotte E
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Charlotte I was very very sad to hear about your visit. We were very busy but that is no excuse for the service that you received. If you could contact me on 01246 274321 to discuss further your visit I would appreciate the chance...More

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We are regulars at the Olde House but our visit tonight was disappointing. I ordered 8oz Rump cooked rare and the Mrs had a lasagna . When the meals arrived , mine looked bland and dry and the steak was cooked rare but was really...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank mar1964_13
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Hi I am very sorry that we let you down on your recent visit to us. Unfortunately it is very difficult for me to comment on why your steak was on the tough side, we have to rely on our suppliers making sure that the...More

Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

When arriving to the Olde House we were greeted by a very unfriendly member of staff, a woman with long red/brown hair. She never cracked a smile and was not friendly at all to talk too. Working in the business industry myself, I understand that...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Zoë F
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Hi Zoe thank you for your feed back and I will make sure that on quiz nights I will have only smiley staff working :) With regard to your drinks we do take accusations like this very serious. Our beer lines are cleaned after every...More

Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

So we ended up here because the Rutland was closed for the night. We held our wedding reception here and had fond memories of the place, not the case now. The place was 90% empty, the bar area was more like a disco, music too...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Bareboat
oldehouse, Manager at Olde House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Customer I was very sorry to hear about your recent visit was not to your enjoyment. We have quiz nights on Sunday and Tuesday that is ran by our resident DJ so we do have music in the background playing and also on a...More

View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 nearby hotels
Abbeydale Hotel
251 reviews
1.08 miles away
Buckingham's Hotel
255 reviews
1.09 miles away
Casa Hotel
1,624 reviews
1.20 miles away
Travelodge Chesterfield
183 reviews
1.20 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 408 nearby restaurants
130 reviews
.83 miles away
Holmebrook Valley Park Cafe
19 reviews
.61 miles away
Cafe Selin
8 reviews
.40 miles away
Newbold Fish Bar
17 reviews
.46 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 118 nearby attractions
Denby Pottery Factory
383 reviews
1.08 miles away
Holmebrook Valley Park
102 reviews
.61 miles away
ProAct Stadium
77 reviews
1.12 miles away
Tapton Lock Visitor Centre
11 reviews
1.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
20 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jordan L | Reviewed this property |
When we've been we've only booked large parties, just simply ring them on 01246 274321 and request to book a table! Hopefully there's availability! It's always nice up there
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing