We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
99
90
37
28
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
99
90
37
28
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes ice cream roast dinner fish and chips pet shop christmas display farm shop salad bar lovely place to visit coffee and cake plenty of space car park plants gifts gardening sharon wake
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 7 December 2021

Visited your restaurant for a Christmas lunch today with my friend from Romania who for a starter had the gridled pear and walnut salad. After the first mouthful, it brought a tear to his eye as he remembered childhood memories of his Christmas food. Our...waitress, Sharon, was very helpful and extremely attentive. The food was excellently prepared, delivered very hot and we were even given time between courses to let our food settle before the next course. Full praise to the chefs for excellent food over a very busy lunchtime service. Would very much recommend you to visit for excellent food and service. 10/10 for ambience, service and food. Once again, thank you for a great lunch.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 24 November 2021

Very friendly staff and well presented. Sharon our server was helpful with alternatives. Food was hot and tasty and beverage was hot. Definitely visit again, lovely place.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 21 November 2021

I visited your restaurant today (21/10/21) with my daughters and son-in-law. It was a very busy lunchtime period. We had to queue for a short while outside in a cold breeze but when seated, the waitress and serving staff were very attentive. Food and drink...were served very quickly and the food was piping hot. The only downside is the nurseries management don't fully appreciate their staff and don't pay them enough for all the hard work that they do. Well done to the restaurant staff! You really do deserve good praise in these trying times. Thank you all.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 11 November 2021

Miserable staff… except one lady who I think was trying to make up for all the rest of them! Ordered tea and drinks… cups and glasses were filthy so had to ask for replacements, also ordered 3 baguettes and some chips.. the chips were rock...hard … like they had been fried.. then refried again numerous times..!! One of the sausage and bacon baguettes actually had a squashed pea in it!!! Absolutely vile place!!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 7 November 2021 via mobile

Have been coming here twice a year for 18 years and I don’t know really where to begin. Entered by the temporary entrance for the restaurant to find four people coming out and not using the exit , one way in one way out. Waited...in the queue for a few minutes then showed to a table, this is where everything started to go downhill. I watched a member of staff clean a table near by she actually missed more than half of it unacceptable during Covid Waitress came for order which we placed and paid for. Meanwhile a family of 5 sat at the table nearby.They also placed their order. After about 5 minutes a waitress delivered meals to their table told her it wasn’t theirs she returned towards the kitchen a few minutes passed still not received our meals but tables who came in after us had got theirs. Then she tried to deliver 2 meals again to the same table told again not theirs asked if it was table 34 they replied yes ours was table 36. After about 5 minutes I asked what the meals were she had brought turned out to be ours. A gentleman from that table beckoned someone and said they were our meals. Out they came again my husband had ordered gammon delivered ham said it wasn’t ours. Another lady came the gammon had gone to another table presumably the ham was theirs, told there was a gammon in the kitchen so got that one. Then my meal chips were cold told they would bring more chips then on tasting the scampi that was also cold. Not really surprising after about 10 mins going backwards and forwards, my husband tasted his also cold, at this stage we decided to leave. Service absolutely appalling it was a total disaster from start to finish awfully disappointed.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Dean B, General Manager at Tamar View Nurseries and Garden Centre Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2021

Thankyou for your feed back. We are extremely to sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience at our restaurant. It is not the level of service we expect our customers to receive. We cannot look to make any excuses for this inadequate...More

Reviewed 1 November 2021 via mobile

Hi my wife and I had our Sunday lunch here yesterday lovely roast lamb with plenty of vegetables and whole meal piping hot.The staff were attentive and the cost of our meal good value in these tougher times.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 October 2021

Went to Tamar nurseries twice this week had such a nice and well presented Breakfast LOVELY.. Also on friday the 15th october we came there for lunch had a lovely meal fish chops peas... Well done to you all.. The staff are great very helpfull...and well organised....More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 27 September 2021

Unfortunately I lost my husband at the end of July. I was desperate to hold a wake after the church service to thank friends and families who had travelled from near and far to attend. fortunately Mandy the manageress at this restaurant was the only...lady to offer her help. I was so grateful and I must give praise where it is due, the buffet was beautiful, Sharon the waitress was attentive and supplied beverages as required. The restaurant was cordoned off to enable attendees to sit at tables, covid restrictions were carried out and everyone agreed it was the nicest buffet, the nicest atmosphere that they had experienced. Thankyou Mandy and Sharon, you helped us celebrate my husbands life with family and friends in a lovely way.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 21 September 2021 via mobile

Went for coffee and cake with a friend.The staff were friendly and helpful. I was shocked to hear that they have been subject to rude Customers all week . So I hope that this review puts a smile on there face . They are doing...a wonderful job.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 29 August 2021

We both had the Sunday roast, which was plentiful, hot and had a very good selection of freshly cooked vegetables. However, the Yorkshire pudding left a lot to be desired and the whole thing was swimming in gravy. The knives supplied were too blunt to...be able to cut through the meat, which spoiled the whole thing for us. We would definitely go back but not for the Sunday roast.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Saltash
617 reviews
.50 miles away
Crooked Inn
365 reviews
.91 miles away
China Fleet Country Club
562 reviews
1.43 miles away
St. Mellion Estate
1,485 reviews
3.52 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Crooked Inn
268 reviews
.92 miles away
The Ploughboy
444 reviews
.86 miles away
Waitrose Cafe
156 reviews
.61 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cornish Maize Maze
51 reviews
1.79 miles away
Royal Albert Bridge
102 reviews
2.22 miles away
Saltash Waterside
58 reviews
2.09 miles away
Mary Newmans Cottage
17 reviews
2.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Maureen R
23 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Steven B | Reviewed this property |
basic menu with daily specials. good service all round. just visit andyou wont be dissapointed
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tamar View Nurseries and Garden Centre Restaurant

Tamar View Nurseries and Garden Centre Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3