We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

H & F Vintage Tearoom

4 New Beetwell Street, Chesterfield S40 1QR, England
+44 1246 556079
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (82 reviews)
“scones” (40 reviews)
“eggs royale” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 16:00 Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4 New Beetwell Street, Chesterfield S40 1QR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Cannot praise this place enough. Relaxing and comfortable with a great selection of breakfasts, lunches, wonderful cakes and scones baked fresh each day in the tearoom bakery. There is also a huge selection of drinks including many traditional loose teas. The staff work quickly and...More

Thank Sally Victoria W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have visited vintage tea rooms on many occasions and have always had a pleasant experience - until today!!!! I normally have the Welsh Rarebit, but really fancied a burger, the special was a burger, hand made, with macaroni cheese on top, what’s not to...More

Thank MrsSueP
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very cosy tea room with relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff. With a wide variety of teas & coffees it’s hard to choose so I have to keep visiting to make sure I’m not missing out! The food is delicious & the homemade cakes to...More

Thank PKCardy1986
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a great atmosphere!! Lovely food!! Friendly, fast service. Have visited this friendly and relaxing place twice now. It’s a real gem !!! Cakes and scones are amazing. Well worth a visit or three !!!

Thank Liz H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dropped in to have a cup of tea, found a table easily as it wasn't particularly busy, and ordered a tea at the counter. Waited around 20 mins,with no tea appearing. Tried in vain to catch the attention of anyone - including a lady (who...More

Thank janey58
Vintage T, Owner at H & F Vintage Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi. I’m sorry you didn’t have a nice experience when you visited us. It is true that sometimes mistakes happen and it is up to us to make sure these are resolved to you satisfaction. We are in the process of training new staff and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came here with my friend on a Tuesday afternoon. We were told that there was an available table in the far corner. This table had not been cleared, but a few minutes later a waitress came and cleared the table and took our orders....More

Thank I8460ZCclairel
Vintage T, Owner at H & F Vintage Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Claire. I understand you not being too happy to sit at a dirty table when you visited us. We try and get round to clear tables as soon as we can. In an ideal world we wouldn’t sit anybody down until the tables have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My first visit and most definitely my last! The staff had a bit of an attitude upon arrival even though we had booked it seemed to be our problem that our reserved table had people sat at it! I asked what the special was to...More

1  Thank Emawick
Vintage T, Owner at H & F Vintage Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

First of all let me offer my sincere apology’s for what was obviously a terrible experience you had at the tea rooms when you visited us. This is never acceptable to me and you can be assured I will speak to my staff about this...More

Reviewed 6 September 2018

Visited Chesterfield for the day and tried this cafe as off beaten track. Nicely done out. Just had coffee (fine) and slice of cake. Cakes were not priced (clue) so when £3.50 was rung in I was taken aback. Instead of declining,I paid and imagined...More

2  Thank Chiltern5255
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

The cakes here are absolutely gorgeous. I usually come in on a friday as thats when the vegan cakes are available and the atmosphere is such a welcome change to what is normally expected in tea rooms. The only downside is being unable to visit...More

Thank Emily R
Vintage T, Owner at H & F Vintage Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you Emily. That is a lovely review. I’m glad you enjoy our vegan cakes. We would have them everyday but as yet there isn’t enough demand, and nobody likes to throw cake away 😱. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

I have visited these tea rooms with my mum 3 times now and every time really enjoyed the experience! The decor is fab, cakes are delicious and staff super helpful and really friendly! They squeezed us in for afternoon tea when booking in the morning...More

Thank Alice S
Vintage T, Owner at H & F Vintage Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is always nice for the staff to hear they are doing a great job. They are a fantastic team. I’m lucky to have them all. I believe we are one of the cheapest afternoon teas in...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Chesterfield
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
899 reviews
.23 miles away
Abbeydale Hotel
243 reviews
.52 miles away
Buckingham's Hotel
252 reviews
.56 miles away
Casa Hotel
1,602 reviews
1.17 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Organic Kitchen Chesterfield UK
195 reviews
.05 miles away
The Market Pub
662 reviews
.14 miles away
No 10 Tea Room
169 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Parish Church of St Mary and All Saints
598 reviews
.16 miles away
Queen's Park
144 reviews
.26 miles away
Pomegranate Theatre
142 reviews
.26 miles away
Olympia House Antiques & Craft Centre
42 reviews
.45 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Neil M
26 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 279vintaget | Property representative |
Hi we always have a selection of gluten free cakes and sandwiches available. Hope this helps.
1
Vote
Jenny W
7 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from 279vintaget | Property representative |
Hi Yes we do have high chairs. Regards Louise.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:30
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 New Beetwell Street, Chesterfield S40 1QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Chesterfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1246 556079
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing