We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Inn

££ - £££, British,
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
+44 1629 813635
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (90 reviews)
“pie” (58 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I came here with my partner for lunch and a drink. Food was lovely and lovely beer garden, however, the lunch was ruined by the rude staff when it came to paying. They failed to explain to us whether we are ordering from the specials...More

5  Thank Naila M
thepeacockbakewell, False words are not only evil in themselves, but they infect the soul with evil, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Quite frankly Nalia M I find your review an absolute disgrace - yes I will repeat an absolute disgrace, and you should be ashamed of yourself, as nobody was rude in the slightest to you - not even 1% You came to the Peacock with...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

First time went there for drinks in the beer garden and it's been very pleasant. The place gives out that vibe of an old English country pub. Hanging baskets are so beautiful and just add to the charm. We came back to the pub the...More

2  Thank evao915
thepeacockbakewell, We are is how we came out. No one's perfect and you just have to accept your flaws and learn to love yourself, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Although we thank you for taking time out to post what is essentially a very nice review evao915, I feel you have taken the mindset of being a critic for critics sake! You loved the Peacock and it's ambiance on your first visit, you decided...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying in Bakewell as a stop over and chose The Peacock for one night. Nothing to say that was horrendous but nothing amazing either. I know places in the Peak District can be more expensive because of their location but I personally thought...More

7  Thank Jenni H
thepeacockbakewell, Style is a reflection of your attitude and your personality, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Pretty average person puts a pretty average review sums it up really because anyone who says our burgers our just normal pub burgers has an attitude problem! People may hear your words, but they feel your attitude, as weakness of attitude becomes weakness of character....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Found a shady garden bench on very hot day in busy town centre. Food looked a bit pricy but the sandwiches were fine especially the sirloin steak topped with stilton which was fantastic. Pleasant staff and good range of real ales including several from the...More

1  Thank John D
thepeacockbakewell, It’s a very good pub lunch, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It’s all good at the Peacock John D, but thanks for saying it - Peak Ales bitter, it doesn’t get any better, but again thanks for saying it!!! And those Steak & Stilton sandwiches worth every penny ‘cos they’re amazing - but thanks for saying...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in for dinner.I love fish finger sandwiches,so i ordered peacocks own version,and what a version,i was blown away by it,big juicy fish fingers covered in perfect batter,chips were great,tartar sauce and thick cut bread,will be ordering it again next time im in bakewell.

1  Thank nozkel
thepeacockbakewell, We want people to be blown away when we do what they don't expect, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your thoughts nozkel, as yes we do our own versions of many choices off our menu and the fish-finger sandwich is up there with the best of 'em!!! Our aim is to blow you away - metaphorically speaking of course!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

stopped in for a quick pint to escape my family and loved it, staff were friendly and the atmosphere was welcoming (unlike a lot of the tumbleweed pubs in the area). nice garden and good selection reasonably priced pints. if i weren't on holiday, i'd...More

Thank katygrubb
thepeacockbakewell, Just be patient. Let the game come to you. Don't rush. Be quick, but don't hurry., at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for popping in katygrubb and as a result posting kind words of you having a quick pint with us, and I'd have to agree the staff are friendly within a welcoming atmosphere as it takes two to tango - if you get my drift!,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here for dinner mid week, the pub was fairly quiet (possibly because England football match on). Usual choice of pub food, we opted for the chicken & ham pie - it was delicious & so much filling, chips were done well and great choice...More

Thank Jo R
thepeacockbakewell, Life is too short not to celebrate nice moments! at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Very nice food regardless if England were playing or not Jo R, but we thank you for your positive review on yes what was a quiet night all down to the football I guess - everything back to normal now with England coming home!!! At...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

went in TWIX Xmas day And New Year------having feasted on masses of turkey 2 of us went for the FISH + CHIPS, the other THAI FISH CAKES,,,,,,,on ordering the Everescent Landlord gave us a knowing WINK What duly arrived was the largest piece of Fish...More

1  Thank brian m
thepeacockbakewell, An effervescent person wins, not only people but the life too, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

brian m - we are humbled with your beautiful comments, because a nod's as good as a wink to a blind horse - or something along those lines, so thank you for posting lovely comments about our amazing fish (cod of course) and particularly the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was on a Monday recently with the farmers market, very busy, but despite the place being packed out we only waited 30 minutes for our food at lunch time. Food was good, staff took the time to tell us how long we had to...More

Thank Karen B
thepeacockbakewell, Life is way better than social media, I recommend it to anyone who has forgotten they have one, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

A good honest review coming in from Karen B, for which we thank you!!! No whinging (because we were busy), understanding that the staff are pulled out and give 100% (Bakewell, especially the Peacock) packed as usual on a warn sunny day). We love, and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I chose this restaurant because I’d been in Bakewell that day and it looked like cosy little pub for dinner. We were really looking forward to our meal when we sat down. The smells wafting from the kitchen certainly got our tastebuds tingling. I had...More

7  Thank oystercatcher198
thepeacockbakewell, Anyone can make mistakes, but only an idiot persists in their error, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately oystercatcher198 you ordered the OAP (Pensioners Special) Fish that is HALF THE PRICE of our ENORMOUS cod that we serve and consequently half the size!!! We offer this choice to the many visitors who simply find the fish we serve too big for their...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Bakewell
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1,045 reviews
.10 miles away
Bagshaw Hall
457 reviews
.17 miles away
The Lathkil Hotel
197 reviews
1.51 miles away
Hassop Hall Hotel
529 reviews
2.28 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
579 reviews
.04 miles away
Upstairs Cafe
201 reviews
.04 miles away
555 reviews
.04 miles away
The Lime Lounge Coffee House
399 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Monsal Trail
1,288 reviews
.55 miles away
Bakewell Old House Museum
205 reviews
.24 miles away
All Saints Church
119 reviews
.18 miles away
Thornbridge Brewery
89 reviews
.64 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle B
12 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately if you are a dog owner/lover Michelle, we only allow dogs outside on the patio beer garden area. I hope that answers your question and we may see you during the summer months when it is more likely you can eat... More
7 March 2016|
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately for the few SolihullStew we are not dog friendly as you put it inside the pub and dining area. Yes, in the beer garden we embrace dogs, as just in the home a dogs place is in the outside world, not for us... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$13 - US$29
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 813635
  • E-mail
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing