We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cardinals Hatt

) #7 of 37 Restaurants in Saltash ££ - £££ , European, British
Callington Road | Hatt, Saltash, England
+44 1752 845888
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good29%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (23 reviews)
“sunday roast” (12 reviews)
“pork” (9 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub, Grill, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Callington Road | Hatt, Saltash, England
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely disgusting filthy damp hotel !!!!!! Cold wet damp rooms dirty bathroom mound onwalls, cracked bath, damp beds with ants in themMore

1  Thank Gill D
Cardinalsmanagement, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Gill D I am sorry to see you had a bad experience when you stayed with us last. I can assure you that all feedback is taken on board, both positive and negative, and used to improve what we offer here at The Cardinals...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just visited as we were hungry and were driving past. The rest restaurant area was decorated in a lovely manner that looked clean and tidy. The bar service was very quick and polite. The burgers were very tasty and well cooked. My only disappointment was...More

Thank imafussymoo
Cardinalsmanagement, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello imafussymoo Thank you for your great review. We are really pleased to see you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We would really appreciate it if you would share your great feedback with your family and friends. We are constantly aiming to improve the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bit dark inside for lunch time. Service was good, food fine, ample parking , bar has a good selection of drinks

Thank christine w
Cardinalsmanagement, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Christine W Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to see you enjoyed your food and drinks with us. We hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Luke Herring Deputy General Manager The Cardinals Hatt

Reviewed 21 May 2017

We have now visited this establishment many times over the year going as far back as when my late Mother worked there in the 50's/60's & it was a little country pub named The Hollands Inn & it was frequented mostly by farmers & local...More

Thank _lvpudner1949
Cardinalsmanagement, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello _lvpudner1949 Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback for us. We are currently reviewing our menu, keep your eyes peeled over the next couple of weeks for our summer menu. We have made some alterations to our menu after listening to...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night , lovely bar staff,drinks were a reasonable price. The reception staff were pleasant . The room itself was basic, Had ample tea , coffee and biscuits in the room . Bed was really comfortable .tv in room shower was hot...More

Thank Giuseppina1959
Cardinalsmanagement, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Giuseppina1959 Thank you for leaving your feedback for us. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to offer the best of both worlds, good food, comfortable accommodation, friendly atmosphere and all at a reasonable cost. We...More

Reviewed 7 May 2017

Stayed here years ago but visited the restaurant for an early evening meal very good steak and chicken.More

1  Thank Sodit69
Cardinalsmanagement, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Sodit69 Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Its great to hear you enjoyed your steak on your last visit to The Cardinals Hatt. Why not come and visit us again soon? We have a fantastic steak night offer on...More

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Me and my mom were down for the night to go to the navy base the next day, we had had a long drive. Staff were so welcoming when we arrived really helpful. Rooms were clean and fresh couldn't fault it. We went to the...More

1  Thank Leona R
Cardinalsmanagement, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Leona R Thank your for your feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps we will see you again next time you are visiting in the area? Kind Regards Luke Herring Deputy General Manager The Cardinals Hatt

Reviewed 1 May 2017

I had to go to Cornwall last weekend and had to stay in a B&B or hotel. So found this one to be quite close to where I wanted to be and a good price compared to other similar places. I checked in and was...More

Thank underwaterbicycle
Cardinalsmanagement, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Underwaterbicycle Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am really pleased to see you were happy with the quality of your accommodation during your stay with us. However I am sorry to see that breakfast did not meet with...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

My son and I recently came for Sunday lunch and I have to say it is so overpriced we will not be returning. £32 for 2 roasts and 2 glasses of pepsi is ridiculous. There are so many other places that offer good Sunday roasts...More

Thank deejay73
Manager T, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Good afternoon, thank you for your comments, i am sorry you had a bad experience with us when you visited, we have looked into this matter and we have now had are food price reduced on a Sunday to £10.95. if you wish to speak...More

Reviewed 20 April 2017

We went here for a birthday meal there were 10 adults 2 children, it was a Sunday so carvery was on offer, beef or pork. Now where to start, the beef was very tough and the pork i send back as it had more fat...More

Thank Jessica N
Manager T, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Good evening, Thank you for your comments, they have been passed onto the General Manager who is looking into this matter. as you are not aware we have been taken over by a company and food quality and pricing is a top of the list...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Weary Friar
130 reviews
2.57 miles away
Just Be
123 reviews
2.81 miles away
Notterbridge Inn
352 reviews
.92 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Port Eliot House & Gardens
53 reviews
3.38 miles away
Royal Albert Bridge
69 reviews
2.92 miles away
Saltash Waterside
39 reviews
2.83 miles away
Antony House
186 reviews
3.52 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
samanthajane2
Hi, are you dog friendly by any chance? We have 2 small border terriers. Many thanks, Sam
20 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from ALISON G |
hi Alison we absolutely welcome dogs here :0)
0
Votes
Elaine F
Have you increased your Sunday Lunch price? We have visited recently and paid £14.50 and I am sure it used to be £12.50p. With the price going up, I was surprised that the food portion went down; the Yorkshire puddings were smaller, the vegetables to share for two were ridiculously small, one cauliflower floret each, one piece of broccoli, about equivalent to half a carrot each and three green beans each. Thank goodness it still tasted great.
21 October 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from champignon1 | Reviewed this property |
hi you have sent your question to a contributor not the restaurant. But that sounds a bit of a poor show to me as well.
1
Vote
Roger A
When will i get a reply about my concerns regarding the standard and quality of food served ?
22 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Cardinalsmanagement | Property representative |
Hello Roger, We replied to your concerns last week. If you wish to discuss this in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact us. We hope you've had a lovely Christmas and have a happy new year.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$29
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Callington Road | Hatt, Saltash, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Saltash
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 845888
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the Cardinals Hatt, which is on the site of the old Holland Inn in Saltash. Our superbly refurbished restaurant, bar and patio area are now open for business. The restaurant is open to for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We are happy to provide private dinning for your special occasions (by prior arrangement).We have comfortable rooms available on a Bed and Breakfast basis. All our rooms are ensuite and come with colour TV's, Tea and Coffee making facilities, off road private parking and a full English Breakfast which is served in our restaurant. Our room rates are highly competitive.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing